View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Oct 08, 2024 10:53 pm



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:46 pm
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Terrain and preferably all other objects...

I tried setting the AEmitter to GetsHitByMOs = 0 and HitsMOs = 0, but neither of those affected it. After that, i tried omitting the lines entirely, with still no results. The AEmitter (in my case, a rocket that gibs from another rocket) exploded upon hitting anything.

I'm of the impression that this is possible (see the Nail Pistol magazine; it falls through terrain), I'm just not sure how.

Anyone know how to do this?


Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:23 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
I haven't been here for long, but I'd guess that maybe if you set the HitsMOs and GetsHitByMOs to 0, the sharpness to a very very high number, and then remove the GibImpulseLimit variable, you may end up with an emitter that passes through everything, doesn't do damage to anything and does not get destroyed.

Then again, I could be entirely wrong.


Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:45 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Those two variables apply only to MOs, IE, Actors, Weapons, DropShips, etc.
To phase through terrain you need to have a null Atom Group, or an obscenely high mass (though the latter will destroy terrain as it goes).


Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:51 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm
Posts: 1916
Location: Flint Hills
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
I think if you manually (as is done with feet) make a atomgroup (and/or deepgroup) with no atoms, an object can pass through terrain. I'm not certain about that, but I know it's doable in some way though.


Last edited by Azukki on Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:51 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
try autogenerate = 0

can't remember if that works


Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:34 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 1627
Location: Ohio
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Give the AEmitter a sprite, and make the atomgroup and deepgroup resolutions greater than the sprites X & Y values, it won't matter if it's hits MOS or not, the collision detection will only trigger for areas outside of the sprite where it can't collide. if that doesn't work, just double the values.

Remember resolution = 1 = every pixel,
2 = every other pixel
4 is every 1/4th, etc.

the only problem with this is, it won't collide with anything, however you can use lua to do collision detection for MOS and stuff, so it doesn't really matter.

--edit
this was happening to me on accident a while ago.... although when I really think about it... it might have been 1 build ago, I don't know if it still works... >_>


--Re-edit
Open mouth, insert foot

I was 100% wrong on this, I am sorry, I just tested it 5x5 pixel sprite, 100 resolution. DID NOT WORK.

I think it has something to do with AEmitters acting weird, I know that's how it works for the MOS, so it only made sense. maybe make it an MOS with an attached AEmitter? thats all I can think of at this point.


Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:20 am
Profile YIM WWW
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
if autogenerate doesn't work try a high depth

one of them should I think


Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:43 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:55 am
Posts: 1627
Location: Ohio
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Grif wrote:
if autogenerate doesn't work try a high depth

one of them should I think


isn't autogenerate for when things settle?


Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:16 am
Profile YIM WWW
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
uh, no

autogenerate is whether or not the game automatically generates (geddit) an atomgroup, or whether it should use one defined in elsewhere.


Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:51 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:46 pm
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post How do I make a null atomgroup?
Mmk... null atomgroup... right... uhh...

How would I do that? O_o

Also, I tried setting the depth of the atomgroups to 99999999. Didn't work.


Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:57 pm
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
This is a blank atomgroup, not sure if that's the same thing...
Code:
AddActor = AtomGroup
   InstanceName = Empty Group
   AutoGenerate = 0
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 0


Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:16 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Posts: 2932
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Hey.

Resolution = 9999999

Thats how the cool kids do it.


Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:34 am
Profile
REAL AMERICAN HERO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm
Posts: 5655
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
*the kids who use dumb arbitrary unnecessary variable settings that promote instability and are generally ♥♥♥♥


Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:24 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:46 pm
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
Grif wrote:
*the kids who use dumb arbitrary unnecessary variable settings that promote instability and are generally ♥♥♥♥


And it doesn't work anyway.


Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:50 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Posts: 2932
Reply with quote
Post Re: Is there a way to make AEmitters pass through terrain?
It does work, you did something wrong.
Resolution controls how widely the pixels of collision on the object are spread.
If the value is very high, the collision is very sloppy and wont take place and thus the object phases through terrain.


Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:09 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.024s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]