Author |
Message |
Dex98
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am Posts: 76 Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
|
Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Hi again. This time, I was making an grenade that explodes into acid. When i try to run the mod it gives me an ´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb`` error. The weird thing is, that the abortscreen shows that the game has already loaded the Grenade and that the error message doesn't have an INI. file
Not the best explanation. Hope you have some idea what i'm talking about.
Files and the abortscreen
Last edited by Dex98 on Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:07 pm |
|
|
Arcalane
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm Posts: 1609 Location: UK
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Dex98 wrote: ´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb`` If this is the exact error, then... you failed to specify the file extension.
|
Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:45 pm |
|
|
Dex98
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am Posts: 76 Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Arcalane wrote: Dex98 wrote: ´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb`` If this is the exact error, then... you failed to specify the file extension. I Didn't find anything wrong in the files and yes, it is the exact error
|
Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:57 pm |
|
|
Pantera1993
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:11 pm Posts: 226
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
It seems like you're .ini is referring to a file that doesn't actually exist. You should make sure your file extensions are all in order. Are you able to upload the whole .rte, just so we can get a better idea of how all the files work together. The problem might be in the Index.ini itself.
|
Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:52 am |
|
|
Arcalane
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm Posts: 1609 Location: UK
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Dex98 wrote: Arcalane wrote: Dex98 wrote: ´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb`` If this is the exact error, then... you failed to specify the file extension. I Didn't find anything wrong in the files and yes, it is the exact error The basic file with the bomb itself appears to be fine. That's not the problem. The problem is you have to include the file extension when using IncludeFile to load things. It's trying to find an extensionless file named 'AcidBomb', which - as should be evident - does not exist. Even if your system is hiding file extensions, you still need to include it in the index file.
|
Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:31 am |
|
|
Dex98
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am Posts: 76 Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Pantera1993 wrote: It seems like you're .ini is referring to a file that doesn't actually exist. You should make sure your file extensions are all in order. Are you able to upload the whole .rte, just so we can get a better idea of how all the files work together. The problem might be in the Index.ini itself. Here you go! EDIT: As far as I have noticed, there's nothing wrong with the devices.ini or the index.ini either. It just wont work! EDIT 2: Fixed EDIT 3: Howdo you make the acid particles NOT to fly hundreds of meters in the air???????
|
Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:02 am |
|
|
Pantera1993
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:11 pm Posts: 226
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Probably change the velocity at which the travel. Something like... Code: MaxVelocity = X MinVelocity = Y ...should be in your code.
|
Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:35 pm |
|
|
Dex98
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am Posts: 76 Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Pantera1993 wrote: Probably change the velocity at which the travel. Something like... Code: MaxVelocity = X MinVelocity = Y ...should be in your code. There doesn't seem to be Min or MaxVelocities in the code. Does it matter where i add the code?
|
Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:34 am |
|
|
Bad Boy
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:48 am Posts: 666 Location: Halifax, Canada
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
If you don't mind doing it with lua then putting the following as the update function should work fine. Code: function Update(self) if self.Vel.X > 20 then self.Vel.X = 20; elseif self.Vel.X < -20 then self.Vel.X = -20; end if self.Vel.Y > 20 then self.Vel.Y = 20; elseif self.Vel.Y < -20 then self.Vel.Y = -20; end end Change 20 to whatever max speed you want. Edit: Yeah do what Arcalane said. In my defence (perhaps not the best defence) I don't really know my way around the ini code.
Last edited by Bad Boy on Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
|
Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:24 pm |
|
|
Arcalane
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm Posts: 1609 Location: UK
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
...or you could code the gib effect properly. Why on earth would you use AddParticles? I've never seen a grenade coded like that before! Instead, replace all of that AddParticles nonsense with this; Code: AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOSParticle CopyOf = Acid Grenade Explosion Count = 1 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Spark Green 1 Count = 20 MinVelocity = ## MaxVelocity = ## AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Air Blast Count = 30 MinVelocity = ## MaxVelocity = ## AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Acid Spray Count = 150 MinVelocity = ## MaxVelocity = ## Remember to replace the ##s with the desired minimum and maximum velocities, which is pixels per frame IIRC. Also, reduce the lifetime of the Acid Spray particle - it's currently set to 3000 milliseconds, or 3 seconds.
|
Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:31 pm |
|
|
Pantera1993
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:11 pm Posts: 226
|
Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Exactly! I assumed he wasn't using AddParticles.
|
Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:46 am |
|
|
|