Author |
Message |
Miles_T3hR4t
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am Posts: 1627 Location: Ohio
|
Re: Procedural Generation
Grif wrote: explain one thing that procedural generation could add to CC that humans couldn't do better and faster In game > building a bunker > build tunnel between point A to point B. say, a 800 pixel long tunnel, with a height difference. Automatically place bunker-modules together to look alright. Guaranteed to be faster. Not necessarily look better, but definitely faster. Not a huge thing considering it's not exactly timed. Then again I might be miss-understanding "Procedural generation". based on the thread I'd guess that its the way maps are randomly generated in diablo 2? That method is really only good for random maps and unit placement, and honestly it could *probably* be done with lua. If I misunderstood what "procedural generation" is, just ignore this.
|
Mon May 10, 2010 10:19 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Procedural Generation
You, uh, can't place terrainobjects with lua at this point in time, miles.
edit: whoops.
|
Mon May 10, 2010 10:41 am |
|
|
StoneCrow
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:09 pm Posts: 70
|
Re: Procedural Generation
umm i dont know if anyone has already done this, but it would be great to have a skirmish map or two where what drops out of those pesky dropships is randomly selected from all of the stuff youve got on your game
like Darkstorm troopers appearing randomly with D9 Repulsors.
although this is kinda verging on the edge of procedural generation, more like just content randomisation (but then again so was the ronin bodypart suggestion)
|
Mon May 10, 2010 11:33 am |
|
|
Benpasko
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 9:26 am Posts: 1633
|
Re: Procedural Generation
And God help you if the game decides it wants to spawn a Reflective Robot with a Zero Division Cannon.
|
Mon May 10, 2010 11:51 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Procedural Generation
That's actually quite easily possible. Just disable normal activities and make it spawn from a list of possible actors, weapons and craft.
|
Mon May 10, 2010 12:27 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Procedural Generation
uh, yeah, but there's no way to generate that list without parsing .ini files; Lua has no worthwhile access to objects that aren't already loaded into the game and present in a scene
|
Mon May 10, 2010 2:59 pm |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Procedural Generation
I was thinking a .txt file list with whatever you wanted to spawn. Wouldn't be terribly easy to modify unless you felt like making a program to generate the files for you.
|
Mon May 10, 2010 3:01 pm |
|
|
PhantomAGN
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:40 am Posts: 610 Location: Deep below The Map of Mars
|
Re: Procedural Generation
Perhaps this is a feature you might see in a Mod Manager. Parse all ini files, saving a list of PresetNames that are weapons or explosives (and Buyable = 1) along with the mod they came from, and then read this file inside CC with Lua. Or maybe better yet, the file is actually a script itself.
Like that? Does not seem so hard.
|
Mon May 10, 2010 3:11 pm |
|
|
StoneCrow
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:09 pm Posts: 70
|
Re: Procedural Generation
Yeah the mod manager reads activities and allows you to arrange your own activities, surely if you made the ingame code create the lists the same way then it could just use the pre-existing files from the mod manager
if it was built into the mod manager how ever wouldnt it not work, because although it would be reading a randomly generated activities file, it wouldnt be generating ingame (unless theres a way to do that with the mod manager)
|
Mon May 10, 2010 4:23 pm |
|
|
matty406
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:23 pm Posts: 915 Location: Blighty
|
Re: Procedural Generation
So from reading this thread, it appears that "Pseudo-Procedural Generation" of actors and crafts, could be achieved by randomisation?
|
Mon May 10, 2010 4:46 pm |
|
|
PhantomAGN
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:40 am Posts: 610 Location: Deep below The Map of Mars
|
Re: Procedural Generation
Stonecrow, what? The current windows mod manager can make activities, sure. That's not what I said though. If you generate a list of PresetNames and the mod they come from then you can -- IN GAME -- spawn these things by reading this iist and making a table to then randomly select from. It's only not 100% on-the-fly because CC cannot even load or unload mods while running.
|
Mon May 10, 2010 7:08 pm |
|
|
StoneCrow
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:09 pm Posts: 70
|
Re: Procedural Generation
sorry phantom, english is my first language but im a total ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ with it sometimes. I get what you mean now
|
Mon May 10, 2010 7:28 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Procedural Generation
matty406 wrote: So from reading this thread, it appears that "Pseudo-Procedural Generation" of actors and crafts, could be achieved by randomisation? procedural generation and random generation are two completely different things stupid people use them interchangeably but that's why they're stupid really, none of the ideas in this thread fall into either category. a random selection of an actor out of a list of functionally identical ones is not random generation. about the only thing that I see being valid for procedural generation in CC (at any point ever) is terrain, and that'd require some pretty complex code. it's entirely possible, even right now, but, again, it'd be a lot of effort for not a lot of reward. randomly generating things in a fairly deterministic game like CC doesn't make sense; what would get randomly generated?
|
Tue May 11, 2010 12:18 am |
|
|
Daman
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:22 am Posts: 1451
|
Re: Procedural Generation
the name of the father of each soldier...
|
Tue May 11, 2010 3:04 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Procedural Generation
The two things I can see getting feasibly generated are terrain/base layouts (not really possible at the moment due to various things) and possibly enemy presets (in the metagame, what the AI uses could just be some presets with the actors and guns chosen from their faction's arsenal).
|
Tue May 11, 2010 4:46 am |
|
|
|