Author |
Message |
Coops
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:07 am Posts: 1545 Location: That small peaceful place called Hell.
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
Yeah I just noticed it doesnt work too. Seeing in other missions where bombs do rain, they also had names so I dont think you can get them to disapear.
What you could do is just give the bomb a really high or really low offset making the name not visible. I havent tested that though so unsatisfactory things might happen.
|
Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:04 pm |
|
|
Raseri
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:46 pm Posts: 13
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
Are you sure that you have enough width of the map? I would first placed a bomb on a map, and only then activate it. Code: function Create(self) self.bombVar = 1 self.bombTime = Timer(); self.bombingTime = Timer(); end function Update(self) if self.bombVar == 1 then if self.bombingTime:IsPastSimMS(500) then -- set to lower number for more bombs self.bomb = CreateTDExplosive("Standard Bomb", "Coalition.rte"); MovableMan:AddItem(self.bomb); self.bomb:IsActivated(); self.bomb.Pos = Vector(math.random(200),-20); self.bombingTime:Reset(); end end if self.bombTime:IsPastSimMS(10000) then -- set to higher number for longer bombing time self.bombVar = 0 self.ToDelete = true end end Now it works. But I do not know what function can give map width. The program needs some work.
|
Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:18 pm |
|
|
Coops
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:07 am Posts: 1545 Location: That small peaceful place called Hell.
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
First of all, Vectors work as
(X,Y)
and your giving it the scene's width as the Y value. Also as for our Inconvenience, SceneMan.SceneWidth or SceneHeight dont seem to wanna work, same thing with Scene.Width/Height.
Your better off with what Geti gave you.
|
Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:56 pm |
|
|
findude
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:10 pm Posts: 495 Location: Uncertain quantum state
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
Stop using self variables when there's no need to keep them stored over updates.
|
Fri Dec 24, 2010 11:59 pm |
|
|
Laraso
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:40 pm Posts: 97
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
Coops9753 wrote: First of all, Vectors work as
(X,Y)
and your giving it the scene's width as the Y value. Also as for our Inconvenience, SceneMan.SceneWidth or SceneHeight dont seem to wanna work, same thing with Scene.Width/Height.
Your better off with what Geti gave you. Actually, Nonsequitorian's way worked. I'm using it instead of the 10000 now. I still don't know how to get rid of the names... Should I just make the preset name a bunch of spaces? EDIT: Actually, then the arrows would still show up...
|
Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:09 am |
|
|
findude
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:10 pm Posts: 495 Location: Uncertain quantum state
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
Make them MOSRotatings or even TDExplosives that you activate when spawning them?
|
Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:15 am |
|
|
Laraso
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:40 pm Posts: 97
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
I've tried that already, it doesn't work.
I uploaded the weapon, if anyone can get the names to disappear that would be great.
|
Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:20 am |
|
|
blargiefarg
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:04 am Posts: 149 Location: Under your bed
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
Also, instead of it being a TDExplosive, you could make it a MOSRotating, and make it gib into all of your bomb stuff
|
Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:55 pm |
|
|
Mehman
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:38 pm Posts: 909 Location: France
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
self:Activate(); will activate the TDExplosive and therefore make the name disappear.
|
Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:09 am |
|
|
Laraso
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:40 pm Posts: 97
|
Re: Trying to make bombs rain from the sky
Thanks, that worked.
|
Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:28 am |
|
|
|