View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 11, 2024 2:53 am



Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 I need help with my first mod 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 68
Reply with quote
Post I need help with my first mod
1st order of business, I am DoomTurkey, and I have no programming experience.
(I make half-decent flash movies though)

I'm trying to make a star-shaped bomb that changes color as you throw it.
The code I'm using is copied off of Blue Bomb codes, and I'm kinda successful.

The game loads, but in the bombs menu, the picture next to the bomb name is just a mess of multi-colored pixels.

The robot holding the bomb cant raise the bomb very high for some reason.

The bomb has a black square around it, and at certain angles turn invisible, don't know why.

Code:
AddDevice = TDExplosive
   PresetName = Star Bomb
   AddToGroup = Bombs
   Mass = .5
   RestThreshold = -500
   HitsMOs = 1
   GetsHitByMOs = 1
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = StarBomb.rte/Star.bmp
   FrameCount = 4
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -12
      Y = -12
   SpriteAnimMode = 1
   SpriteAnimDuration = 500
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal No Spark
   GoldValue = 10
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 2
      Depth = 0
   DeepGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 4
      Depth = 10
   DeepCheck = 0
   JointStrength = 75
   JointStiffness = 0.5
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = -12
      Y = 12
   DrawAfterParent = 1
   DetonationSound = Sound
      Priority = 1000
      AddSample = ContentFile
         Path = StarBomb.rte/Exp.wav
   StanceOffset = Vector
      X = 8
      Y = 5
   StartThrowOffset = Vector
      X = -12
      Y = -5
   EndThrowOffset = Vector
      X = 12
      Y = -5
   MinThrowVel = 20
   MaxThrowVel = 200
   TriggerDelay = 1500
   ActivatesWhenReleased = 0
   EffectOnGib = 1
   EffectAlwaysShows = 1
   ScreenEffect = ContentFile
      Path = StarBomb.rte/YellowHuge.bmp
   AddParticles = MOSParticle
      CopyOf = Side Thruster Blast Ball 1
   AddGib = Gib 
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Grenade Fragment Gray
      Count = 300
      Spread = 360
      MaxVelocity = 500
      MinVelocity = 250
      InheritsVel = 1
   AddGib = Gib 
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Grenade Fragment Yellow
      Count = 300
      Spread = 360
      MaxVelocity = 500
      MinVelocity = 250
      InheritsVel = 1
   AddGib = Gib 
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Air Blast
      Count = 300
      Spread = 360
      MaxVelocity = 500
      MinVelocity = 250
      InheritsVel = 1


Can anyone help?


Attachments:
StarBomb.rte.rar [89.08 KiB]
Downloaded 156 times
Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:00 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
DoomTurkey wrote:
Can anyone help?
Alright, here's what's wrong. A bit of searching could have helped you, but w/e, I'm considered a nice person.

The reason your sprite has strange graphical problems is because it is out of palette. Check out this topic to help with that. This one might also help you out if you use a different graphics program.
As for lifting it high, that depends on these:
Code:
   StanceOffset = Vector
      X = 8
      Y = 5
   StartThrowOffset = Vector
      X = -12
      Y = -5
   EndThrowOffset = Vector
      X = 12
      Y = -5

Increase the Y values to have it lifted higher. They're values offset from the arms, with positive x being right, positive y being down.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:12 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13143
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
Sprite problem - Every sprite in Cortex Command needs to have a certain color palette. To set your sprite to the correct palette, go into your CC folder, and in "Base.rte" copy the "palette.bmp" into your mod folder "StarBomb.rte". Open your sprite up in MSPaint (assuming you have windows), copy the whole thing with the cropping tool, and then paste into the palette copy in your mod folder. Then just resize if needed, delete your old picture, and rename the copied palette into the old picture's name. Also, hot pink (R=255, G=0, B=255)
which is the first color in the palette is the backround color in cortex command spriting.

Holding problem - The "JointOffset" is based off of your "SpriteOffset". That means if you want to hold the middle of your sprite, make the Joint Offset "X = 0" and "Y = 0".

Your last problem is a sprite problem.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:17 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 68
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
thx guys gonna start on it right away.

why am I supposed to paste it into pallete though?

or am I supposed to just make my sprites have pink background?


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:27 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13143
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
CC is wierd. I don't nkow why you have to paste into the copied palette, but it won't work unless you do. :???:


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:37 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 68
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
ok then, I shall paste into pallette.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13143
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
Remember, the COPIED palette you put in your mod folder. If the palette in Base.rte is messed up, it will make many things look wierd.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:43 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
CaveCricket48 wrote:
I don't nkow why you have to paste into the copied palette, but it won't work unless you do.

Because Cortex has an 8 bit graphics engine at it's core. 8 bits = 256 colors = our beloved palette file. If you aren't in palette, strange things happen because you're feeding it color information it can't make heads or tails of. The same is true of every single Gameboy and Gameboy color game you have ever or ever will play. I think Gameboys might've had a 2 bit palette actually. 4 shades of gray.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:48 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 68
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
when i pasted it in, the colors went darker :[ would it be ok if I make it brighter?


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:54 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
DoomTurkey wrote:
would it be ok if I make it brighter?

No, because then it would be out of palette again.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:55 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 68
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
so I sould make it brighter then stick it in pallete?


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:56 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
The palette defines the colors you can use. If you paste it in palette and it comes out darker, then it will have to be darker unless you can find colors in the palette that are closer to what you want.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:58 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13143
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
Yes. Or once you paste into the copied palette, paste the original palette from Base.rte and use the color picker to select a lighter color to paint/draw with.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:59 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 68
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
hm... there is only olive green in the pallete, so I can't make it bright green. I guess I'll just have to leave it as is. In the meantime, I'll balance out my mod. Thanks for the help :)


Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:01 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:28 pm
Posts: 16
Location: void
Reply with quote
Post Re: I need help with my first mod
Here is the lightest green colors CC can have:

Image

If you save that pic, and use those colors - it will work.


Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:24 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.102s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]