Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Script loads without error, but does nothing.
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=16900
Page 1 of 1

Author:  StealthArcher [ Tue Oct 20, 2009 4:41 am ]
Post subject:  Script loads without error, but does nothing.

Code:
function Create(self)
   self.MyGun_Timer = Timer();
   self.PPTargetPosition = Vector (0,0);
   self.PPOverheatTimer = Timer();
   self.WaveEffect = 0;
   self.PPNumberOfAEmitters = 0;
   self.PPFireDistance = 0
end

function Update(self)
      if self.owner:GetController():IsState(Controller.WEAPON_FIRE) then
      local PPTheta = self.owner:GetAimAngle(true);
      self.PPFireDistance = Sceneman:CastObstacleRay(self.pos , Vector(math.cos(PPTheta)*200 , math.sin(PPTheta)*-200) , Vector(0,0) , Vector(0,0) , 0 , 0 , 0);
      if self.PPFireDistance < 0 then
         self.PPFireDistance = 200;
      end
      self.PPNumberOfAEmitters = (self.PPFireDistance/20);
      for i = 1, self.PPNumberOfAEmitters, 1 do
         if i ==1 then
            self.PPEmitter = {CreateAEmitter("MyGun Middle Line Burst")};
         else
            table.insert (self.PPEmitter , CreateAEmitter("MyGun Middle Line Burst"));
         end
         self.WaveEffect = math.random (-4,4);
         self.PPEmitter[i].Pos = (self.pos+Vector(math.cos(PPTheta)*(i*20),math.sin(PPTheta)*-(i*20))+Vector(math.cos(PPTheta)*(self.WaveEffect * -1),math.sin(PPTheta)*-(self.WaveEffect)));
         
      end
      self.PPEndEmitter = {CreateAEmitter("MyGun End Burst")};
      self.PPEndEmitter.pos = (self.pos+Vector(math.cos(PPTheta)*(self.PPFireDistance),math.sin(PPTheta)*-(self.PPFireDistance)));
      for i = 1, (self.PPNumberOfAEmitters - 1), 1 do
         self.PPEmitter[i].RotAngle = (math.tan((self.PPEmitter[i].Pos.Y-self.PPEmitter[(i+1)].Pos.Y)/(self.PPEmitter[i].Pos.X-self.PPEmitter[(i+1)].Pos.X)));
      end
   end
end


Some of the var and AEmitter names were changed. This is a mod contest project, so I guess I can't tell anyone what it is yet.

As said, the script loads no problems, but performs no action when the gun is fired. The script is linked to the HDFirearm, not any MOPixel or Emitter.

Author:  Geti [ Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Script loads without error, but does nothing.

linking a script to a HDFirearm doesnt work, as it is an attachable. self.owner is not defined at any point. two large problems.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/