Author |
Message |
Hariku
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:45 am Posts: 69
|
Gun Coding
I've been trying to follow the "Modders Bible", and every time I load up CC I get an error. It doesn't tell me what the error is, all it tells me is that CC has encountered an error and needs to close.
I'm pretty sure I followed every step correctly, but I can never get my gun to load correctly. Can I get some help? The file attached is the gun sprite.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:21 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Gun Coding
Set FrameCount = 0 Take the 000 from the name.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:22 am |
|
|
Hariku
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:45 am Posts: 69
|
Re: Gun Coding
I get the same error...you didn't really tell me anything from that other than take away the 000.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:30 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Gun Coding
Okay, so it doesn't return any error apart from the needs to close? Have you set MuzzleFlash = None if it is appropriate?
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:37 am |
|
|
Hariku
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:45 am Posts: 69
|
Re: Gun Coding
I'm using what the Modders Bible New Persons Guide is giving me, which isn't much. This is all what it told me put. Code: AddDevice = HDFirearm InstanceName = Guass Rifle GetsHitByMOs = 1 SpriteFile = ContentFile FilePath = StarCraft.rte/Gauss Rifle.bmp AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff Resolution = 2 Depth = 0 Magazine = Magazine CopyOf = Magazine Pistol RateOfFire = 500 Set FrameCount = 0
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:39 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Gun Coding
That's missing ALOT. Try looking at the Base.rte .ini s to see what you're missing. You're missing tonnes... The error you're getting is because you're not giving about 2/3rds of the neccessary values... Code: AddDevice = HDFirearm //Defines as a weapon PresetName = <Name of weapon> //Defines the name of the weapon. This shows up in the buy menu and is used to reference the weapon later on, but you don't really have to worry about it now. Try to get a somewhat unique name to save difficulty AddToGroup = Weapons //Good idea to have Mass = <Mass of weapon> //How much the thing weighs, in kilograms. HitsMOs = <1/0> //Whether or not you can push things with the gun GetsHitByMOs = <1/0> //Whether or not the gun can get hit by bullets SpriteFile = ContentFile //Tells the game the next tabbed bit is your sprite FilePath = <Filepath> //Sprite filepath FrameCount = 1 //How many frames, don't worry about this yet SpriteOffset = Vector //Where the centre of gravity of the gun is X = <X> //Defined. This shouldn't be too hard if you did basic maths. The origin is the top left pixel, the X axis is inverted Y = <Y> //Defined. EntryWound = AEmitter CopyOf = <Name of wound> //Wounds for your weapon, just use Dent Metal for now ExitWound = AEmitter CopyOf = <Name of wound> GoldValue = <Cost> //How much it costs, in gold AtomGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff //What it's made of, just use Military Stuff for now Resolution = 4 Depth = 0 DeepGroup = AtomGroup AutoGenerate = 1 Material = Material CopyOf = Military Stuff //Deep group, see last comment Resolution = 4 Depth = 10 DeepCheck = 1 //Ignore JointStrength = 75 //How hard you hold it, bigger number=harder to drop JointStiffness = 0.5 //If someone lands on your gun, how much of the force goes to your arm. JointOffset = Vector X = <X> //Where the gun is held, relative to the SpriteOffset, X is not inverted, Y is. Y = <Y> DrawAfterParent = <1/0> //Whether the gun is in front of the guy or not. OneHanded = <1/0> //One handed, if yes then you can use it with a shield StanceOffset = Vector X = <X> //Where the shoulder is when the gun is held, relative to the JointOffset. X is inverted, Y is Y = <Y> SharpStanceOffset = Vector X = <X> //Where the shoulder is when Sharp Aiming, the thing with the three yellow dots. Y = <Y> SupportOffset = Vector X = <X> //Where the second hand is, relative to SpriteOffset Y = <Y> SharpLength = <Number> //How far you can see with the Sharp Aim Magazine = Magazine CopyOf = <Magazine> //What magazine to use, this will define what it fires. You'll need your own magazine if you want a decent weapon Flash = Attachable CopyOf = <Muzzle Flash> //What Muzzle Flash to use, if there isn't one then usse "Flash = None" RateOfFire = <Number> //How many rounds you can get off in, say, a minute, I'm not sure ReloadTime = <Number> //How long a reload takes, in Milliseconds FullAuto = <1/0> //Full Auto or Semi Auto FireIgnoresThis = <1/0> //Whether bullets will hit the gun if they intersect, I reccomend 1 ShakeRange = 13 //How shaky your hands are when you hold it SharpShakeRange = 3 //Above, but when Sharp Aiming NoSupportFactor = 1.5 //No idea ParticleSpreadRange = 3 //How innaccurate th bullets are ShellSpreadRange = 8 //How the shells come out, ignore this for now ShellAngVelRange = 2 //See above MuzzleOffset = Vector X = <X> //Where the bullets fly out, X is not inverted, Y is. Relative to SpriteOffset Y = <Y> EjectionOffset = Vector X = <X> //Where the casings fly out, see above Y = <Y> This should give you a working weapon. The next step is to define your own bullets and magazine to load into the weapon. Then to add effects, gibs and sounds.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:49 am |
|
|
Hariku
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:45 am Posts: 69
|
Re: Gun Coding
Regardless of what I add or remove, I still get the same error in the same place of the load screen. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:16 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Gun Coding
See above post. You need to replace everything in triangle brackets with some values and you should get a somewhat working weapon. Then you just need to make your own Magazine and Rounds.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:19 am |
|
|
Hariku
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:45 am Posts: 69
|
Re: Gun Coding
And I did just that, yet I still get an error.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:26 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Gun Coding
Show us your code please...
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:35 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Gun Coding
CC crashes like that sometimes if you doubledefine a presetname. upload your mod so someone can debug it please.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:12 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Gun Coding
I've found that double defining a presetname just overwrites it.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:17 am |
|
|
Morbo!!!
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:08 pm Posts: 481 Location: Islamic Republic of Bradistan, Yorkshire, England
|
Re: Gun Coding
One thing though, it's not the X that's inverted, it's the Y. That's what I find anyway.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:51 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Gun Coding
It depends on what you're doing. Alot. Like ridiculously. This is why everyone hates offsets.
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:58 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Gun Coding
y is "inverted" (negative is up) and x is not (negative is left) always. for limbs, it just seems different because the sprites are rotated. i still hate offsets though, that stupid engineer has ♥♥♥♥ 5 attachables on the body, one of them is a sub attachable and rawr. then all the gib offsets.. ><
|
Sun Apr 12, 2009 12:21 pm |
|
|
|