Author |
Message |
ShnitzelKiller
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:30 am Posts: 168
|
Re: Zombie level
So the fact that the editor is waaaay smaller and you can only place skeletons and two robots is also a mac thing...
|
Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:40 pm |
|
|
SpacePope
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 5:10 am Posts: 167 Location: In Belgium!!!!
|
Re: Zombie level
TheLastBanana wrote: Ultric, there isn't a single Ronin with a helmet. He actually has,or maybe he has the same hair as me. (lol)
|
Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:36 pm |
|
|
CommanderCool
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:53 pm Posts: 296 Location: Black Mesa Research Facility
|
Re: Zombie level
SpacePope wrote: TheLastBanana wrote: Ultric, there isn't a single Ronin with a helmet. He actually has,or maybe he has the same hair as me. (lol) Its hair, the kind Faith from Mirrors Edge has.
|
Mon Mar 23, 2009 8:41 pm |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Zombie level
for some reason, the mac coding is a tad screwed for the zombie mission. the ronin dont spawn. add this code to just above the end of your zombiecave.lua file in missions.rte/scenes/scripts Code: -- AMBUSH STAGE if self:GetControlledActor(Activity.PLAYER_1) then -- Triggered ambush stage if self.CurrentFightStage ~= self.FightStage.AMBUSH and self.artifactArea:IsInside(self:GetControlledActor(Activity.PLAYER_1).Pos) then -- See if there is a designated LZ Area for attackers, and only land over it local attackLZ = SceneMan.Scene:GetArea("LZ Team 2"); if attackLZ then -- Take over control of screen messages self:ResetMessageTimer(Activity.PLAYER_1); -- Display the text of the current step FrameMan:ClearScreenText(Activity.PLAYER_1); FrameMan:SetScreenText("UNKNOWN HOSTILES ARE LANDING AT THE CAVE ENTRANCE!", Activity.PLAYER_1, 500, 8000, true);
-- Ship1 crew goes to investigate cave, ship2 goes to kill the player brain local ship1 = CreateACDropShip("Drop Ship MK1"); local ronin = self:MakeRonin(Actor.AIMODE_GOTO); ronin:ClearAIWaypoints(); ronin:AddAISceneWaypoint(Vector(200, 500)); ship1:AddInventoryItem(ronin); ronin = self:MakeRonin(Actor.AIMODE_GOTO); ronin:ClearAIWaypoints(); ronin:AddAISceneWaypoint(Vector(200, 500)); ship1:AddInventoryItem(ronin); local ship2 = CreateACDropShip("Drop Ship MK1"); ship2:AddInventoryItem(self:MakeRonin(Actor.AIMODE_BRAINHUNT)); ship2:AddInventoryItem(self:MakeRonin(Actor.AIMODE_BRAINHUNT));
-- Only land over the proper LZ ship1.Pos.X = attackLZ:GetRandomPoint().X; ship2.Pos.X = 2300; ship1.Pos.Y = 0; ship2.Pos.Y = -50; ship1.Team = self.CPUTeam; ship2.Team = self.CPUTeam; ship1:SetControllerMode(Controller.CIM_AI, -1); ship2:SetControllerMode(Controller.CIM_AI, -1); -- Let the spawn into the world, passing ownership MovableMan:AddActor(ship1); MovableMan:AddActor(ship2);
-- Advance the stage self.CurrentFightStage = self.FightStage.AMBUSH; end end end
-- Any ronin guys who reach the innermost cave, should go brain hunt afterward if self.CurrentFightStage == self.FightStage.AMBUSH then for actor in MovableMan.Actors do if actor.Team == self.CPUTeam and self.artifactArea:IsInside(actor.Pos) then actor:SetControllerMode(Controller.CIM_AI, -1); actor.AIMode = Actor.AIMODE_BRAINHUNT; end end end
and this to the very end of it Code: function ZombieCaveMission:MakeRonin(whichMode) local ronin; local which = math.random(); if which > 0.85 then ronin = CreateAHuman("Dafred"); elseif which > 0.76 then ronin = CreateAHuman("Mia"); elseif which > 0.50 then ronin = CreateAHuman("Dimitri"); elseif which > 0.35 then ronin = CreateAHuman("Brutus"); elseif which > 0.15 then ronin = CreateAHuman("Sandra"); else ronin = CreateAHuman("Gordon"); end
local gun; which = math.random(); if which > 0.85 then gun = CreateHDFirearm("M16"); elseif which > 0.76 then gun = CreateHDFirearm("Shotgun"); elseif which > 0.50 then gun = CreateHDFirearm("Uzi"); elseif which > 0.35 then gun = CreateHDFirearm("YAK47"); elseif which > 0.15 then gun = CreateHDFirearm("Bazooka"); else gun = CreateHDFirearm("Spas12"); end
ronin:AddInventoryItem(gun); ronin:AddInventoryItem(CreateHDFirearm("Luger")); ronin:SetControllerMode(Controller.CIM_AI, -1); ronin.AIMode = whichMode; return ronin; end sorry for the huge chunks of code, but ohwell. that should fix your scene.
|
Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:31 pm |
|
|
ShnitzelKiller
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:30 am Posts: 168
|
Re: Zombie level
Could you tell me what you mean by "right before the end"?? Could you please be more specific, since I don't want to place it incorrectly?
|
Wed Apr 08, 2009 1:02 am |
|
|
kvn8907
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:24 am Posts: 31
|
Back in the ship
Hariku wrote: ShnitzelKiller wrote: But there is no "open doors" option. It's the "fire weapon" button, usually Left Click. Now ya tell me. I think that's one of the things wrong with this demo, that it's pretty much impossible to finish the Zombie level without coming to this forum. Never in the tutorial does it say anything about opening doors, heck it doesn't even talk about directly controlling the ship. I thought the only way to release something after you took control of the ship was to land it and use the "Deliver" command, then switch to something else. Now, this solves a few problems I had in the demo. First, the zombie level obviously. Second, returning unused weaponry. Sometimes you have more weaponry than you need, and though I'm having trouble sending back just weaponry without the soliders hold it...wait *loads game*, ok, nvm, it turns out the dropship actually sucks things into it, which is kind of weird. Anyway, that solves how to send back spare objects, or even captured objects, for more money. Third, when soldiers are weak and/or dying, before I learned this, it seemed the only thing to do was be merciful, have them drop their weapons, and have someone else put them out of their misery. Now I know it's possible to send back wounded troops rather than scrap them or go suicide stomping. One thing's for certain, with the final game, the tutorial is going to have to be a whole lot better. It's one thing to have people learn nearly everything by experimentation with the demo, since that's practically all we CAN do anyway, but if I were coming into the full game without prior experience, I'd want a more inclusive tutorial.
|
Thu Apr 09, 2009 3:57 am |
|
|
kvn8907
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:24 am Posts: 31
|
Bombs away
Oh, also, now that I know about opening bay doors on a whim, that opened up the possibility of bombing, mostly with stick grenades since others risk not blowing up if they're not dropped far enough. So that gave me a tool to destroy any enemy in the open (which is the whole point of air power), and gave me something to play around with for a half hour.
|
Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:26 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Zombie level
Yeah, certain things just come naturally when you've been playing the game for...uh, 3 years or more.
When gameplay's introduced one feature at a time it's easier to keep abreast.
|
Thu Apr 09, 2009 6:15 am |
|
|
Geti
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am Posts: 4886 Location: some compy
|
Re: Zombie level
ShnitzelKiller wrote: Could you tell me what you mean by "right before the end"?? Could you please be more specific, since I don't want to place it incorrectly? for the first part, find the part in the code that has "-- AMUSH STAGE" in it, and then paste from there. for the second part, at the bottom of the file, literally right at the end. i havnt tested it, but it should work. backup your .lua file first though
|
Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:34 am |
|
|
tons0phun
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:18 pm Posts: 131 Location: Sacramento, CA
|
Re: Back in the ship
kvn8907 wrote: One thing's for certain, with the final game, the tutorial is going to have to be a whole lot better. It's one thing to have people learn nearly everything by experimentation with the demo, since that's practically all we CAN do anyway, but if I were coming into the full game without prior experience, I'd want a more inclusive tutorial. On that note, I would like to recommend you try experimenting with flying the Rocket craft, while loaded with bombs, and skuttle it mid-air over your enemy. It gets pretty addicting.
|
Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:39 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Zombie level
Or you could try crashing at high speed into a concrete base... I'm pretty sure the velocity carries over to the grenades and then the frags...
|
Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:40 am |
|
|
ShnitzelKiller
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:30 am Posts: 168
|
Re: Zombie level
Geez, the reason I don't know anything about cortex command scripting is because there aren't any tutorials I can find, and my simple questions never get answered. Especially when it comes to modding itself. There is no real step-by-step tutorial on how to make one from scratch, with examples and stuff. I can't even use mods, because once I put them in my resources folder I don't know what to do from that. In the game itself, that is. Do I use the scene editor? Or what?
|
Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:09 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Zombie level
Really, you should start by opening up a mod's .ini files whilst playing them, to try to understand what's going on. Then, modify values etc. to figure out what each one does. Then do a Base.rte edit to practice. Continue practicing until you decide to make something independent. Continue making independent stuff until you've got a good grip of how you're going to achieve something. Achieve something. As long as you keep trying and don't try to understand something ridiculously complicated like a Widelaser right off the bat, you'll eventually get your own idea and style of coding. Though being good with maths, logic and programming helps... Alot...
So anyway, download a mod. Any mod that doesn't look to complicated. Make sure that it works. Now open up the folder and open some .ini files. Play the mod for a while and look and .ini files afterwards or during or before. Keep doing this until you start to see links. If you really can't see any links or how something works then try a different mod.
|
Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:15 am |
|
|
ShnitzelKiller
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:30 am Posts: 168
|
Re: Zombie level
How can I do any of those tests if I don't even know how you "play" a mod? And how can i open ini files while I play? Mods just extend the data somehow, but how do you actually test them ingame????? They aren't scenes that can be loaded into skirmish, and if I use the scene editor to make a map with any of them as components it crashes on the next startup. And the wiki is useless.
|
Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:23 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Zombie level
Ah. Making a scene with mod elements is actually rather hard... I suggest you do the steps prescribed above first. How to install modsStart up CC as normal and play around a bit. If you've installed the mod correctly the mod elements should be in game. Now play around a bit. Once you're done go into the folder you downloaded and look around. There should be files marked .ini, and they should look like little flip notepads with dark yellow gears next to them. Double click on one them and read through them, don't worry about all of the information yet, just read through it. Now try to figure out what it's referring to in the mod. Looking for a line labelled "PresetName" or "InstanceName" will help. Play again, focusing on the part of the mod you found. Close the mod again and repeat the reading and playing proccess until you start to realise what each part of the file does. Once you've done that you're halfway to modding.
|
Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:31 am |
|
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|