Author |
Message |
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Help me complete my first actor
I was creating my first actor but got some problems (mainly because all tutorials create mods using templates as a base, and it's really complicated if I want to do something different or start the coding from a scratch).
Now, could someone help me with the coding?
Last edited by Asklar on Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:35 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
What is the main problem?
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:37 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Apart from having pasted almost random chunks of codes to make it work, I keep getting an error which says: Error at line 273, could not match property blah blah bleuh.
So, I went to line 273 and it reads: FGArm = Arm.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 4:38 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Could you paste it in pastebin?
It's not always the exact line thats wrong.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:07 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Yeah, got it on pastebin, and analized the entire sector, and I can't check what's wrong. I had JumpTime = 5, the only variable related to jetpacks, and at first I though that was the problem, so I deleted it and tried again and it didn't work.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:11 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Edit: could i get a link?
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:27 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Why didn't I saw that one coming? http://pastebin.com/eSYXHsSi
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:31 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Code: Description = Tactical Transfers are ex-Marines that suffered the Stroggification Process, in which their limbs are replaced by robotic parts, enhancing their fighting skills. When the Neurocite is implanted and activated, the Tactical Transfer follows any command of the brain. Quick, resilient and strong, a good all-around soldier. no, dont put an empty line in between descriptions. Also turn wordwrap off, its confusing. Remove Jumptime. Code: HandGroup = AtomGroup // What atom groups are these In? CopyOf = HandGroup FGFootGroup = AtomGroup CopyOf = Foot BGFootGroup = AtomGroup CopyOf = Foot need to be fixed.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:58 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
How do I turn wordwrap off? And I didn't put any kind of space in between the lines, those went automatically (I guess).
And for the last part, no more random-code-copying-into-ini's.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:01 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Uh no, the code copying is done coders world wide, i swear, nobody types entire .inis anymore.
also in Notepad: Format -> Wordwrap make sure it isn't check marked.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:05 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Aaaahhhh, so that's what wordwrap do!
Ok, guess I'll start the codes over.
A couple of questions: 1) Do you know where I can get a template which is really flexible? 2) If I didn't sprite a jetpack, can I jetpack (the verb form of the word) anyway?
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:08 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
templates are extremely flexible, you can add things as you go along, keep posting here for questions on how. And yes, you can have a jetpack, but make sure to have the sprite defined as Null.bmp in base.rte
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:17 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
The jetpack part was a bit confusing. Mind explaining it more a bit?
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:18 am |
|
|
dragonxp
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:16 am Posts: 3032 Location: Somewhere in the universe
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
For example, you know how the Zombies can jump, right? Well its cause they have a invisible jetpack which is done by setting the sprite to a single magenta pixel. This invisible jetpack also shoots air particles which have their colour settings set to 255 0 255 [the magenta colour] and have HitsMOs and GetsHitByMOs = 0.
As a result you can make an invisible jetpack using the zombie's jump [called jump light in the pyro.ini in Base.rte/Effects/Pyro/Pyro.ini].
Using this as a template, create a decent jumptime and maybe lessen the amount of particles created. Be sure to define it later in your code.
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:22 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help me complete my first actor
Cool! That will surely help me for the "Grunt" actor I'll make later.
Thanks for the help, a lot. If I have the time to create the entire mod, when I post it you'll go in the credits.
I'll continue tomorrow. Thanks again!
|
Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:25 am |
|
|
|