Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
For loop http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=15878 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | TechnoGeek [ Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:17 pm ] |
Post subject: | For loop |
I am new to Lua but know some C++ and Java and know the standard for loop[ ex. for (x = 0;x < 100;x++)]. What does the for loop in lua do? [for player = 0, self.PlayerCount - 1 do]. Is it even a loop or just a statment? |
Author: | Duh102 [ Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
It does the same thing. Ex: Code: for actor in MovableMan.Actors do actor:GibThis(); end That is if you have a table of something though. Your syntax is correct for if you are going by variables. |
Author: | TechnoGeek [ Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:31 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
Thanks! |
Author: | Grif [ Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:18 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
Most of the time, however, in Lua, you won't need loops; an if statement inside an update function is going to run every single time the sim updates, which means that the only time you need a loop is to do more than one thing per frame. |
Author: | Kyred [ Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:38 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
If you need to do accumlating loops (like in your C++ example) you do: Code: for x = 1, 10, 1 do --blah end for x=1, 10, 1 do end ---> for(x = 1; x <= 10; x+=1) { } |
Author: | TechnoGeek [ Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:10 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
Thanks for the visual Kyred. Grif talked abou the update activity repeating itself. What causes the update activity to run, or what has to happen for the code to be executed? |
Author: | Grif [ Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:13 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
Anything in the update function of a particle will be executed on every sim update. |
Author: | TechnoGeek [ Sat Jul 18, 2009 2:30 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
What is a sim update. |
Author: | Grif [ Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:04 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
Every time the game's physics engine calculates anything. Each "step" the game goes through (roughly equal to a frame) the game recalculates the position of everything, collissions, etc. |
Author: | TheLastBanana [ Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:21 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
If it helps, the sim update is also run through a loop by the program itself. It's basically every time the screen's image changes at all. It's like a frame in an animation. |
Author: | TechnoGeek [ Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:15 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: For loop |
Thanks so much!!!! |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |