Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
How to add a library in Lua http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=18893 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | How to add a library in Lua |
How do you add a library in Lua? I tried to read a few "tutorials." I could not understand them, and the examples they gave I couldn't get those to work. |
Author: | Petethegoat [ Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:10 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
I'm barely qualified to respond, but have you had a look at Lord Tim's IRC Scene? http://forums.datarealms.com/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=12079&start=0&hilit=irc+lord+tim He used LuaSocket there, so I assume it would apply to your situation. |
Author: | Grif [ Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
Short answer: use the require command. Depending on the library, it may actually already be included in the basic installation of CC. |
Author: | Daman [ Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:03 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
CaveCricket48 wrote: How do you add a library in Lua? I tried to read a few "tutorials." I could not understand them, and the examples they gave I couldn't get those to work. you should definitely post what library you're trying to "add" |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:05 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
This is the library I'm trying to add right now. Short test script: Code: allegro = require("ALLEG42") while 1 == 1 do if allegro:keystate(KEY_SPACE) then print("Space is pressed") end end And that results in this error (using SciTE) when I attempt to run it: Code: >lua -e "io.stdout:setvbuf 'no'" "Macro.lua" lua: error loading module 'ALLEG42' from file '.\ALLEG42.dll': The specified procedure could not be found. stack traceback: [C]: ? [C]: in function 'require' Macro.lua:1: in main chunk [C]: ? >Exit code: 1 I have the script and "ALLEG42.dll" in the same folder. |
Author: | Grif [ Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:58 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
I'm pretty sure the base filepath Lua refers to is the /Cortex Command/ directory. |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:06 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
Well, this isn't for cortex command. |
Author: | Geti [ Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:31 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
the base directory of whatever you're putting lua into. so if your .exe/binary, whatever was in /home/cricket/game/ you'd put the .dll there too. |
Author: | 411570N3 [ Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
If all else fails paste it into a bunch of places at once until it works then narrow down the folder from there. |
Author: | Daman [ Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
Quote: lua: error loading module 'ALLEG42' from file '.\ALLEG42.dll': The specified procedure could not be found. unless SCiTE is really that bad and calls file missing errors like this-- this seems to be more of a problem with the DLL you are using. "the specified procedure" could be referring to the necessary entry point. |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Sat Jun 05, 2010 7:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
I'm pretty sure the dll is in the right place, it's probably my lack of library operation that's causing this problem. Is there a setup or something that you need to do to the library before attempting to use it? |
Author: | Daman [ Sun Jun 06, 2010 5:31 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
this is a really bad library. I read some of the documentation. you really should just use LOVE if you want to render things in your own program. have you tried running their example? Quote: 5th of january, 2007. Release 0.39 version is ready. |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Sun Jun 06, 2010 5:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
Daman wrote: have you tried running their example? No. Daman wrote: Quote: 5th of january, 2007. Release 0.39 version is ready. That explains it. Daman wrote: you really should just use LOVE if you want to render things in your own program. I also need keyboard functions, too. Does LOVE have keyboard stuff? (haven't read much on it) Edit: Yep, it does. But I'm also trying to find something that can simulate a button "press" on the keyboard |
Author: | Geti [ Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:19 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
Simulate how? like, virtual keypresses? |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:45 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: How to add a library in Lua |
Yes. So if you have the program to use some key pressing function set to the key that "T" is on, and you open up Notepad and run the program, a "T" will appear in Notepad. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |