View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jul 03, 2024 8:04 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Freeze time 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Posts: 2932
Reply with quote
Post Freeze time
I'm requesting a script that would allow the player to freeze time during a match, but still be able to look around and issue AI modes to his units. Would this be possible? As an example, if you have played Mass Effect, you can freeze the time and select your powers, order commands for your squad mates or change weapons during that time. This would work similar except you can only look around in observation mode, switch between units and assign AI modes for them, order stuff from space, but nothing else as the time is frozen.

Alternatively(if above is impossible) I'm requesting a slow-motion toggle script that slows time to 1/4 of normal timescale when Z button is pressed. When Z is pressed again, time would return to normal.


I guess these scripts can be bound to the brain or something, but the point is that they can be used anytime during the game.


Sat Jun 26, 2010 12:53 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:57 am
Posts: 4886
Location: some compy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freeze time
Code:
function Create(self)
self.isSlowed = false --switch var
end

function Update(self)
if self:GetController():IsState(3) and not self.isSlowed then
--NOTE: slowmo is bound to "MOVE RIGHT" for now, cant remember how to do specific keys (look at darkstorm for that)
 TimerMan.TimeScale = TimerMan.TimeScale / 100;
 TimerMan.DeltaTimeSecs = TimerMan.DeltaTimeSecs / 100;
 --if this works (untested) it should prevent the game from getting VERY choppy, and instead make everything beautifully slow.
 self.isSlowed = true;
end
if self:GetController():IsState(4) and self.isSlowed then
--unslowmo is bound to "MOVE LEFT"
 TimerMan.TimeScale = TimerMan.TimeScale * 100;
 TimerMan.DeltaTimeSecs = TimerMan.DeltaTimeSecs * 100;
 self.isSlowed = false;
end
end
Should work, but just air-typed, not sure if its typo free or if setting deltatime ingame works. This slows it to 1 percent speed, which should be more than enough for setting AI modes etc. No idea how the interface will respond though, as I said, I haven't tried it.


Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:41 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:33 pm
Posts: 718
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freeze time
when say the z key is down save all the velocitys for every mo and make all the mos jump back to place every step.


Sat Jun 26, 2010 4:06 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:50 pm
Posts: 2175
Location: Neverwhere
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freeze time
O.O That's the best idea I've heard in a looong time.


Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:27 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.052s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]