Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Using AddObjectivePoint on an actor (SOLVED)
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=31603
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Djinn [ Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:22 am ]
Post subject:  Using AddObjectivePoint on an actor (SOLVED)

So we've all seen those flashing objective arrows in missions - I've tracked down their creation to AddObjectivePoint with a few variables. I want to attach that to an actor that you can just hire whenever, rather than in specific activities. When I try it gives me "attempt to call method 'AddObjectivePoint' (a nil value)' - is that a thing that can be done?

Author:  Bad Boy [ Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using AddObjectivePoint on an actor

Here you go, this'll work for anything in activity (I think).
Code:
local act = ActivityMan:GetActivity()
ToGameActivity(act):AddObjectivePoint("text", Position, Team, GameActivity.ARROWDOWN);

This can also be streamlined to one line as follows:
Code:
ToGameActivity(ActivityMan:GetActivity()):AddObjectivePoint("text", Position, Team, GameActivity.ARROWDOWN);

ARROWDOWN can also be ARROWUP and maybe a few others, sadly all the activity stuff is woefully documented.

Author:  Djinn [ Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using AddObjectivePoint on an actor

Works perfectly, thank you my man.

Author:  Djinn [ Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using AddObjectivePoint on an actor (SOLVED)

Okay, it works perfectly except that I just noticed once you kill the target that caused it to appear, the message does not disappear. How do you clear that message afterwards?

Author:  Bad Boy [ Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using AddObjectivePoint on an actor (SOLVED)

ToGameActivity(ActivityMan:GetActivity()):ClearObjectivePoints()
I think there might be a team argument in there though I don't remember at the moment. It works fine without one though.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/