Data Realms Fan Forums http://45.55.195.193/ |
|
Shallow pockets. http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=15184 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | AgentBaron [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:18 am ] |
Post subject: | Shallow pockets. |
I'm having a hard time here. I want my boss character to always be equipped with a gun, but when I try to add another weapon to his inventory, nothing seems to happen. Here is the code I'm using: Code: if (MovableMan:IsInventoryEmpty(noswitchum)) then <tab>local NoswitchumWeaponList = {"AK-47", "Spas12", "YAK47"}; <tab>local noswitchumweapon = CreateHDFirearm(NoswitchumWeaponList[math.random(#NoswitchumWeaponList)]); <tab>noswitchum:AddInventoryItem(noswitchumweapon); end I've pondered that he's just not equipping the newly given gun, so I also tried noswitchum:SwapNextInventory(); but that isn't working either. Is there something I'm missing? |
Author: | Grif [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:19 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
SwapNextInventory probably doesn't work. You should be giving it to him fine, though. |
Author: | AgentBaron [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
Nope, no luck. And what's more is that it breaks the mission's endgame code so that the mission doesn't count as a win when he's dead, either. Boggles the mind, it does. |
Author: | Darlos9D [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:40 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
For some reason AddInventory, when you create a new item and try to pass it in as an argument, just gives you an error. Its been getting in my way too. Hopefully updates will fix this. |
Author: | AgentBaron [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 5:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
Ah, okay. Yeah, because AddInventory seems to have worked fine for freshly spawned actors, but I've never seen it update an actor's inventory in real-time. I guess I'll just have to settle with a character that can be disarmed before his health hits 50 or one holding an indestructible version of a gun. |
Author: | Grif [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
AddInventory works completely fine when run inside scenes; it could be an error with pointing to MOs correctly? No idea, but rest assured that I've added weapons to an actor while running the main game. |
Author: | AgentBaron [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:36 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
Did you manage that in Build 22 or 23? I've been making my stuff on Build 22; do you think the build number might have something to do with it? If you can make it happen, then there's got to be something CC doesn't like about my code. |
Author: | Grif [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:34 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
Uh, build 23? You know, the latest one, where ♥♥♥♥ works fine? Although I duplicated code from TLB's Body Ladder scene, which works fine in B22. |
Author: | AgentBaron [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:17 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Shallow pockets. |
Crap works fine on Build 23? Gee, I'd have never guessed. Anyway, thanks for the help. I seem to be following TLB's example fine, I guess I just need to keep messing with it and see what happens. At least I'm on the right track. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |