View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jan 09, 2025 3:52 pm



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:07 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Mega Primus
Reply with quote
Post Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
I couldn't really find an answer through searching around.

I want to modify my Activities.ini to make some of my attackers part of the third, neutral team to stir up just a little extra chaos.
I had tried doing something along these lines a while back with the whole "team = 2" bit, but I must have done something wrong because I always got an error on startup.

If possible, how I would go about changing the teams of the attackers, and would I need to apply it to just the craft or it's passengers as well?

If at all possible, please provide an example for a single attacker.

Thank you in advance.


Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:04 pm
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
Fastest way to do it would be to make a copy of the actor(s) you want to put in the activities at the top, like so.
Code:
AddActor = AHuman
   CopyOf = X
   PresetName = Y
   Team = -1

Then replace all the X definitions later on in the file with Y.


Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:19 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:53 pm
Posts: 296
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
Question - Would neutral actors spawned in this way attack both sides, or just stand there and get shot?


Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:22 pm
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
I think they would attack both sides, since it's worked for numgun for a while. It works in the current AAL version.
Oh, you probably want to make a copy of the craft too, so that what it drops off doesn't shoot it.


Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:26 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:07 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Mega Primus
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
Are you sure we're talking about the same thing?

Code:
AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip
      CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Ronin Soldier 5
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Bazooka
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Glock
         AddInventory = HeldDevice
            CopyOf = Riot Shield
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Medium Digger


^To elaborate, I want this to be neutral/indiscriminately violent.
I don't see a PresetName anywhere besides the AddActivities.

(Yes, I do realize how much of a noob I look like right now. I don't grasp many CC coding concepts.)


Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:21 am
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
Perpetual-303 wrote:
(Yes, I do realize how much of a noob I look like right now. I don't grasp many CC coding concepts.)

Worry not, we don't expect experts from the get-go.

So above the entire Activities declaration, before "AddActivity = GABaseDefense
PresetName = Default Activity", put the lines I wrote up above, changing X and Y for the name of the Actor you want to rogue-ify and a new name to differentiate it.
It should look a little something like this when you're done with that part.
Code:
AddActor = AHuman
   CopyOf = Soldier Light
   PresetName = Light Rogue
   Team = -1
AddActivity = GABaseDefense
   PresetName = Default Activity


Replace Soldier Light with all the names of the things you want to make rogue, such as Dummy, Skeleton, Ronin 1, etc. Up to you what to call the Team -1 versions, you'll use them next. So for the rest of the activities file, just replace the Actor PresetName (who you made a copy of up above by putting X in CopyOf) with the new rogue PresetName. When it's all done, it'll look a little something like this:
Code:
AddActor = AHuman
   CopyOf = Ronin Soldier 5
   PresetName = Soldier 5 Rogue
   Team = -1
AddActivity = GABaseDefense
   PresetName = Default Activity
//
//The rest of the AddActivity stuff
//
AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip
      CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Soldier 5 Rogue//Ronin Soldier 5
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Bazooka

You don't need the thing next to the //, just a comment to show what used to be there in case you want to turn it back without replacing the entire file with a clean copy.


Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:29 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:11 pm
Posts: 543
Location: The hood
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
What about team 0?


Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:09 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:43 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Norway
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
team 0 is the red team. aka the default player team
team 1 is the green team and any other team is Neutral


Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:10 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:07 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Mega Primus
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
After doing what you said, I ran into a problem that eludes my understanding.

I put all of this at the very beginning of the .ini.

Code:
AddActor = ACRocket  //Line 1.
   CopyOf = Rocket MK1
   PresetName = Rogue Rocket1
   Team = -1

AddActor = ACRocket  //Line 6.
   CopyOf = Rocket MK2
   PresetName = Rogue Rocket2
   Team = -1


It crashed on line 6, which is the exact same as line 1.
I'm sure it's right under my nose, but I'm stumped.


Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:37 pm
Profile
happy carebear mom
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am
Posts: 7096
Location: b8bbd5
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
Hm. Well, I was going to make one for you (since I'm stumped as to why it's not working for you as well), but even after setting the AI mode to something strange (it usually makes the actor rampage) the newly rogue-d actors just sit there. Here's what I made, perhaps someone with more knowledge in this area can tell what's wrong.
Attachment:
Rogue Activities.rar


Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:37 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:07 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Mega Primus
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
Okay, I have an idea.

What if I created an .rte comprised of the vanilla actors, except with team = -1 on them, and I included them in the activites.ini? That would work, right?


Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:44 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 5:10 am
Posts: 167
Location: In Belgium!!!!
Reply with quote
Post Re: Activities.ini, Neutral Attackers?
Try it!
And tell us if it works!


Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:43 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.047s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]