Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
Controlling guns remotely http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=17161 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Darlos9D [ Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Controlling guns remotely |
I remember a while back there was some telekinesis mod that let you have guns floating around you, and they would fire when you fire. I never really looked at how it worked, and now I'm interested. Rather than digging it up though, I think my question can be answered pretty simply. If I have script running on an actor, and in that script make a reference to a firearm object, can I make that firearm fire, reload, etc without it actually being held by an actor? If so, that'd make something I'm doing quite a bit easier. |
Author: | Grif [ Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Controlling guns remotely |
Fire, yes; it's just pointer:Activate(). I can't recall if there's a reload function, exactly, but I know that once it runs out of ammo the gun will reload as usual, even when not held. |
Author: | Foa [ Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:17 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Controlling guns remotely |
ITT 0 ammo + Activate = reload. And that is all I can say. |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:06 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Controlling guns remotely |
For some reason, gun:Activate() isn't working for me. The weapon catching part: Code: if not(MovableMan:IsDevice(self.gun)) then for item in MovableMan.Items do local itemavgx = item.Pos.X - self.Pos.X; local itemavgy = item.Pos.Y - (self.Pos.Y-15); local itemdist = math.sqrt(itemavgx ^ 2 + itemavgy ^ 2); if itemdist < 20 and item.ClassName == "HDFirearm" then self.gun = item; self.gotgun = true; if self.gun.GetsHitByMOs == true then self.gungethit = true; end end end end The firing part: Code: if MovableMan:IsActor(self.user) then self.gun.RotAngle = self.user:GetAimAngle(false); if self.user:GetController():IsState(Controller.WEAPON_FIRE) then self.gun:Activate(); end end |
Author: | Grif [ Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:08 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Controlling guns remotely |
try self.gun = ToHDFirearm(item); |
Author: | DSMK2 [ Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:52 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Controlling guns remotely |
I think this is the said mod: viewtopic.php?f=61&t=15917 |
Author: | CaveCricket48 [ Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:35 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Controlling guns remotely |
It works Grif, thanks. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |