Simple Lua requests thread.
Author |
Message |
zalo
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm Posts: 1496
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
So how would I make it so something happens if a certain ship isn't currently in the scene, but it is "CreateACRocket"ed so it is defined.
And how do I detect if there are no actors on a team except for the brain in an "if" statement.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:05 am |
|
|
Tayrtahn
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:03 am Posts: 10
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
zalo wrote: So how would I make it so something happens if a certain ship isn't currently in the scene, but it is "CreateACRocket"ed so it is defined. MovableMan:IsActor( actor) will return true if the actor has a physical model in the scene. So, Code: if not MovableMan:IsActor(ship) then -- do stuff end Quote: And how do I detect if there are no actors on a team except for the brain in an "if" statement. Loop through the actors in the scene - if any are on the right team and are not a brain, you have your answer. Something like Code: local check = true; for actor in MoveableMan.Actors do if actor.Team == 0 and MovableMan:IsAssignedBrain(actor) then check = false; end end
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:27 am |
|
|
Avatar
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 9:15 pm Posts: 4
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
OK, so I was playing the Force Unleashed Demo, and I was thinking, what if with Lua, we could use force powers??? Do you guys think it would be very hard once we get B22 with mods with Lua? Because that would be a really neat mod...
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:28 am |
|
|
ProjektODIN
Banned
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:09 pm Posts: 432
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
Avatar wrote: OK, so I was playing the Force Unleashed Demo, and I was thinking, what if with Lua, we could use force powers??? Do you guys think it would be very hard once we get B22 with mods with Lua? Because that would be a really neat mod... Yes, cause the adaptation of Lua will make it possible to do things NEVER DONE BEFORE WITH CC. [sigh]
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:29 am |
|
|
Tayrtahn
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:03 am Posts: 10
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
Avatar wrote: OK, so I was playing the Force Unleashed Demo, and I was thinking, what if with Lua, we could use force powers??? Do you guys think it would be very hard once we get B22 with mods with Lua? Because that would be a really neat mod... Yeah, that should be doable. The only thing holding us back now is the inability to have a trigger for it. Something like a force push would be pretty easy to script.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:31 am |
|
|
zalo
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm Posts: 1496
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
Thanks, That worked! Here are some other questions I have, Mr.Tay. 1. What would the script be if I wanted any AHuman that I've spawned to follow a path with defined way points with Lua. 2. A DelayTimer so the If Statement doesn't run infinitely fast until the If is false or if I need a delay between two actions that are triggered by the same thing. 3. If you know, How does the Code: SetObservationTarget code work? Does it only apply after there are no actors left to switch to? Could I use it for Cutscenes so it zooms to different parts of the level with the timer I mentioned earlier?
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:04 am |
|
|
The Fat Sand Rat
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:56 am Posts: 1191 Location: outside the shithole called the University in the Forest
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
Is it possible to make a box which reduces the velocity of all craft and robots to zero and keeps it there, but does not effect clones or crabs? Interference zone, ♥♥♥♥ yeah.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:15 am |
|
|
TheLastBanana
DRL Developer
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:27 am Posts: 3138 Location: A little south and a lot west of Moscow
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
ProjektODIN wrote: Avatar wrote: OK, so I was playing the Force Unleashed Demo, and I was thinking, what if with Lua, we could use force powers??? Do you guys think it would be very hard once we get B22 with mods with Lua? Because that would be a really neat mod... Yes, cause the adaptation of Lua will make it possible to do things NEVER DONE BEFORE WITH CC. [sigh] Actually, in this case, it would. Take a look at this post on the dev log: http://www.datarealms.com/devlog/cortex ... a-console/It shows off the ability to change an object's velocity. So force throws and such = probably yes. Holding people up might not.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:33 am |
|
|
The Fat Sand Rat
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:56 am Posts: 1191 Location: outside the shithole called the University in the Forest
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
Holding people up is as simple as using a gravity gun from the Pheonix (sic) pack. It may also gib the actor, but it works. Kinda.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:19 am |
|
|
robowurmz
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:09 am Posts: 163
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
TheLastBanana wrote: Actually, in this case, it would. Take a look at this post on the dev log: http://www.datarealms.com/devlog/cortex ... a-console/It shows off the ability to change an object's velocity. So force throws and such = probably yes. Holding people up might not. If we managed to get the direction the actor was aiming, we might be able to calculate how far away we should hold up an object and in what position. Then, after we have changing positions as we walk and look around, we can have it move the enemy actor's position to that position: updating frequently to give the impression he's being held up.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:32 am |
|
|
NickFury666
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:49 pm Posts: 189
|
Lua Idea
So, I was wondering, would it be possible to make a scene where if you pressed a certain button, time would reverse? I think it would be amazingly awesome, but I understand that it may be impossible.
Another cool thing might be toggle-able gravity.
(I didn't put this in simple lua requests because I'm pretty sure they aren't simple.)
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:33 pm |
|
|
Electroclan
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:39 am Posts: 521
|
Re: Lua Idea
Simple requests are mostly "Simple" because of the lack of input the original poster puts in the project. So yes, this would be a simple request.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:30 pm |
|
|
NickFury666
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:49 pm Posts: 189
|
Re: Lua Idea
Electroclan wrote: Simple requests are mostly "Simple" because of the lack of input the original poster puts in the project. So yes, this would be a simple request. Fair enough.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:02 pm |
|
|
zalo
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:11 pm Posts: 1496
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
I tried doing Fat Sand Rat's Idea about Craft Velocity interference, and I thought it'd look like this Code: if rocket.ClassName == "ACRocket":WithinArea("Stopper", rocket.Pos) then rocket.Vel.Y = 0; rocket.Vel.X = 0; end
if DShip.ClassName == "ACDropShip":WithinArea("Stopper", DShip.Pos) then DShip.Vel.Y = 0; DShip.Vel.X = 0; end But it expects a "then" near the ":". Could a more experienced Lua-er tell me what I did wrong, and if you could answer my other questions that I posted earlier in the thread so I can start making serious maps, that'd be just dandy.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 11:47 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Simple Lua requests thread.
for actor in MovableMan.Actors do if actor.ClassName == ACRocket then actor.Vel = 0 end
if actor.ClassName == ACDropship then actor.Vel = 0 end end
Should work. Improperly tabbed, though.
|
Thu Aug 28, 2008 11:58 pm |
|
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|