Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
How to get parent http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=31557 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | TND [ Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | How to get parent |
I have a TDExplosive I am making, and I want it to get a reference to whoever is holding it, if at all. How can I do that? Thanks |
Author: | Roast Veg [ Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to get parent |
Code: MovableMan:GetMOFromID(self.RootID) |
Author: | TND [ Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:36 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to get parent |
What would I need to do? How do I get the ID of self? I'd assume you would check if self.RootID is equal to your own ID. Edit: Nevermind, found the documentation! Edit 2: No! D: It doesn't work. This code, in Update, just says 255 as the ID and the RootID, no matter what circumstances, or how many of the item there are: Code: print("ID: "..self.ID .. " Root: "..self.RootID) if self.ID ~= self.RootID then self.ParentActor = ToActor(MovableMan:GetMOFromID(self.RootID)) self.FutureTeam = self.ParentActor.Team end (I'm trying to find the team of the actor holding the TDExplosive) |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to get parent |
If your TDExplosive is GetsHitByMOs = 0, then it will always report its RootID and its own ID as 255. If an ID is 255, that means the object either doesn't exist any more or is GetsHitByMOs = 0. |
Author: | TND [ Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:38 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to get parent |
CaveCricket48 wrote: If your TDExplosive is GetsHitByMOs = 0, then it will always report its RootID and its own ID as 255. If an ID is 255, that means the object either doesn't exist any more or is GetsHitByMOs = 0. Okay, I understand now. I think I have this figured out. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |