Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
Help with LUA http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=23700 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Neutrality [ Thu May 12, 2011 5:43 am ] |
Post subject: | Help with LUA |
This is probably just a noob problem as I am very inexperienced with lua, what I'm trying to do is make an actor that gibs when it gets a certain distance to an enemy actor. Code: function Update(self) for actor in MovableMan.Actors do local distcheck = SceneMan:shortestDistance(self.Pos,actor.Pos,true).Magnitude if distcheck < 20 then self.ignoreteam = actor.Team self:GibThis() break end end end I'm just getting silent crashes when CC loads my .rte, can anyone help with this? |
Author: | Roast Veg [ Thu May 12, 2011 4:26 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
Lua does not cause silent crashes on startup as a general rule, but I can correct some errors for you. Code: function Update(self) for actor in MovableMan.Actors do local distcheck = SceneMan:shortestDistance(self.Pos,actor.Pos,true); if distcheck <= 20 then self.ignoreteam = actor.Team; self:GibThis() break end end end |
Author: | Grif [ Thu May 12, 2011 4:52 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
Roast Veg wrote: Lua does not cause silent crashes on startup Code: function Update(self) if self.timer then if self.timer:IsPastSimMS(500) then self.timer:Reset(); for actor in MovableMan.Actors do local distcheck = SceneMan:ShortestDistance(self.Pos,actor.Pos,true); if distcheck.Magnitude <= 20 and self.Team ~= actor.Team then self:GibThis(); break; end end else self.timer = Timer(); end end FTFY the timer code will make the game not lag so horrendously; looping through all actors every frame is terribly inefficient. |
Author: | zalo [ Thu May 12, 2011 6:24 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
To fix the silent startup crashes, you'll probably want to try grafting the Lua script onto a default actor and seeing if that works. If it does, then your problem is in your actor's .ini code. If it doesn't, check to make sure your "ScriptFile" leads to the proper location. |
Author: | Asklar [ Fri May 13, 2011 2:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
Wasn't it ScriptPath? |
Author: | Neutrality [ Fri May 13, 2011 4:23 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
It was the code causing the crashes, the script path was fine, problem now is: it loads fine, doesnt work and the console says error 'end' expected at line 16 'eof' even though there is an end at the eof... |
Author: | Asklar [ Fri May 13, 2011 4:29 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
That means that you have to add another end. If that doesn't work, remove the end. |
Author: | Neutrality [ Fri May 13, 2011 4:38 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
Well the script loads without any errors now, sadly it doesn't work, any ideas? Thanks for all the help btw. |
Author: | Xery [ Fri May 13, 2011 4:55 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
Neutrality wrote: Well the script loads without any errors now, sadly it doesn't work, any ideas? Thanks for all the help btw. Code: self:GibThis(); The script no more runs after its loader disappeared...right? |
Author: | Neutrality [ Fri May 13, 2011 5:05 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
I'm not sure what you mean? the script is exactly the same as the code grif posted... |
Author: | Xery [ Fri May 13, 2011 5:58 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
Is there any example of this in other mods? |
Author: | Neutrality [ Fri May 13, 2011 6:00 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
not sure, it should work just like a landmine of sorts except that its an ahuman actor |
Author: | Asklar [ Fri May 13, 2011 8:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Help with LUA |
That's wierd. It's not showing any errors at all? Could you post the code to check it, please. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |