Author |
Message |
AgentBaron
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 11:48 pm Posts: 205 Location: The swamps of Stuporia!
|
Shallow pockets.
I'm having a hard time here. I want my boss character to always be equipped with a gun, but when I try to add another weapon to his inventory, nothing seems to happen. Here is the code I'm using: Code: if (MovableMan:IsInventoryEmpty(noswitchum)) then <tab>local NoswitchumWeaponList = {"AK-47", "Spas12", "YAK47"}; <tab>local noswitchumweapon = CreateHDFirearm(NoswitchumWeaponList[math.random(#NoswitchumWeaponList)]); <tab>noswitchum:AddInventoryItem(noswitchumweapon); end I've pondered that he's just not equipping the newly given gun, so I also tried noswitchum:SwapNextInventory(); but that isn't working either. Is there something I'm missing?
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:18 am |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
SwapNextInventory probably doesn't work. You should be giving it to him fine, though.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:19 am |
|
|
AgentBaron
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 11:48 pm Posts: 205 Location: The swamps of Stuporia!
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
Nope, no luck. And what's more is that it breaks the mission's endgame code so that the mission doesn't count as a win when he's dead, either. Boggles the mind, it does.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:59 am |
|
|
Darlos9D
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:50 am Posts: 1512 Location: Tallahassee, FL
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
For some reason AddInventory, when you create a new item and try to pass it in as an argument, just gives you an error. Its been getting in my way too. Hopefully updates will fix this.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:40 pm |
|
|
AgentBaron
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 11:48 pm Posts: 205 Location: The swamps of Stuporia!
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
Ah, okay. Yeah, because AddInventory seems to have worked fine for freshly spawned actors, but I've never seen it update an actor's inventory in real-time. I guess I'll just have to settle with a character that can be disarmed before his health hits 50 or one holding an indestructible version of a gun.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 5:08 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
AddInventory works completely fine when run inside scenes; it could be an error with pointing to MOs correctly? No idea, but rest assured that I've added weapons to an actor while running the main game.
|
Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:08 pm |
|
|
AgentBaron
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 11:48 pm Posts: 205 Location: The swamps of Stuporia!
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
Did you manage that in Build 22 or 23? I've been making my stuff on Build 22; do you think the build number might have something to do with it?
If you can make it happen, then there's got to be something CC doesn't like about my code.
|
Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:36 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
Uh, build 23? You know, the latest one, where ♥♥♥♥ works fine?
Although I duplicated code from TLB's Body Ladder scene, which works fine in B22.
|
Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:34 pm |
|
|
AgentBaron
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 11:48 pm Posts: 205 Location: The swamps of Stuporia!
|
Re: Shallow pockets.
Crap works fine on Build 23? Gee, I'd have never guessed. Anyway, thanks for the help. I seem to be following TLB's example fine, I guess I just need to keep messing with it and see what happens. At least I'm on the right track.
|
Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:17 pm |
|
|
|