View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 26, 2024 6:33 pm



Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 Scene height? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:52 pm
Posts: 13144
Location: Here
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene height?
Are your emitters facing in the right direction?


Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:06 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene height?
Actually, the particles they emit have 0 speed, I made the particles move down with lua.

Code:
function Create(self)
   self.RandomVarSpeed = math.random(10)
   self.Vel.X = 0
   self.Vel.Y = 10 * self.RandomVarSpeed
end


Last edited by Asklar on Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:21 am, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:09 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene height?
Wait a second, I fixed that problem.

For testing purposes, I gave the emitters very low lifetime to produce less lag, but it's lifetime was so low that it didn't have time to emit particles.

But I found another problem.

As I was using a null sprite for the emitter, I didn't notice where the emitters were being positioned. I gave it the HullA sprite, and realised that the emitters are positioned about 50 pixels above the particle.

What is going wrong with that?


Edit: LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

I don't know why, the file I was saving was a .txt, so every change I made wasn't made to the lua. Why the hell that happens I don't know, but now I got it working. =P.

THANKS CaveCricket!!!


Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:19 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:07 am
Posts: 1545
Location: That small peaceful place called Hell.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene height?
Just give it a really high Y value, also why not just make it spawn the beam particle instead of an emitter that spawns it?

God im late for everything.


Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:06 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Scene height?
Spawning the particles directly? Hm...

I'll definately try that, maybe I can solve some lag issues with it.


Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:12 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.123s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]