View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Dec 30, 2024 11:35 pm



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Need help with mod 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Need help with mod
Hey I was trying to add a digger to the DarKlones pack but theres something wrong with my code. I copied it straight from the base.rte heavy digger, added it to the DarKlone.rte index - All that I changed was taking out the Tracers (Very Heavy Blast) and changed the sprite. what am I doing wrong?
My ammo.ini code:
Code:
AddAmmo = Magazine
   InstanceName = Magazine Heavy Miner
   Mass = 5
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = DarKloneTech.rte/D200HMT/DarKloneHMTMag.bmp
   FrameCount = 1
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -3
      Y = -3
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Metal
      Resolution = 2
      Depth = 0
   DeepGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Metal
      Resolution = 3
      Depth = 1
   DeepCheck = 1
   JointStrength = 200
   JointStiffness = 1
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = -3
   DrawAfterParent = 1
   RoundCount = 3000
   RTTRatio = 0
   RegularRound = Round
      CopyOf = Round Heavy Blast
   TracerRound = None

AddAmmo = Round
   InstanceName = Round Heavy Blast
   ParticleCount = 4
   Particle = MOPixel
      InstanceName = Particle Heavy Digger
      Mass = 0.06
      RestThreshold = 500
      LifeTime = 15
      Sharpness = 15
      HitsMOs = 1
      GetsHitByMOs = 0
      Color = Color
         R = 216
         G = 248
         B = 240
      Atom = Atom
         Material = Material
            CopyOf = Bullet Metal
         TrailColor = Color
            R = 216
            G = 248
            B = 240
         TrailLength = 10
   Shell = None
   FireVelocity = 95
   ShellVelocity = 10
   Separation = 10

My devices.ini code
Code:
IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D200HMT/ammo.ini

AddDevice = HDFirearm
   InstanceName = Heavy Digger
   AddToGroup = Tools
   AddToGroup = Diggers
   Mass = 10
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 1
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = DarKloneTech.rte/D200HMT/DarKloneMiner.bmp
   FrameCount = 2
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -8
      Y = -5
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   GoldValue = 100
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 4
      Depth = 0
   DeepGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 4
      Depth = 10
   DeepCheck = 1
   JointStrength = 75
   JointStiffness = 0.5
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = -4
      Y = 3
   DrawAfterParent = 0
   StanceOffset = Vector
      X = 6
      Y = 5
   SharpStanceOffset = Vector
      X = 10
      Y = -2
   SupportOffset = Vector

Thanks if anyone can help :wink:


Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 1871
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Need to know the error message if it crashes, and what the problem is if it doesn't.

Also, that includefile line should be in index.ini


Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:37 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
The error is:
"RTE Aborted (x_x)

Abortion in file .\System\Reader\.cpp,line 493, because:

Could not match property in DarKloneTech.rte/D154ShockLance/ammo.ini at line 1!

Last frame has been dumped to abortscreen.bmp"

D154Shocklance/ammo.ini is the file right below it in the DarKloneTech.rte/index.ini - It happens the same no matter where it is in the index (Though replace the D154ShockLance with whatever is below it in the DarKloneTech.rte/index.ini

and the include file was placed in the devices file simply because i was following the template of other DarKloneTech weapons


Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:09 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 1871
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Line 1 is the include file, so that's obviously the problem.

Put that line in index.ini instead, see if that works.


Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:44 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Files moved, Error message "Could not match property in DarKloneTech.rte/ammo.ini at line 1!"

line one is
Code:
AddAmmo = Magazine

What is wrong with that?

Here is what the DarKloneTech/Index.ini looks like

Code:
DataModule
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/sounds.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/wounds.ini

   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D42Shield/devices.ini

   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D133SMG/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D135Shotgun/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D138Carbine/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D139BattleRifle/devices.ini
   
   
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D24Revolver/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D61PDW/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D77SniperRifle/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D110MachineGun/devices.ini
   
   
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D140ABGL/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D141ABM/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D143PML/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D200HMT/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D200HMT/ammo.ini
   
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D154ShockLance/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D161EMR/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D167EMC/devices.ini

   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/Grenades/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D224Flamethrower/devices.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D227ISG/devices.ini

   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/DarKlones/actors.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D52HoverTurret/actors.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D57SecurityDrone/actors.ini
   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D60ScoutDrone/actors.ini

   IncludeFile = DarKloneTech.rte/D37InsertionPod/craft.ini


Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:05 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
You're using the same instancenames as things in Base.rte, which is causing overlap issues. Change the instancenames, and it should work.


Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:26 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:31 am
Posts: 2982
Location: Texas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
dont listen to grif(not a problem) or trouserdemon(no modding knowledge).

move the part that defins the round above the magazine and it should work. instancenames arent a problem anymore, Data fixed that in B17(?)

the round needs to be definded before the magazine.

Be nicer. Last I checked, people didn't refer to you as the best modder ever.

Stop posting things in color, you're not a moderator. (In regards to the top of this post.)


Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:48 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Wrong, whitty. If the problem were with the order of the particle definitions, then it'd show that as the error message, with a correct line number.

The problem he currently has is with the instancenames.

http://www.datarealms.com/devlog/cortex-command/182/

I'm well aware of Data making .rtes independent. What he DID NOT do was make everything independent from Base.rte.

Everything from Base.rte can be referenced by any other mod; but any mod cannot be referenced by another mod.

Quote:
Your instance names can’t be the same as anything in the official data module Base.rte

In your own data module you can use anything defined in the official module, Base.rte. You can safely make copies or reference them as you wish.

You CAN’T, however, use anything defined in any data module other than the official one, or the one you’re working on. This would cause an interdependency between two user made data modules, and will cause errors if they get separated. Just put everything dependent on each other into one module… you can organize it thoroughly. Look at how Base.rte is organized for tips.


The problem is that he is attempting to overwrite something from Base.rte, which is causing the conflict.

NOW, next time you try and think you're smarter than someone, try to actually be RIGHT, will you?


Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:16 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:31 am
Posts: 2982
Location: Texas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Ok grif, but tell me, where is this in base.rte?

Code:
InstanceName = Magazine Heavy Miner


also, since when could only mods post in color?

Since we said so.


Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:25 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
It's not. Particle Heavy Digger and the HDFirearm "Heavy Digger", are, however.

If you're so experienced with modding, I consider it surprising that you actually trust the CC line error messages. Line 1 usually means there's something wrong in the code that isn't a standard error with instancename referencing. If there's no line, and an "Unallocatable Stream", then you probably attempted to create something that you shouldn't have.

Tell me, if your suggestion is indeed the problem, then why is the apparently infallible CC line checker reporting an error at the start of the magazine code, rather than at the RegularRound = Round line, where the not-yet-created particle is actually referenced?

Now, if you continue to press the issue, you get a very nice board warning. While your advice will apply after the initial issue is fixed, it is not the PRIMARY issue that is currently breaking the mod.


Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:30 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
All the InstanceName's in ammo.ini and devices.ini are changed. What now?


Last edited by Thoughtprocess on Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:47 am, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:39 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Just change it, put it above the AddAmmo = Magazine code, and then change the RegularRound code in the magazine itself.


Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:45 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:37 am
Posts: 350
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Thoughtprocess wrote:
Code:
AddAmmo = Round
   InstanceName = Round Heavy Blast


Aight I changed the InstanceNames for all cases but this one. What should i do about this one? would it be okay if I just changed it to CopyOf?


Yes.

POINTLESS CONTENTLESS POST ALERT


Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:47 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
Code:
AddAmmo = Round
   InstanceName = Round Big Blast
   ParticleCount = 4
   Particle = MOPixel
      InstanceName = Particle Heavy Miner
      ...
AddAmmo = Magazine
   InstanceName = HMTMag
   ...
   DrawAfterParent = 1
   RoundCount = 3000
   RTTRatio = 0
   RegularRound = Round
      CopyOf = Round Big Blast
   TracerRound = None


Like that?


Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:52 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:42 pm
Posts: 259
Reply with quote
Post Re: Need help with mod
If the Mods can refer back to Base.rte, then shouldn't this work?

Code:
AddAmmo = Magazine
   InstanceName = HMTMag
   Mass = 5
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = DarKloneTech.rte/D200HMT/DarKloneHMTMag.bmp
   FrameCount = 1
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -3
      Y = -3
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Metal
      Resolution = 2
      Depth = 0
   DeepGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Metal
      Resolution = 3
      Depth = 1
   DeepCheck = 1
   JointStrength = 200
   JointStiffness = 1
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = -3
   DrawAfterParent = 1
   RoundCount = 3000
   RTTRatio = 0
   RegularRound = Round
      CopyOf = Round Heavy Blast
   TracerRound = None


Is there a problem with the sprites?


Last edited by Thoughtprocess on Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:06 am, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:01 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.066s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]