Author |
Message |
Roadkill
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:55 pm Posts: 26
|
Re: Better control of units
Duh102 wrote: Roadkill wrote: It is a real problem in the game and should be addressed Data doesn't read the forum, so talking about it here has little to no effect upon development. I suggest you email him with your suggestion and hopefully he will take it up with you. Afaik this is his address, as it is listed on the website. contact@datarealms.comI am not going to email Data because his ass should be looking at the forums religiously, what fellow makes a game and does not give a crap what people have to say? you should all be flaming his butt with emails saying how unsatisfied you are for publishing a game that is half built, making you pay for it and ' making like a shepherd and getting the flock out of here' Data fix this small problem and make a lot of people happy DAMIT! and for you people that flame me.... play the game again and just agree with us.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 1:50 am |
|
|
Lizardheim
DRL Developer
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am Posts: 4107 Location: Russia
|
Re: Better control of units
Just stop being a whiny ♥♥♥♥ and go play a different game. Data has enough to do with having fun and making CC.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:02 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Better control of units
So lemme get this straight. You are: 1. Not going to email Data because he should read the forums 2. Chastising people for not emailing him telling him to read the forum 3. Expressing an opinion about the AI 4. Asserting that you are right about it and that everyone should agree if they have ever played Cortex Saying that: 5. Cortex is finished 6. Data forced you to buy it Did I miss anything? Points one and two cancel each other out. Stop being a hypocrite. Three is a non-issue because it is a known problem, four is a non-argument. Five and six are just stupid. Now if you'd like to return to "I have a problem with the current AI but I have been told that Data is working on it, so I'll be satisfied and wait for a few more months before I start bitching again" please say so and stop getting all high on yourself. Good day sir!
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:07 am |
|
|
CrazyMLC
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:20 am Posts: 4772 Location: Good news everyone!
|
Re: Better control of units
Lua is a big feature, you may not know how to use it, but other people do. There are plenty of mods that use Lua to achieve epic-ness, and you should try them out. There haven't been many updates because the next update will be a really big update, instead of the small little ones we've had, new campaign missions, a whole 'metagame' aspect, control over AI, and fixed Lua. Possibly even better AI to begin with. You may have bought the game before the AI ducked, but you did buy it knowing that the whole thing is a work in progress, and that the game may not be finished in a timely manner, or even at all. You bought the game, you decided it was worth the money, even knowing the circumstances. PS: your avatar hurts me inside.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 2:22 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Better control of units
You can attach a simple script to actors to prevent them from walking and crouching while on sentry, like below. Code: function Update(self)
if self:IsPlayerControlled() == false and self.AIMode == Actor.AIMODE_SENTRY then self:GetController():SetState(Controller.BODY_CROUCH,false); self:GetController():SetState(Controller.MOVE_RIGHT,false); self:GetController():SetState(Controller.MOVE_LEFT,false); end
end
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:04 am |
|
|
Roadkill
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 4:55 pm Posts: 26
|
Re: Better control of units
CaveCricket48 wrote: You can attach a simple script to actors to prevent them from walking and crouching while on sentry, like below. Code: function Update(self)
if self:IsPlayerControlled() == false and self.AIMode == Actor.AIMODE_SENTRY then self:GetController():SetState(Controller.BODY_CROUCH,false); self:GetController():SetState(Controller.MOVE_RIGHT,false); self:GetController():SetState(Controller.MOVE_LEFT,false); end
end There we go, a simple solution. is there a way to do it globally for all units?
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 1:35 pm |
|
|
Natti
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:05 am Posts: 3878
|
Re: Better control of units
No. You have to manually apply it to all.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:05 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Better control of units
Well, you could have it attached to a brain and have it automatically apply the script to every actor on-scene, but that would be somewhat laggy.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:53 pm |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Better control of units
Global version. Find it in "Bunker Systems" (it's called "AI Enhancement") and place it. Ninja'd by Grif.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:55 pm |
|
|
Natti
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:05 am Posts: 3878
|
Re: Better control of units
Wow. I'm amazed by the allmightyness of Lua.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:02 pm |
|
|
CrazyMLC
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:20 am Posts: 4772 Location: Good news everyone!
|
Re: Better control of units
It can do many, many things that normal coding can not.
|
Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:12 pm |
|
|
|