Author |
Message |
Eviltebor
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm Posts: 69
|
Health bars above actors?
Is there a file i can simply rename or edit to make it not show health bars above actors? If possible is there a way so i can still see health bars over my own actors without seeing the enemy teams?
This might be something to include in future updates as it makes the game a lot more tactical and the ai less predictable.
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:31 am |
|
|
Areku
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:46 pm Posts: 5212 Location: The Grills Locker.
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
As far as I know, the only way to do so is to go in each actor's code and change their CharHeight value to something ridiculously high. That is not recommended, although, as it causes weird issues with the AI and aiming.
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:27 pm |
|
|
Eviltebor
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm Posts: 69
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
Aren't there sprites for the health bar or something? Couldn't i just back those up and replace them with a blank picture?
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:59 pm |
|
|
p3lb0x
Forum Moderator
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:53 pm Posts: 1896 Location: in my little gay bunker
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
Go to Base.rte\GUIs\Skins\Base and make a copy of fatfont.bmp and replace it with the one below. I removed a few icons from it and I am not sure what it affects besides the health and heart icon
Attachments:
fatfont.bmp [40.36 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:06 pm |
|
|
Eviltebor
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm Posts: 69
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
Thank you very much. Time to give this a test.
Edit:
Ok so the bugs are as follows.
No gold counter No countdown until a unit drops in No score for how many of their units you have killed
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:17 pm |
|
|
mail2345
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:58 am Posts: 2054
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
You could do something hackish with glows.
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:17 pm |
|
|
Roy-G-Biv
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:46 am Posts: 1765 Location: ..............
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
Eviltebor wrote: Thank you very much. Time to give this a test.
Edit:
Ok so the bugs are as follows.
No gold counter No countdown until a unit drops in No score for how many of their units you have killed Those Counters/scores all share the same spritesheet. If you erased hearts/numbers, you erased them for pretty much the entire game.
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:35 pm |
|
|
p3lb0x
Forum Moderator
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:53 pm Posts: 1896 Location: in my little gay bunker
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
Ah, I was sure something else would happen. Oh well I tried to help
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:27 pm |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
mail2345 wrote: You could do something hackish with glows. do pink glows render over the gui too? Oo;;
|
Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:17 pm |
|
|
Eviltebor
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 6:49 pm Posts: 69
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
So if they do we'd have to find a way to create pink glows above every actor? Won't this be hard to do and possibly mess up whenever another actor flies over the top where the health bar is?
|
Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:37 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
for actor in MovableMan.Actors do local glow = CreateMOPixel("glow","module"); glow.Pos = Vector(actor.Pos.X,actor.AboveHUDPos); glow.Vel = actor.Vel; MovableMan:AddParticle(glow); end
|
Sat Jul 25, 2009 4:21 pm |
|
|
Azukki
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 9:44 pm Posts: 1916 Location: Flint Hills
|
Re: Health bars above actors?
How do these pink glows work anyways? They're supposed to mask out stuff like out of palette pink, right? I can't seem to use them properly.
But to contribute, glows can indeed render over the GUI. For example, my black glows can. The variable "Effect always shows" or whatever it is may have to do with it.
|
Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:03 am |
|
|
|