View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 28, 2024 3:39 pm



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
 Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem... 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am
Posts: 76
Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
Reply with quote
Post Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Hi again.
This time, I was making an grenade that explodes into acid.
When i try to run the mod it gives me an ´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb`` error.
The weird thing is, that the abortscreen shows that the game has already loaded the Grenade and that the error message doesn't have an INI. file


Not the best explanation. Hope you have some idea what i'm talking about.


Files and the abortscreen


Attachments:
AcidBomb.ini [3.59 KiB]
Downloaded 180 times
abortscreen.bmp
abortscreen.bmp [ 957.71 KiB | Viewed 4313 times ]
File comment: And the whole .rte file...
PowerPack.rar [859.15 KiB]
Downloaded 217 times


Last edited by Dex98 on Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:07 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Dex98 wrote:
´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb``


If this is the exact error, then... you failed to specify the file extension.



Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:45 pm
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am
Posts: 76
Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Arcalane wrote:
Dex98 wrote:
´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb``


If this is the exact error, then... you failed to specify the file extension.



I Didn't find anything wrong in the files :(
and yes, it is the exact error


Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:57 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:11 pm
Posts: 226
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
It seems like you're .ini is referring to a file that doesn't actually exist. You should make sure your file extensions are all in order. Are you able to upload the whole .rte, just so we can get a better idea of how all the files work together. The problem might be in the Index.ini itself.


Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:52 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Dex98 wrote:
Arcalane wrote:
Dex98 wrote:
´´Failed to load datafile with the following path and name: PowerPack.rte/Devices/AcidBomb``


If this is the exact error, then... you failed to specify the file extension.



I Didn't find anything wrong in the files :(
and yes, it is the exact error


The basic file with the bomb itself appears to be fine. That's not the problem.

The problem is you have to include the file extension when using IncludeFile to load things. It's trying to find an extensionless file named 'AcidBomb', which - as should be evident - does not exist. Even if your system is hiding file extensions, you still need to include it in the index file.


Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:31 am
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am
Posts: 76
Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Pantera1993 wrote:
It seems like you're .ini is referring to a file that doesn't actually exist. You should make sure your file extensions are all in order. Are you able to upload the whole .rte, just so we can get a better idea of how all the files work together. The problem might be in the Index.ini itself.


Here you go!

EDIT: As far as I have noticed, there's nothing wrong with the devices.ini or the index.ini either.
It just wont work! :(

EDIT 2: Fixed



EDIT 3: Howdo you make the acid particles NOT to fly hundreds of meters in the air???????


Attachments:
PowerPack.rar [859.15 KiB]
Downloaded 179 times
Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:02 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:11 pm
Posts: 226
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Probably change the velocity at which the travel. Something like...

Code:
MaxVelocity = X
MinVelocity = Y


...should be in your code.


Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:35 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:18 am
Posts: 76
Location: In a Sauna, roasting to death
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Pantera1993 wrote:
Probably change the velocity at which the travel. Something like...

Code:
MaxVelocity = X
MinVelocity = Y


...should be in your code.

There doesn't seem to be Min or MaxVelocities in the code.
Does it matter where i add the code?


Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:34 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:48 am
Posts: 666
Location: Halifax, Canada
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
If you don't mind doing it with lua then putting the following as the update function should work fine.
Code:
function Update(self)
   if self.Vel.X > 20 then
      self.Vel.X = 20;
   elseif self.Vel.X < -20 then
      self.Vel.X = -20;
   end
   if self.Vel.Y > 20 then
      self.Vel.Y = 20;
   elseif self.Vel.Y < -20 then
      self.Vel.Y = -20;
   end
end
Change 20 to whatever max speed you want.
Edit: Yeah do what Arcalane said. In my defence (perhaps not the best defence) I don't really know my way around the ini code.


Last edited by Bad Boy on Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
...or you could code the gib effect properly. Why on earth would you use AddParticles? I've never seen a grenade coded like that before!

Instead, replace all of that AddParticles nonsense with this;

Code:
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSParticle
         CopyOf = Acid Grenade Explosion
      Count = 1
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Spark Green 1
      Count = 20
      MinVelocity = ##
      MaxVelocity = ##
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Air Blast
      Count = 30
      MinVelocity = ##
      MaxVelocity = ##
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Acid Spray
      Count = 150
      MinVelocity = ##
      MaxVelocity = ##


Remember to replace the ##s with the desired minimum and maximum velocities, which is pixels per frame IIRC. Also, reduce the lifetime of the Acid Spray particle - it's currently set to 3000 milliseconds, or 3 seconds.


Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:31 pm
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:11 pm
Posts: 226
Reply with quote
Post Re: Another undoubtly easily fixable broblem...
Exactly! I assumed he wasn't using AddParticles.


Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:46 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.043s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]