Author |
Message |
Neutrality
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 5:35 am Posts: 11
|
Help with LUA
This is probably just a noob problem as I am very inexperienced with lua, what I'm trying to do is make an actor that gibs when it gets a certain distance to an enemy actor. Code: function Update(self) for actor in MovableMan.Actors do local distcheck = SceneMan:shortestDistance(self.Pos,actor.Pos,true).Magnitude if distcheck < 20 then self.ignoreteam = actor.Team self:GibThis() break end end end
I'm just getting silent crashes when CC loads my .rte, can anyone help with this?
|
Thu May 12, 2011 5:43 am |
|
|
Roast Veg
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm Posts: 4521 Location: Constant motion
|
Re: Help with LUA
Lua does not cause silent crashes on startup as a general rule, but I can correct some errors for you. Code: function Update(self) for actor in MovableMan.Actors do local distcheck = SceneMan:shortestDistance(self.Pos,actor.Pos,true); if distcheck <= 20 then self.ignoreteam = actor.Team; self:GibThis() break end end end
|
Thu May 12, 2011 4:26 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Help with LUA
Roast Veg wrote: Lua does not cause silent crashes on startup as a general rule, but I can correct some errors for you. Code: function Update(self) if self.timer then if self.timer:IsPastSimMS(500) then self.timer:Reset(); for actor in MovableMan.Actors do local distcheck = SceneMan:ShortestDistance(self.Pos,actor.Pos,true); if distcheck.Magnitude <= 20 and self.Team ~= actor.Team then self:GibThis(); break; end end else self.timer = Timer(); end end FTFY the timer code will make the game not lag so horrendously; looping through all actors every frame is terribly inefficient.
|
Thu May 12, 2011 4:52 pm |
|
|
zalo
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm Posts: 1496
|
Re: Help with LUA
To fix the silent startup crashes, you'll probably want to try grafting the Lua script onto a default actor and seeing if that works.
If it does, then your problem is in your actor's .ini code.
If it doesn't, check to make sure your "ScriptFile" leads to the proper location.
|
Thu May 12, 2011 6:24 pm |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help with LUA
Wasn't it ScriptPath?
|
Fri May 13, 2011 2:59 am |
|
|
Neutrality
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 5:35 am Posts: 11
|
Re: Help with LUA
It was the code causing the crashes, the script path was fine, problem now is: it loads fine, doesnt work and the console says error 'end' expected at line 16 'eof' even though there is an end at the eof...
|
Fri May 13, 2011 4:23 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help with LUA
That means that you have to add another end. If that doesn't work, remove the end.
|
Fri May 13, 2011 4:29 am |
|
|
Neutrality
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 5:35 am Posts: 11
|
Re: Help with LUA
Well the script loads without any errors now, sadly it doesn't work, any ideas? Thanks for all the help btw.
|
Fri May 13, 2011 4:38 am |
|
|
Xery
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am Posts: 163
|
Re: Help with LUA
Neutrality wrote: Well the script loads without any errors now, sadly it doesn't work, any ideas? Thanks for all the help btw. The script no more runs after its loader disappeared...right?
|
Fri May 13, 2011 4:55 am |
|
|
Neutrality
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 5:35 am Posts: 11
|
Re: Help with LUA
I'm not sure what you mean? the script is exactly the same as the code grif posted...
|
Fri May 13, 2011 5:05 am |
|
|
Xery
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am Posts: 163
|
Re: Help with LUA
Is there any example of this in other mods?
|
Fri May 13, 2011 5:58 am |
|
|
Neutrality
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 5:35 am Posts: 11
|
Re: Help with LUA
not sure, it should work just like a landmine of sorts except that its an ahuman actor
|
Fri May 13, 2011 6:00 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Help with LUA
That's wierd.
It's not showing any errors at all? Could you post the code to check it, please.
|
Fri May 13, 2011 8:55 pm |
|
|
|