Author |
Message |
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Scene height?
I want to spawn an emitter that fires lasers. The thing is that I want to spawn the pinned emitter from the very top of the map, so is there any function to get the height of the map?
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:51 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Scene height?
SceneMan.SceneHeight
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:52 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Scene height?
The top of the map is Y-position 0.
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:59 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Scene height?
Would this work for the position part?
HeightVar = SceneMan.SceneHeight self.Pos + Vector((i-30),HeightVar)
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:04 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Scene height?
Code: self.Pos + Vector((i-30),0) SceneMan.SceneHeight gets you the height of the map, but the 'zero' position starts at the top, and the Y-axis is upside-down (positive numbers down, negative above). Meaning, if you set the Y-position to be the scene's height, that would be the bottom of the map, not the top.
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:10 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Scene height?
If I put self.Pos + Vector((i-30),0), would that change the Y position?
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:18 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Scene height?
Vector((i-30),0) would have it at the scene's top. Having self.Pos added would have the y-axis the same as wherever "self" is on the y-axis.
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:23 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Scene height?
In this case I use (i-30) as the x position because I spawn a lot of emitters very near with a for loop to reduce the amount of stuff written into the lua. If instead I do Code: Laser.Pos.X = self.Pos.X + (i-30) Laser.Pos.Y = 0
, would that work?
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:28 am |
|
|
Coops
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:07 am Posts: 1545 Location: That small peaceful place called Hell.
|
Re: Scene height?
If you giving it a position relative to another position, shouldn't you constantly just give it a Y value of 0?
Damnit, you beat me to it.
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:30 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Scene height?
Quote: Vector(self.Pos.X + (i-30),0) Yah, pretty much. No need for extra variables though.
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:31 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Scene height?
I'm still learning Question. The top of the map is higher than the visible top of the map? If it is, by how much aprox.?
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:37 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Scene height?
Y-position 0 should be visible, and would be the top-most pixel you can see.
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:39 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Scene height?
Aahhh.
And at which position do crafts go back to TradeStar?
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:40 am |
|
|
CaveCricket48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm Posts: 13144 Location: Here
|
Re: Scene height?
About 50 pixels above 0. Not exactly sure the precise position.
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:45 am |
|
|
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
|
Re: Scene height?
This is odd. For some reason, I don't know where the emitters are spawning. I know they are being spawned, I can hear their emission's sound, but I don't know where they are. Code: function Create(self) -- placed this before to check if the particle was spawning. Lol x = math.random(200) if x > 1 then print(x) end end function Update(self)
for i = 1,60 do Laser = CreateAEmitter("Beam") Laser.Pos = Vector(self.Pos.X + (i-30),0) MovableMan:AddParticle(Laser) end end This is my code so far, and my guess is that there isn't any problem at all. What could it be?
|
Fri Apr 22, 2011 4:54 am |
|
|
|