Author |
Message |
Unclesteve
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 3:27 am Posts: 7
|
Slight Problem With Templated
I don't think the opposing AI is acknowledging that my character is there when I use the Human template thingy. They won't shoot at it at and walk past as if it's non existent. When I used one of the built in Actors they began shooting at it again. Does anyone know why this is/how I can fix it?
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:34 am |
|
|
Unclesteve
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 3:27 am Posts: 7
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated Human
Sorry about the former error in the Subject. I typed it in a bit of a hurry.
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:50 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
Idea, call your actor the invisible man and release it.
If you have found a way to make them invisible to the enemy team without GetsHitByMos = 0 then I would like to see how.
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:52 am |
|
|
Unclesteve
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 3:27 am Posts: 7
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
Oh. haha. I have a very limited knowledge of programming and was trying to figure out an easy way to make a character invincible, so I turned GetsHitByMos to zero. I figured it would just make it immune to flying particles or grant some similar immunity. Oh well.
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:07 am |
|
|
Fire+Ice
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 5:59 pm Posts: 32 Location: In that can of sprite on your desk.
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
Unclesteve wrote: Oh. haha. I have a very limited knowledge of programming and was trying to figure out an easy way to make a character invincible, so I turned GetsHitByMos to zero. I figured it would just make it immune to flying particles or grant some similar immunity. Oh well. *Slaps self face* If you want a invincible clone that is immune to EVERYTHING(Except crushing under dropships)then take the value that says this: DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 130 JointStiffness = 0.5 and set it to this: DeepCheck = 0 JointStrength = 999999 JointStiffness = 0.5 (six 9s) The body part will not be damaged ever. You must do that for all the character's bodyparts if you want him to be invincible.
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:11 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
What happens if GetsHitByMos is set to 2?
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:11 pm |
|
|
gobbo_the_civet
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:41 am Posts: 78
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
Nothing, I`m guessing itll crash the game.
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:26 pm |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
This is how we discover new tricks, we set random variables to silly things, like 3562352395 or -267246.
|
Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:34 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
It's a boolean, you twit, having a value over 1 just acts as meaning 1.
|
Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:00 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
What if it's a negative number?
|
Sat Dec 15, 2007 2:34 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
TrouserDemon wrote: What if it's a negative number? Quote: It's a boolean, you twit AS IN IT IS EITHER ZERO OR ONE -1 would either crash or act as 0.
|
Sat Dec 15, 2007 4:49 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
Did you try it?
|
Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:10 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
YOU'RE NOT GETTING IT IT IS A BOOLEAN VARIABLE IT CAN ONLY REPRESENT TWO VARIABLES ONE AND ZERO ON AND OFF IT IS A BIT Quote: In computer science, the Boolean datatype, sometimes called the logical datatype, is a primitive datatype having one of two values: one and zero (which are equivalent to true and false, respectively) THERE IS NO TESTING INVOLVED THERE ARE NO SECRET FUNCTIONS TO BE ACCESSED FROM THIS EITHER GETSHITBYMOS IS TRUE, OR GETSHITBYMOS IS FALSE NOTHING ELSE. THERE ARE NO QUANTUM F***ING BITS IN CORTEX COMMAND. My CHRIST I hate you.
|
Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:16 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
So how come you can set things like gib impulse limit to values like 465365?
|
Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:18 am |
|
|
Sixteen
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:29 am Posts: 400
|
Re: Slight Problem With Templated
TrouserDemon wrote: So how come you can set things like gib impulse limit to values like 465365? Wow... That's because it's a different variable. Sometimes you scare me.
|
Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:20 am |
|
|
|