This is coded into the scene by the person who made it, for whatever reason. Normally it is to prevent people just dropping ships into enemy bases, because that would be overpowered and silly.
If you really do want to bypass this, open the .ini file for the scene you want to win on, scroll down tot he bottom, and look for the "AddBox" section that refers to "LZTeam1" or something similar. Change the width of the box to cover the entire map, and hey presto, you're done.
Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:59 am
Exitialis
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:26 am Posts: 5
Re: Unrestricted Drop Down
Roast Veg wrote:
This is coded into the scene by the person who made it, for whatever reason. Normally it is to prevent people just dropping ships into enemy bases, because that would be overpowered and silly.
If you really do want to bypass this, open the .ini file for the scene you want to win on, scroll down tot he bottom, and look for the "AddBox" section that refers to "LZTeam1" or something similar. Change the width of the box to cover the entire map, and hey presto, you're done.
Thanks! Going to try it out at once.
Also I noticed there is an X and Y value, what are their purpose? Because I was thinking of putting 0 in X and Y and then 5000 or 50000 in the width and height value, so I could just copy and paste the same code in every scene for easy and quick modding. Will I mess something up if I make all the X and Y values into 0? Open spoiler.
Code:
// Team Landing Zones AddArea = Area AddBox = Box Corner = Vector X = 0 Y = 20 Width = 1200 Height = 60 Name = LZ Team 1 AddArea = Area AddBox = Box Corner = Vector X = 1200 Y = 20 Width = 1200 Height = 60 Name = LZ Team 2 AddArea = Area AddBox = Box Corner = Vector X = 2400 Y = 20 Width = 1200 Height = 60 Name = LZ Team 3 AddArea = Area AddBox = Box Corner = Vector X = 3600 Y = 20 Width = 1200 Height = 60 Name = LZ Team 4
//Free Landing Zone AddArea = Area AddBox = Box Corner = Vector X = 0 Y = 10 Width = 4800 Height = 60 Name = LZ All
No, you won't mess anything up at all. The X an Y values relate to the position of the top left hand corner of the box, so setting them to 0 would put it in the top left hand corner of the screen. One thing to note, though, is that the neither the Y value nor the height actually affect the positioning of where you can land, CC will automatically place you at ground level, even if it isn't in the box.
So, even excluding whatever Y or height values you put into there, provided you set the X value to 0, and the width to at least the width of the map you are placing it on, this code will work on all scenes in Cortex Command.
Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:05 pm
Lizardheim
DRL Developer
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am Posts: 4107 Location: Russia
Re: Unrestricted Drop Down
Don't worry in B25 it'll be over the brain, regardless of where it's placed.
Tue Aug 02, 2011 5:28 pm
Exitialis
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:26 am Posts: 5
Re: Unrestricted Drop Down
Roast Veg wrote:
No, you won't mess anything up at all. The X an Y values relate to the position of the top left hand corner of the box, so setting them to 0 would put it in the top left hand corner of the screen. One thing to note, though, is that the neither the Y value nor the height actually affect the positioning of where you can land, CC will automatically place you at ground level, even if it isn't in the box.
So, even excluding whatever Y or height values you put into there, provided you set the X value to 0, and the width to at least the width of the map you are placing it on, this code will work on all scenes in Cortex Command.
Ok, Thanks for your help!
Lizardheim wrote:
Don't worry in B25 it'll be over the brain, regardless of where it's placed.
Nice, but I hope it will still be modable to allow you to spawn where ever you want on the map.
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum