Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
Author |
Message |
Entropy
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:27 pm Posts: 40 Location: England
|
Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
** Problem solved as of 2nd October -- No more help needed thanks ** Hello, I've made a mod based on the famous Vengeful Vegetation, only this is a conventional landmine. Now, it works pretty well as it is (for those of you who don't know, these bombs work like grenades that spawn pinned actors which gib explosively when shot or moved) but I would like to know if it is possible to make the mine more pressure sensitive so it would explode when stepped on. At the moment it really only works effectively when it is shot by the AI, but they quite often do not see it. I sometimes blow myself up accidentally by firing the jetpack when standing on a mine I didn't see, but rarely does it go off simply from stepping. Actors' feet generally pass right through it without contacting it which sort of spoils it. I'm wondering how I can make it collide more reliably, and I've thought of a few solutions: 1) Make it gib a pinned TDExplosive instead of an actor, because TDEs collide fairly well with actors Problem with this one is the game doesn't like me pinning TDEs 2) Add some sort of atomgroup to the mine. I don't know if this would do anything, and I'm pretty sure atomgroups are tricky to code properly. Would this collide with actors' limbs or not? 3) Add invisible limbs to the mine. Limbs seem to get broken off quite regularly when clones collide, so I'm thinking that the mine's legs would probably collide fairly regularly with other actors' legs. Problem with this is, would the mine then want to go walkies? Well, does anyone have a better suggestion? Or would one of these work? Here's the download and some pics:
Last edited by Entropy on Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:03 pm |
|
|
flight
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:53 pm Posts: 1
|
Re: How can I make actors collide with other actors?
Ive been trying to make a mine the same way and am also having trouble getting it to gib. The way im trying to make this work is lowering the gib impulse limit so that when you throw it It wont explode but when you step on it it will. But there is the problem, There is no such impulse limit. It is very cool when it does explode however. Your leg idea seems probable I dont know if my modding skills are good enough to do this though as I havent ever made an actor.
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:38 pm |
|
|
NeoSeeker
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:13 am Posts: 1183 Location: eating sock's face like a cupcake
|
Re: How can I make actors collide with other actors?
HitsMOs = 1 and GetsHitByMOs = 1 or something like that.
Also there are like no pistols in cortex command, where did you get that pistol in those gifs?
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:01 pm |
|
|
Entropy
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:27 pm Posts: 40 Location: England
|
Re: How can I make actors collide with other actors?
NeoSeeker wrote: HitsMOs = 1 and GetsHitByMOs = 1 or something like that.
Also there are like no pistols in cortex command, where did you get that pistol in those gifs? HitsMOs and GetsHitByMos = 1 don't work, they are already enabled. The pistol is one of a selection I made back in B11. I've included it if you want. The P2 Auk is a rapid fire semi-auto pisto with quite a large magazine but has very low damage. (Sort of like the FiveseveN.) The P4 Madcat is a Desert Eagle of sorts; only eight rounds but quite powerful. The magzine offset is a bit off, and I still haven't fixed it yet. Sorry. The P6 Autobull is a machine pistol - 30 rounds, innacurate, rather uncontrolable. Bit like a GLOCK 18C with an extended mag. As for the P1, P3 and P5, well, they were declared faliures and were scrapped. Enjoy! I might release this as a mod, come to think of it...
Last edited by Entropy on Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:09 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: How can I make actors collide with other actors?
NeoSeeker wrote: HitsMOs = 1 and GetsHitByMOs = 1 or something like that.
Also there are like no pistols in cortex command, where did you get that pistol in those gifs? Holy ♥♥♥♥ you're retarded. Those two variables control whether it is physics enabled. If it CAN explode, then they're both already on.
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:12 pm |
|
|
NeoSeeker
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 1:13 am Posts: 1183 Location: eating sock's face like a cupcake
|
Re: How can I make actors collide with other actors?
Entropy wrote: NeoSeeker wrote: HitsMOs = 1 and GetsHitByMOs = 1 or something like that.
Also there are like no pistols in cortex command, where did you get that pistol in those gifs? HitsMOs and GetsHitByMos = 1 don't work, they are already enabled. The pistol is one of a selection I made back in B11. I've included it if you want. The P2 Auk is a rapid fire semi-auto pisto with quite a large magazine but has very low damage. (Sort of like the FiveseveN.) The P4 Madcat is a Desert Eagle of sorts; only eight rounds but quite powerful. The magzine offset is a bit off, and I still haven't fixed it yet. Sorry. The P6 Autobull is a machine pistol - 30 rounds, innacurate, rather uncontrolable. Bit like a GLOCK 18C with an extended mag. As for the P1, P3 and P5, well, they were declared faliures and were scrapped. Enjoy! I might release this as a mod, come to think of it... Thanks Grif wrote: NeoSeeker wrote: HitsMOs = 1 and GetsHitByMOs = 1 or something like that.
Also there are like no pistols in cortex command, where did you get that pistol in those gifs? Holy ♥♥♥♥ you're retarded. Those two variables control whether it is physics enabled. If it CAN explode, then they're both already on. Thanks, i'm sorry i don't spend all my time researching some random ♥♥♥♥ mod and dissing people left and right due to my poor self esteem grif, get a ♥♥♥♥ life.
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:18 pm |
|
|
numgun
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm Posts: 2932
|
Re: How can I make actors collide with other actors?
Entropy, this is the problem:
The sprite is too small. I know, but its too small. It cant register anything if its that small. Ive done this too way before and thats the problem.
Try the same with a MUCH larger sprite and the results will be visible instantly.
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:15 pm |
|
|
Entropy
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:27 pm Posts: 40 Location: England
|
Re: How can I make actors collide with other actors?
numgun wrote: Entropy, this is the problem:
The sprite is too small. I know, but its too small. It cant register anything if its that small. Ive done this too way before and thats the problem.
Try the same with a MUCH larger sprite and the results will be visible instantly. Hmm, I'll try that. Thanks Numgun! Also, adding limbs failed. You can't add limbs to a plain "Actor" type which is what the brains, this mine and exploding fruit all are. I tried changing it to an AHuman actor but that was rather complicated, as it entailed removing all the things that AHumans normally do like walking and trying to attack enemies. Ok, I'll try it with a larger sprite and see what happens. The only problem with that is it ruins the stealth element of mines, because when these little things are hidden among bodies and fallen weapons they are very difficult to see, even if they don't always take your legs off! --- EDIT: Well, I now have quite a large sprite for it and it does indeed work better even if it is still not perfect. I guess I'll have to fiddle around with Pinstrengths and GibImpulseLimits and such until I find something which works better. Thanks Numgun! In the mean time, I've had an idea for a cluster mine which throws submunitions into the surrounding area to harm people who didn't even step on it! That'll sort out those pesty clone squads!
|
Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:58 pm |
|
|
lordderk
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 9:26 pm Posts: 41
|
Re: Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
Make it a weapon that you can drop (not throw) and have the magazine on top of the land mine with a very low joint strength with an exploding break wound. The when stepped on will go boom
|
Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:05 am |
|
|
coilgunner
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:08 pm Posts: 163 Location: Kansas
|
Re: Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
I tried making a mine it sort of worked I also made a mine layer (it still a prototype so sue me for the sprite) however the mine sprite was totally original (concept credit goes to muffinmonkey). Its extremely difficult to use and explodes almost every time you lay it. basically you point the mine layer to the ground and pull if you dont die there should be a small grey blob on the ground below you. Be careful as that blob will explode violently when moved.
|
Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:36 am |
|
|
No_0ne
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:37 am Posts: 350
|
Re: Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
GibImpulseLimit = [Insert number here]
Works like a charm.
I've actually made a mine for a pack I'm making.
|
Tue Oct 02, 2007 4:53 am |
|
|
Entropy
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:27 pm Posts: 40 Location: England
|
Re: Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
No_0ne wrote: GibImpulseLimit = [Insert number here]
Works like a charm.
I've actually made a mine for a pack I'm making. Aah, the GibImpulseLimit is already 0.01 The problem is othrer actors rarely collide with it! I will experiment with pinning MOSRotatings, perhaps that would worke better.
|
Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:25 pm |
|
|
AtomicTroop
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:28 pm Posts: 328 Location: Finland
|
Re: Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
Numgun's right, you need a bigger sprite... If I right remember, the limit of hittest was about 3x3, any parts smaller than that are just like air....
|
Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:47 pm |
|
|
Entropy
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:27 pm Posts: 40 Location: England
|
Re: Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
Success! I tried an altgether different approach using TDExplosives instead of actors, and it's working this time! Admittedly, the small sprite is still a bit small so I'm probaly going to either scrap it or relegate it to the status of mini-mine, but I have 2 larger ones on hand. A cluster mine is now well in the works which will shower the surrounding area with a few little bomblets, and I'm wondering if I should perhaps make an extra-large mine for.... something. CRobos maybe? To prevent rockets landing? At the moment the best way to deal with mines is to either snipe them or fly a rocket low over the ground and let the exhaust blow the mines up, as the little mines do very little or no damage to rockets but will happily kill or severely maim clones but will also take the legs off robots. Anyway, thanks for all your help, and look out for this in the mods section in the next couple of days!
|
Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:59 pm |
|
|
coilgunner
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:08 pm Posts: 163 Location: Kansas
|
Re: Making actors collide with other actors (Landmine Mod)
This was something I was once going to try but have never decided to do, a minefield in a bottle its a grenade that when it explodes acts like a clusterbomb except that the bomblets are mines the problem is getting them to not detonate on impact.
|
Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:47 pm |
|
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|