View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jan 08, 2025 10:23 pm



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Menu Buyablilty Problem 
Author Message

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Western U.S.
Reply with quote
Post Menu Buyablilty Problem
Ok...So heres the bottom line. I am making a faction and I have 1 craft, 1 soldier, 1 brain and various weapons, explosives and tools. I have been working on the soldier and changing up the sprites. One day I start up CC to test my soldier and I can't find him in the pregame menu or in the ingame menu.
Earlier today I went into the code and put Buyable = 1 into the actors code. I started up CC again and I still can't find him anywhere on the menus. Help is gravely needed for my mod production to continue. :scared:


Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:18 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
Is it on a new or at least clean install, have you included the files in your index, and is the .rte set up correctly?
If you answered yes to all of these, you might have to move the files somewhere else, (ie move the .rte contents to a new folder, delete the old folder, and then rename the new folder to what the .rte was.)
A good giveaway is to write something blatantly wrong eg ERROR somewhere in the .inis that are giving you trouble to see if the game is actually parsing them.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:58 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:04 am
Posts: 302
Location: Under Your Bed
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
Do you have the AddToGroup = Actors or whatever?
Do you have it loading the actors ini file?
Check these.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 2:42 pm
Profile YIM

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Western U.S.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
@ Geti: I made a new folder and put the old contents in it and put blatantly wrong code in an explosive and CC started up.

@Joesy: All the Indexes are working fine but apparently not being read for some reason. All of the AddToGroups are there.


Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:11 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:25 pm
Posts: 400
Location: mukilteo, wa
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
I had this problem too when my actor had the same name as another existing actor


Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:18 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
If the error code isnt causing a crash the files aren't being read. It's possible they're corrupt (though that usually just causes a crash) or your .rte is ghosting for some reason. try the copy everything elsewhere routine.


Thu Apr 01, 2010 2:44 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Western U.S.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
Oh man! alright... :cry:
Is there anyway to keep this from happening in the future?


Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:31 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
It shouldn't take long, you literally have to make a new folder (right click>New Folder), and then go to your .rte and cut everything, and go to the new folder and paste everything (ctrl+x and ctrl+v respectively, just in case :P). After that, just delete the empty .rte folder and rename the new folder to the .rte
Usually, this is just a zip indexing error, but it's possible for it to happen otherwise. If there's corruption, it usually causes a crash.
Oh, also, make sure you dont have tabbing in the other subindexes in your mod (like actors.ini or whatever) on the includefile lines, as this causes things to not get read (in my experience).
ie
Code:
IncludeFile = SOMEFILE
rather than
Code:
   IncludeFile = SOMEFILE


Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:35 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Western U.S.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
Ok. Ive replaced the main folder twice now and I completely copied and pasted one of my soldiers and he still doesn't show up.
I have a hunch this is going to lead to complete remakings of my soldiers. (Plz NO!) :roll:


Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:16 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
post the .rte, i have a feeling it has to do with tab syntax.


Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:18 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Western U.S.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
Heres the .rte in .zip form. :oops:


Attachments:
File comment: Expolsives, Tools and Units don't show up in game
SSU.rte.zip [5.73 MiB]
Downloaded 156 times
Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:11 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
Code:
//Devices IncludeFile = SSU.rte/Devices/Weapons/Weapons.ini IncludeFile = SSU.rte/Devices/Energy Shield/Energy.ini IncludeFile = SSU.rte/Devices/Ore Extractor/Extractor.ini IncludeFile = SSU.rte/Precision Digger/Precision.ini


Apparently it looks like you may have commented it out.

Or at least, thats how i see it. :???:


Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:47 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:48 am
Posts: 133
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
salt_1219 wrote:
I had this problem too when my actor had the same name as another existing actor

Make sure this isn't the case. I had this exact same problem before.


Sat Apr 03, 2010 6:28 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 10:16 pm
Posts: 110
Location: Western U.S.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
@ Dragon: I don't see any included files commented out only the word Devices.
@ Linkfan: All of my current actors have different names.


Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:45 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am
Posts: 3032
Location: Somewhere in the universe
Reply with quote
Post Re: Menu Buyablilty Problem
try deleting the commented out words.


Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:53 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.031s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]