Author |
Message |
Nerfer2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm Posts: 31
|
Startup problem
Alright, my cortex command keeps on saying it aborted for whatever reason. It doesn't even go to the loadup. So, I put all my mods in a seperate folder, uninstalled, and reinstalled it from the site. I didn't add any mods back. This is really getting under my skin.
THe error is
Abortion in file ./System/Reader.ccp, line 531, because:
Wrong type in Reader when passed to Serializable::Create() in Base.rte/Settings.ini at line 184!
THe last frame has been dumped to 'abortscreen.bmp'
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:59 pm |
|
|
p3lb0x
Forum Moderator
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:53 pm Posts: 1896 Location: in my little gay bunker
|
Re: Startup problem
Something is wrong in settings.ini. Please post the file without registration info
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:18 pm |
|
|
Nerfer2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm Posts: 31
|
Re: Startup problem
Sure, but how does it still happen if I reinstalled it.
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:28 pm |
|
|
PhantomAGN
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:40 am Posts: 610 Location: Deep below The Map of Mars
|
Re: Startup problem
The fresh install probably looks like this: Code: Fire = InputMapping KeyMap = 8 MouseButtonMap = 0 JoyButtonMap = 0 StickMap = 0 AxisMap = 2 DirectionMap = 0 Aim = InputMapping KeyMap = 10 <<<<<<< line 184 JoyButtonMap = 1 AimUp = InputMapping KeyMap = 23 AimDown = InputMapping
That makes no sense.
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:59 pm |
|
|
Nerfer2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm Posts: 31
|
Re: Startup problem
What doesn't make sense? That the new install doesn't work, or that code doesn't make sense?
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:20 pm |
|
|
MaximDude
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm Posts: 2073
|
Re: Startup problem
Actually, a fresh install will look like this: Code: Settings ResolutionX = 640 ResolutionY = 480 TrueColorMode = 1 PaletteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Base.rte/palette.bmp Fullscreen = 0 NxWindowed = 2 PostProcessing = 1 PostPixelGlow = 1 PixelsPerMeter = 20 PlayIntro = 1 ConsoleScreenRatio = 0.4 DeltaTime = 0.0166667 RealToSimCap = 0.075 HSplitScreen = 0 VSplitScreen = 0 DefaultActivityType = GAScripted DefaultActivityName = Zombie Cave MaxUnheldItems = 25 EnableParticleSettling = 1 EnableMOSubtraction = 1 SoundVolume = 41 MusicVolume = 100
It does not include any input settings until you first start CC. If it crashes on line 184, it probably means that your 'Settings.ini' file is corrupted and/or ♥♥♥♥ up by a mod causing everything after line 183 to vanish. Reinstall.
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:54 pm |
|
|
Nerfer2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm Posts: 31
|
Re: Startup problem
MaximDude wrote: Actually, a fresh install will look like this: Code: Settings ResolutionX = 640 ResolutionY = 480 TrueColorMode = 1 PaletteFile = ContentFile FilePath = Base.rte/palette.bmp Fullscreen = 0 NxWindowed = 2 PostProcessing = 1 PostPixelGlow = 1 PixelsPerMeter = 20 PlayIntro = 1 ConsoleScreenRatio = 0.4 DeltaTime = 0.0166667 RealToSimCap = 0.075 HSplitScreen = 0 VSplitScreen = 0 DefaultActivityType = GAScripted DefaultActivityName = Zombie Cave MaxUnheldItems = 25 EnableParticleSettling = 1 EnableMOSubtraction = 1 SoundVolume = 41 MusicVolume = 100
It does not include any input settings until you first start CC. If it crashes on line 184, it probably means that your 'Settings.ini' file is corrupted and/or ♥♥♥♥♥♥ up by a mod causing everything after line 183 to vanish. Reinstall. I DID reinstall
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:58 pm |
|
|
MaximDude
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:19 pm Posts: 2073
|
Re: Startup problem
Nerfer2 wrote: I DID reinstall Didn't notice that... And it still does the Line 184 error? I really don't see how it could still do that when a fresh 'Settings.ini' doesn't even have a line 184... Try installing in a different location or something, I dunno.
|
Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:13 pm |
|
|
Nerfer2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm Posts: 31
|
Re: Startup problem
Ok now I can't even ♥♥♥♥ download.
"C:/Users/*name*/Downloads/csssetup23(5).exe.part could not be save because the source file could not be read.
Try again later or contact the server administrator"
|
Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:20 am |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Startup problem
If you notice DRL is having server problems.
|
Sat Apr 03, 2010 1:53 am |
|
|
Shook
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:43 pm Posts: 1695 Location: AH SHIT FUCK AUGH
|
Re: Startup problem
Don't quote me on this, but it might be caused by not having writing permissions in the CC folder. Try going under Properties, untick Read Only if it's ticked in any way, go to the Security tab and give everyone at least writing permission. I know that Windows has a terrible habit of making things read-only, and that CC needs the folder to not be read-only if it is to run properly.
|
Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:33 pm |
|
|
Ragdollmaster
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:09 am Posts: 1115 Location: Being The Great Juju
|
Re: Startup problem
Honestly, this happens to me maybe 1 in 5 times that I start up CC. It's a problem with the Player 4 controls, IIRC; everything from "Piemenu =" down is suddenly gone, right? Just paste this in, starting on Line 184: Code: PieMenu = InputMapping KeyMap = 11 MouseButtonMap = 1 Jump = InputMapping KeyMap = 12 Crouch = InputMapping KeyMap = 73 Next = InputMapping KeyMap = 21 Prev = InputMapping KeyMap = 25 Start = InputMapping KeyMap = 0 Back = InputMapping KeyMap = 0 That works for me, at least.
|
Sat Apr 03, 2010 6:20 pm |
|
|
Nerfer2
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:42 pm Posts: 31
|
Re: Startup problem
LOLNEWPROBLEM Cortex Command WILL NOT download at all for me. I really want to give up on this but I love this damned game too much.
|
Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:08 pm |
|
|
Duh102
happy carebear mom
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:40 am Posts: 7096 Location: b8bbd5
|
Re: Startup problem
That's something up on your end, the download works fine for me.
|
Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:30 pm |
|
|
PhantomAGN
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:40 am Posts: 610 Location: Deep below The Map of Mars
|
Re: Startup problem
|
Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:59 pm |
|
|
|