Author |
Message |
DoomTurkey
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am Posts: 68
|
I need help with my first mod
1st order of business, I am DoomTurkey, and I have no programming experience. (I make half-decent flash movies though) I'm trying to make a star-shaped bomb that changes color as you throw it. The code I'm using is copied off of Blue Bomb codes, and I'm kinda successful. The game loads, but in the bombs menu, the picture next to the bomb name is just a mess of multi-colored pixels. The robot holding the bomb cant raise the bomb very high for some reason. The bomb has a black square around it, and at certain angles turn invisible, don't know why. Code: AddDevice = TDExplosive PresetName = Star Bomb AddToGroup = Bombs Mass = .5 RestThreshold = -500 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = StarBomb.rte/Star.bmp FrameCount = 4 SpriteOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -12 SpriteAnimMode = 1 SpriteAnimDuration = 500 EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark GoldValue = 10 AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 4 Depth = 10 DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 75 JointStiffness = 0.5 JointOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = 12 DrawAfterParent = 1 DetonationSound = Sound Priority = 1000 AddSample = ContentFile Path = StarBomb.rte/Exp.wav StanceOffset = Vector X = 8 Y = 5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = 12 Y = -5 MinThrowVel = 20 MaxThrowVel = 200 TriggerDelay = 1500 ActivatesWhenReleased = 0 EffectOnGib = 1 EffectAlwaysShows = 1 ScreenEffect = ContentFile Path = StarBomb.rte/YellowHuge.bmp AddParticles = MOSParticle CopyOf = Side Thruster Blast Ball 1 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Grenade Fragment Gray Count = 300 Spread = 360 MaxVelocity = 500 MinVelocity = 250 InheritsVel = 1 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Grenade Fragment Yellow Count = 300 Spread = 360 MaxVelocity = 500 MinVelocity = 250 InheritsVel = 1 AddGib = Gib GibParticle = MOPixel CopyOf = Air Blast Count = 300 Spread = 360 MaxVelocity = 500 MinVelocity = 250 InheritsVel = 1 Can anyone help?
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:00 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
DoomTurkey wrote: Can anyone help? Alright, here's what's wrong. A bit of searching could have helped you, but w/e, I'm considered a nice person. The reason your sprite has strange graphical problems is because it is out of palette. Check out this topic to help with that. This one might also help you out if you use a different graphics program. As for lifting it high, that depends on these: Code: StanceOffset = Vector X = 8 Y = 5 StartThrowOffset = Vector X = -12 Y = -5 EndThrowOffset = Vector X = 12 Y = -5 Increase the Y values to have it lifted higher. They're values offset from the arms, with positive x being right, positive y being down.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:12 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
Sprite problem - Every sprite in Cortex Command needs to have a certain color palette. To set your sprite to the correct palette, go into your CC folder, and in "Base.rte" copy the "palette.bmp" into your mod folder "StarBomb.rte". Open your sprite up in MSPaint (assuming you have windows), copy the whole thing with the cropping tool, and then paste into the palette copy in your mod folder. Then just resize if needed, delete your old picture, and rename the copied palette into the old picture's name. Also, hot pink (R=255, G=0, B=255) which is the first color in the palette is the backround color in cortex command spriting.
Holding problem - The "JointOffset" is based off of your "SpriteOffset". That means if you want to hold the middle of your sprite, make the Joint Offset "X = 0" and "Y = 0".
Your last problem is a sprite problem.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:17 am |
|
|
DoomTurkey
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am Posts: 68
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
thx guys gonna start on it right away.
why am I supposed to paste it into pallete though?
or am I supposed to just make my sprites have pink background?
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:27 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
CC is wierd. I don't nkow why you have to paste into the copied palette, but it won't work unless you do.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:37 am |
|
|
DoomTurkey
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am Posts: 68
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
ok then, I shall paste into pallette.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:40 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
Remember, the COPIED palette you put in your mod folder. If the palette in Base.rte is messed up, it will make many things look wierd.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:43 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
CaveCricket48 wrote: I don't nkow why you have to paste into the copied palette, but it won't work unless you do. Because Cortex has an 8 bit graphics engine at it's core. 8 bits = 256 colors = our beloved palette file. If you aren't in palette, strange things happen because you're feeding it color information it can't make heads or tails of. The same is true of every single Gameboy and Gameboy color game you have ever or ever will play. I think Gameboys might've had a 2 bit palette actually. 4 shades of gray.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:48 am |
|
|
DoomTurkey
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am Posts: 68
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
when i pasted it in, the colors went darker :[ would it be ok if I make it brighter?
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:54 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
DoomTurkey wrote: would it be ok if I make it brighter? No, because then it would be out of palette again.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:55 am |
|
|
DoomTurkey
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am Posts: 68
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
so I sould make it brighter then stick it in pallete?
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:56 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
The palette defines the colors you can use. If you paste it in palette and it comes out darker, then it will have to be darker unless you can find colors in the palette that are closer to what you want.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:58 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
Yes. Or once you paste into the copied palette, paste the original palette from Base.rte and use the color picker to select a lighter color to paint/draw with.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:59 am |
|
|
DoomTurkey
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am Posts: 68
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
hm... there is only olive green in the pallete, so I can't make it bright green. I guess I'll just have to leave it as is. In the meantime, I'll balance out my mod. Thanks for the help
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:01 am |
|
|
Dibuk
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:28 pm Posts: 16 Location: void
|
Re: I need help with my first mod
Here is the lightest green colors CC can have: If you save that pic, and use those colors - it will work.
|
Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:24 am |
|
|
|