|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 11 posts ] |
|
Author |
Message |
Deadlyaim656
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:35 am Posts: 52
|
Concrete Launcher
Alright well i just wanna say it's good to be back, and i have a few cool ideas to play around with, among them is bringing back the Fuel Rod Cannon and cooler ways of killing people than bullets, like with concrete!
This mod was originally supposed to be a concrete gun you'd actually use, shoot it, boom, room fills up. It didn't really work like that since it laaaagggeed but it became something much..... cooler.
Basically this shoots, explodes, and concrete goes everywhere, which doesn't sound deadly but a well placed shot can mow down 3 or 4 guys, and take down a dropship *not the dummy one, never had a chance to test against a shuttle one* Check out the pictures.
Ok the question is 1. Is it possible for a TDExplosive to spawn another TDE, and have the second TDE explode on a timer, instead of only being able to gib? 2. If this explodes on impact for some reason it doesn't release 2000 particles, it only releases like 10, although i've had it hit sometimes *just nicking something* and release them all... is there a way to make it do all of them all the time?
|
Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:29 pm |
|
|
The Cling Clang
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:54 pm Posts: 92 Location: New England
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
1. You can gib more TDExplosive but they won't be time detonated.
2. The most likely reason is that the majority of particle get thrown into whatever the TDE hit. Try turning off the particles velocity inheritance; alot will still crash into the wall (or whatever) but more will be likey to spread out.
|
Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:41 am |
|
|
findude
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:10 pm Posts: 495 Location: Uncertain quantum state
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
You can use a MOSRotating with emitter on it emitting sharp particles into the mosrotating. The gibwoundlimit and particlesperminute will determine the length. Remember to set emissionignorethis as 0. It'll be a pain, but it works.
Hard to say about the particles not appearing without seeing any of the code. Guesses would be sharpness, going too fast (~260 is the magical number) or the plain fact that they're all overlapping eachother.
You can easily set more spread using addgibs than addparticles.
|
Thu Sep 11, 2008 2:57 pm |
|
|
whitty
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:31 am Posts: 2982 Location: Texas
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
Deadlyaim656 wrote: Is it possible for a TDExplosive to spawn another TDE, and have the second TDE explode on a timer, instead of only being able to gib? Yes, make it explode into an MOSRotating (HitMOS = 1, GetsHitMOS = 1) with an emitting on it. Give it a GibWoundLimit of 60 or something, have the emitter's ParticlePerMinute be 120 or whatever and it'll explode after 30 seconds. Thats what i did with my old Suicide Drone actor to give it the effect of a timer. The same thing applies to this.
|
Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:40 pm |
|
|
Deadlyaim656
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:35 am Posts: 52
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
Hm alright i'll work on it for version 2.0 or use it in my next mod. I've always wanted to do something cool with a cluster bomb and i have a couple ideas so this will help, thanks guys!
|
Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:47 pm |
|
|
Deadlyaim656
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:35 am Posts: 52
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
So i moved on to another mod and its been awhile and i just have a quick question... and its really dumb. How do you get an emitter attached to an MOS? Also right now i have the gun fire a TDE that explodes into just the emitter with the same sprite, but as soon as it touches something it dissapears, but its still emitting, its just invisible, any idea whats going on with that? Code: /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// // TDExplosive AddAmmo = AEmitter PresetName = MCannonR3 Mass = 200 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = MCannon.rte\Images\McannonRound000.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -1 Y = -2 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 5 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 3 Depth = 5 DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 10000 JointStiffness = 1 DrawAfterParent = 1 AddEmission = Emission EmittedParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Sparks Spread = 3.14 MaxVelocity = 16 MinVelocity = 5 // EmissionSound = Sound // AddSample = ContentFile // FilePath = Base.rte/ // LoopSetting = -1 // Means loop infinitely until stopped // BurstSound = Sound // CopyOf = Flesh Penetration Hit // EndSound = Sound // AddSample = ContentFile // FilePath = Base.rte/ EmissionEnabled = 1 EmissionCountLimit = 9999 EmissionsIgnoreThis = 1 ParticlesPerMinute = 9000 BurstSize = 10 BurstScale = 3 BurstDamage = 0 BurstTriggered = 1 EmissionDamage = 0 Flash = None FlashOnlyOnBurst = 0
AddAmmo = TDExplosive InstanceName = McannonR1 Mass = 4 RestThreshold = -500 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Mcannon.rte/Images/McannonRound.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -2 Y = -2 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 1 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 6 JointStiffness = 0.5 DrawAfterParent = 1 DetonationSound = Sound AddSample = ContentFile Path = Mcannon.rte/Sounds/Explode2.wav StanceOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 TriggerDelay = 150 // How long until it explodes, set it really high for Impact-Only detonation. ParticleNumberToAdd = 1 AddParticles = MOPixel CopyOf = Particle Concrete Light GibImpulseLimit = 50 // delete this line for Timed-Only detonation. AddGib = Gib // This GibParticle = AEmitter CopyOf = MCannonR3 Count = 1 Spread = 1 MaxVelocity = 0 MinVelocity = 0 InheritsVel = 1 AddGib = Gib // This GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Particle Concrete Light Count = 0 Spread = 90 MaxVelocity = 15 MinVelocity = 0 InheritsVel = 1
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// // Round
AddAmmo = Round InstanceName = McannonR1 ParticleCount = 1 Particle = TDExplosive CopyOf = McannonR1 Shell = MOSRotating CopyOf = McannonCasing FireVelocity =35 ShellVelocity = 10 Separation = 20
|
Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:48 am |
|
|
findude
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:10 pm Posts: 495 Location: Uncertain quantum state
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
You can shoot emitters too, but to attach them, use Code: AddEmitter = AEmitter CopyOf = [emitter] And to make them actually pierce the MOSRotating/TDExplosive, set EmissionIgnoreThis = 0 Btw, sparks aren't the sharpest particles around.
|
Sat Sep 13, 2008 8:46 am |
|
|
Deadlyaim656
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:35 am Posts: 52
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
Haha oh that seems overly simple =p Thanks a ton! And actually i just made a particle and called it sparks, didn't know there was another one in the base.rte, Mine have like a 650 sharpness but a .01 mass. ~edit~ Ok i just fail or something idk, but I can't get this damn thing to work. Im trying to add Code: AddEmitter = AEmitter CopyOf = MCannonR3 ParentOffset = Vector X = -1 Y = -4 But it won't work at all, it just gets caught on the "AddEmitter = AEmitter" line every time. Code: AddEffect = AEmitter PresetName = MCannonR3 Mass = 5 HitsMOs = 0 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = MCannon.rte\Images\McannonRound000.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -1 Y = -2 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 5 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 3 Depth = 5 DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 10000 JointStiffness = 1 DrawAfterParent = 1 AddEmission = Emission EmittedParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Sparks Spread = 3.14 MaxVelocity = 6 MinVelocity = 0 // EmissionSound = Sound // AddSample = ContentFile // FilePath = Base.rte/ // LoopSetting = -1 // Means loop infinitely until stopped // BurstSound = Sound // CopyOf = Flesh Penetration Hit // EndSound = Sound // AddSample = ContentFile // FilePath = Base.rte/ EmissionEnabled = 1 EmissionCountLimit = 999 EmissionsIgnoreThis = 1 ParticlesPerMinute = 12000 BurstSize = 50 BurstScale = 3 BurstDamage = 0 BurstTriggered = 1 EmissionDamage = 0 Flash = None FlashOnlyOnBurst = 0
AddAmmo = TDExplosive InstanceName = MCannonR2 Mass = 10 RestThreshold = -500 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Mcannon.rte/Images/McannonRound.bmp FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -2 Y = -2 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 1 DeepCheck = 1 JointStrength = 6 JointStiffness = 0.5 DrawAfterParent = 1 DetonationSound = Sound AddSample = ContentFile Path = Mcannon.rte/Sounds/Explode2.wav StanceOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 AddEmitter = AEmitter // I break here CopyOf = MCannonR3 ParentOffset = Vector X = -1 Y = -4 I've tried searching with no luck, and putting it in different places... *I also tried on an MOSRotating first, didn't work*
|
Sat Sep 13, 2008 1:58 pm |
|
|
findude
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:10 pm Posts: 495 Location: Uncertain quantum state
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
Hmm, I don't see anything that would cause a error. WHAT is the error?
It is possible that theres a "silent error"; something, generally minor thing, is wrong, but game doesn't report it but instead constantly spews other random errors.
|
Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:25 pm |
|
|
Deadlyaim656
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:35 am Posts: 52
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
whops sorry, "Could not match property in Mcannon.rte/Shell.ini at line 101"
|
Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:48 pm |
|
|
Electroclan
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:39 am Posts: 521
|
Re: Concrete Launcher
Deadlyaim656 wrote: whops sorry, "Could not match property in Mcannon.rte/Shell.ini at line 101" Hey. In the future, could you use and link to rafb.net for your large amounts of code? Makes it a bit easier for the passing reader.
|
Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:25 am |
|
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 11 posts ] |
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|