Author |
Message |
Foa
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:14 am Posts: 3966 Location: Canadida
|
Re: Melon Racer
zalo wrote: I'm not sure, give me examples, and I'll tell you if I can do them. And then I'll tell you if it were possible. And I'll give the "Tele-nade" some thought. I hope it's like the Displacer Disk thing. "I can go where ever these things goes, and detonate."-"But the only problem is where, when, and how you get there.""S-so?"-"What if you die and go static before it detonates?"
|
Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:21 am |
|
|
Lord Tim
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:55 pm Posts: 1178 Location: America!
|
Re: Melon Racer
You'd have to have the actor that fired it stored anyways, and you can check whether an actor is alive or not.
|
Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:34 am |
|
|
zalo
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm Posts: 1496
|
Re: Melon Racer
Oobagoo wrote: I like this, it's cool and fun. and innovative. but i found another glitch not yet mentioned in this thread- sometimes when i am playing, it ceases to give me points when i go through the goal. it does on occasion, but after a seemingly random number of laps. You don't get a goal if you don't go through the water first. It's cheat prevention. And I was thinking for the teleportation, when the grenade exploded, it would release an ultrashort-lifetime particle, and your actor's Pos. Would always equal that Particle's.Pos. Just don't fire two TelePortation Grenades at once
|
Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:25 pm |
|
|
Lord Tim
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:55 pm Posts: 1178 Location: America!
|
Re: Melon Racer
zalo wrote: Oobagoo wrote: I like this, it's cool and fun. and innovative. but i found another glitch not yet mentioned in this thread- sometimes when i am playing, it ceases to give me points when i go through the goal. it does on occasion, but after a seemingly random number of laps. You don't get a goal if you don't go through the water first. It's cheat prevention. And I was thinking for the teleportation, when the grenade exploded, it would release an ultrashort-lifetime particle, and your actor's Pos. Would always equal that Particle's.Pos. Just don't fire two TelePortation Grenades at once Psst. You can use "if(SceneMan:FindAltitude(melon.Pos) > melonheight+somesmallnumber)" instead of timers to prevent double jumps better.
|
Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:40 am |
|
|
zalo
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm Posts: 1496
|
Re: Melon Racer
I don't get that line of code.
Would'nt it prevent me from jumping while I'm on top of a hill, but enable jumping while I'm in a valley since it just measures altitude?
Anyway, I think the timer works pretty well for what it is supposed to do.
|
Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:10 am |
|
|
Lord Tim
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:55 pm Posts: 1178 Location: America!
|
Re: Melon Racer
It gives you the distance from that vector to the nearest ground directly below it.
With a timer, you can jump off a tall place, and jump in the air where the ground "should" be.
|
Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:26 am |
|
|
zalo
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm Posts: 1496
|
Re: Melon Racer
Wow, that really is useful! I'll try tomorrow.
Would you by any chance know how to do proximity/distance measuring and moving/creating areas?
|
Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:46 am |
|
|
NickFury666
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:49 pm Posts: 189
|
Re: Melon Racer
I think the rotation problem is because when an object spins its angle keeps getting higher, and the variable eventually reaches its limit and stops. Maybe if you set it so if the rotation = 360 then it will be set to 0 it will work?
|
Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:35 am |
|
|
crazyman56
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 7:04 pm Posts: 17
|
Re: Melon Racer
You got this from Garry's Mod didn't you!!!!!
|
Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:48 pm |
|
|
Exalion
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:59 am Posts: 1726 Location: NSW, Australia
|
Re: Melon Racer
No sh1t, Sherlock.
|
Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:06 am |
|
|
LowestFormOfWit
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:04 am Posts: 1559
|
Re: Melon Racer
I want to make this sprite into a melon trap. Clone walks over a trip and a door opens that dumps a F**kload of melons on him.
Bwahaha.
|
Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:08 am |
|
|
macattack
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:34 am Posts: 218 Location: Monkey Island: It is teh fluffy here.
|
Re: Melon Racer
LowestFormOfWit wrote: I want to make this sprite into a melon trap. Clone walks over a trip and a door opens that dumps a F**kload of melons on him.
Bwahaha. What sprite?
|
Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:13 am |
|
|
TheLastBanana
DRL Developer
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am Posts: 3138 Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
|
Re: Melon Racer
Just out of curiosity, why exactly is it that you change the brain's mass each lap? Oh, and I found a fix for the frozen rotation. The rotation seems to freeze at about 800, so I'd assume it's 810 as it's a multiple of 90. So, just add in these lines anywhere in the Lua: Code: if Melon1.RotAngle > 810 then Melon1.RotAngle = 0 end if Melon1.RotAngle < -810 then Melon1.RotAngle = 0 end if Melon2.RotAngle > 810 then Melon2.RotAngle = 0 end if Melon2.RotAngle < -810 then Melon2.RotAngle = 0 end
|
Sun Nov 16, 2008 9:46 pm |
|
|
robolee
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:30 pm Posts: 1040 Location: England
|
Re: Melon Racer
why not just set it to 0 at 360/-360 instead of 810? it seems more logical since 360 degrees is the first integer which also = 0 degrees Code: if Melon1.RotAngle >= 360 or Melon1.RotAngle <= -360 then Melon1.RotAngle = 0 end if Melon2.RotAngle >= 360 or Melon2.RotAngle <= -360 then Melon2.RotAngle = 0 end
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:41 am |
|
|
TheLastBanana
DRL Developer
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am Posts: 3138 Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
|
Re: Melon Racer
That works too. I was just having it reset at the number that seemed to be a problem.
|
Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:31 am |
|
|
|