Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
Author |
Message |
PlusEighteen
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:26 am Posts: 67
|
Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
I did a search and only came across this, and while it's very unpolished, it could be made much better. As it is now, it works pretty well, it's just not too pretty. And is kinda fragile. I was hoping there was at least an actor or a few weapons that I could get, I could probably make some of the more basic ones on my own with a good bit of trial and error, but I'm no expert. It would be rather interesting to see. I have a few ideas of how to make a couple weapons, but it's all derivative from other mods, and it's not something I could rightfully post. If someone could do something like that, it would be awesome.
|
Sun Oct 18, 2009 3:50 am |
|
|
PlusEighteen
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:26 am Posts: 67
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
After about 2 hours I whipped up this here Megabuster, but it doesn't work all that well... I used the flak cannon as a base because it's the only one I know of that lets you use sprites as the bullets. I need to know how to make something either vanish or explode on impact, the cannon shells seem to bounce and then explode slightly away from what they hit. I'm aware it looks terrible, I'm still working on it and I'm really tired right now so
|
Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:31 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
what about the rocket launcher O_o if you wanted a base, it would have seemed like the obvious one to me, though i suppose the emitter shell thing could be confusing. also, background limb standpath for epic stance, learn it.
|
Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:19 am |
|
|
PlusEighteen
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:26 am Posts: 67
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
I'm not a modder. If you could describe this stance of which you speak I would appreciate it. Also why does this happen when I face left
|
Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:35 pm |
|
|
Metal Meltdown
Banned
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:22 pm Posts: 826 Location: Lookin' forward to mocking people on Jan 1st 2013.
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
Sprite is out of palette.
|
Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:40 pm |
|
|
PlusEighteen
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:26 am Posts: 67
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
Solved the palette issue.
I'm looking at the .ini for the rocket launcher, and the reason I used the flak cannon is because it's a lot easier to change, there's easily 2-3 times as many variables on the rocket launcher. And they seem to be formatted differently as well.
|
Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:59 pm |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
So learn to mod properly before thinking "imma make megaman now". Then you'll be able to just write your own stuff without having to modify vanilla stuff, or at least modify vanilla stuff regardless of complexity. also, the stance can be found in the limbpath section of the coalition and ronin actor files, its a combination of FG and BG Stand Paths.
|
Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:59 am |
|
|
PlusEighteen
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:26 am Posts: 67
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
I am learning, I just go at my own pace and learn through trial and error because it's more interesting that way. There are some things I would rather just ask how to do because there's a lot of variables that go into it, like making something explode on impact. I've figured out the basics of weaponry and was going to move onto an actor next, and I found this Megaman actor that I figured I could build upon.
|
Mon Oct 19, 2009 6:07 pm |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
PlusEighteen wrote: like making something explode on impact. MOSRot: Mass > 1, GibImpulseLimit = 0.01
|
Mon Oct 19, 2009 6:26 pm |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
PlusEighteen wrote: After about 2 hours I whipped up this here Megabuster, but it doesn't work all that well... I used the flak cannon as a base because it's the only one I know of that lets you use sprites as the bullets.
I dont know about the exploding part but so far i know hwo to make your thing shoot sprites. Code: AddEffect = MOSRotating PresetName = Bullet Mass = 8.5 GlobalAccScalar = 1 OrientToVel = 0.8 Sharpness = 3 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = [sprite path] FrameCount = 1 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -3 Y = -2 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Bullet Metal Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 Like this? Any pro coders, [im amatuer] point out anything i dont need. So basicly this just lets you shoot a sprite, nothing special. To be more specific it shoots the sprite then it falls to the ground and stays as a gib. The only way to kill something with this is have a 1 pixel tip and launch at like 200 velocity lol. Well gl.
Last edited by dragonxp on Tue Oct 20, 2009 4:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:14 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
Corrections: since deepcheck isnt on, you dont need the deepgroup. also, air resistance is a bad thing for the most part unless you tweak the GAScalar, and then it travels unnaturally. since the GAScalar is set to 1, which is its default, it is redundant. also, unless you want to have trails or something, that doesnt need to be an AEmitter, it could be a MOSRotating. Because you aren't utilising the entirety of the AEmitter's functionality, and dont need it, you're just potentially giving yourself unnecessary overhead.
Re: Learning via trial and error This is how I learned to mod, however, you do better not releasing anything until you get to the point where you can type out the majority of your code without much reference (i still use backbones for each object though, to save time). Other than that, its a very good way to go about learning to mod if used in tandem with learning first hand from people who know what theyre doing, which i suppose is what you're doing here. Making more faithful megaman weapons will most likely require Lua. What weapons are you planning on making? Buster, Saber?
Oh also, just a hint, you can use anything as a bullet, look in the round definition.
|
Tue Oct 20, 2009 4:30 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
Ok thanks Geti for the reminder, ive een doing it this way for awhile, putting sum explosions from coalition and stuff. But thanks for correcting me, now i know why sometime the projectile starts spinning from its back instead of front. Geti wrote: Oh also, just a hint, you can use anything as a bullet, look in the round definition. So is that how people make despensers? by making it shoot AHuman or ACRocket? Does this potentially mean u can shoot a bunkermodule? [TerrainObject]
|
Tue Oct 20, 2009 4:49 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
dragonxp wrote: Does this potentially mean u can shoot a bunkermodule? [TerrainObject] Anything that is an MO, so no TerrainObjects sadly.
|
Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:02 am |
|
|
PlusEighteen
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:26 am Posts: 67
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
I'm getting there on the buster, I started over with the Rocket Launcher Template.rte, which was easier to customize than I thought since I could just transfer most of the modifications I had already made. New sprites as well, but I'm having a problem with the round. I had made 5 frames to the buster shot, to make it animated. Because that would be so goddamn awesome However, it sticks on the first frame. Code: ... GetsHitByMOs = 0 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Rocket Launcher Template.rte/BusterRound.bmp FrameCount = 5 OrientToVel = 0.6 ... I have the 5 named files, and they're all the same dimensions if that would be a problem Am I missing a line of code or something?
|
Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:05 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Megaman Actor and/or weaponry
Try adding SpriteAnimMode = <Some number between 0 and 5, I forget which>
|
Sat Oct 24, 2009 7:25 am |
|
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|