Author |
Message |
le-mec
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:29 am Posts: 21
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
The account on the computer I'm using to play CC is the admin account... I wish it were that easy. But thanks anyways -- I guess as long as they're lookin' into the problem it's good enough for me - I'll try to wait patiently. venn177 wrote: Holy ♥♥♥♥. It looks like you've got a problem that's actually a problem, rather than someone breaking something.
Try uhh... ♥♥♥♥ dude... try drawing art until Data decides to fix it for you? :3 Now there's an idea...
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:25 am |
|
|
undertech
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:26 am Posts: 202 Location: Near Aloha
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Ha ha that's a good one! Don't make the art too funny or else there will be no incentive to ever fix the problem! (for the slow: I am kidding)
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:29 am |
|
|
venn177
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:35 am Posts: 3778 Location: Largo, Florida
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
I ♥♥♥♥ love you le-mec.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 2:57 am |
|
|
Lord Tim
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:55 pm Posts: 1178 Location: America!
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
As far as debugging goes, you could always do this: Go into the Maginot script (Missions.rte/Scenes/Scripts/Maginot.lua) Put this line of code in the the Update function at the beginning and end: Code: ConsoleMan:SaveAllText("debugging.txt") Then run that mission. This should overwrite the last one each time, and give you an up to date view of the console, and any errors it gives out before it dies. If no file is created at all, that means it's either crashing in the Start function, or it's a non-Lua related error. If it does give you a file, that should tell you what the error is.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:17 am |
|
|
le-mec
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:29 am Posts: 21
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Lord Tim: Wow, thanks for your help! Ah, I have SOME programming experience so I can try and follow any instructions you give me. Okay, I went into Maginot.lua and inserted at line 89: Code: function MaginotMission:UpdateActivity() -- START Lord Tim's Crash Diagnostic Function ConsoleMan:SaveAllText("debugging.txt") -- END Lord Tim's Crash Diagnostic Function -- Avoid game logic when we're editing if (self.ActivityState == Activity.EDITING) then -- Don't update the editing, it's being done already by GameActivity -- self:UpdateEditing(); return; end -------------------------- -- Iterate through all human players
No debugging.txt files were generated within the Cortex Command installation directory (or subfolders, for that matter) -- I also checked my "C:\Documents and Settings\<username>" directory. I hope I did it right. By the way, the first map in the campaign is the Tutorial Bunker, so just in case, I also tried inserting at Line 104 of Testscript.lua: Code: ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -- Update Activity -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
function TutorialMission:UpdateActivity() -- START Lord Tim's Crash Diagnostic Function ConsoleMan:SaveAllText("debugging.txt") -- END Lord Tim's Crash Diagnostic Function-- print("UPDATE! -- TutorialMission:Update()!"); -------------------------- -- Iterate through all human players I ran the Campaign and the Skirmish, and searched for the debugging files both times, but it seems nothing was generated. Lemme know if you get any other ideas!
Last edited by le-mec on Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:16 am |
|
|
venn177
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:35 am Posts: 3778 Location: Largo, Florida
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
le-mec wrote: Lord Time: Wow, thanks for your help! Ah, I have SOME programming experience so I can try and follow any instructions you give me.
It's just Tim, not Time. Also this really sucks, I know at this point I'm not even helping, but I want to make sure you don't disappear for six months again taking your art with you.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:19 am |
|
|
Lord Tim
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:55 pm Posts: 1178 Location: America!
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Well. That's all I can do. Unfortunately, that means there's something wrong with the hardcoded portion. You did say that the game crashes when the pie menu is opened... Maybe you're missing the pie menu icons? (Cortex Command\Base.rte\GUIs\PieIcons)
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:21 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
In the video you can see the pie menu appear, but then it crashes, so it isn't missing icons.
I suggest making a new user account and seeing if it works in that.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:25 am |
|
|
undertech
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:26 am Posts: 202 Location: Near Aloha
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Is that reflection on the desktop thing a Vista feature? Might want to try turning all the UI graphics off and trying again. You never know...
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:38 am |
|
|
le-mec
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:29 am Posts: 21
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Quote: It's just Tim, not Time. Oh SHI- le_mec_FAIL++; Sorry. Lord Tim wrote: Well. That's all I can do. Unfortunately, that means there's something wrong with the hardcoded portion. You did say that the game crashes when the pie menu is opened... Maybe you're missing the pie menu icons? (Cortex Command\Base.rte\GUIs\PieIcons) Let's see... I have 96 BMP images in that directory, each one is 1,224 bytes large. TrouserDemon wrote: In the video you can see the pie menu appear, but then it crashes, so it isn't missing icons.
I suggest making a new user account and seeing if it works in that. Oh, hey... I have another machine I should try this on... ... All right, it works just fine ( a bit choppy ) on my 1 Ghz Tablet PC. Then the problem is definitely something on MY machine or MY set-up. Gonna try that new user account thingy. undertech wrote: Is that reflection on the desktop thing a Vista feature? Might want to try turning all the UI graphics off and trying again. You never know... Oh, that Hall Of Mirrors effect is being caused by my video capture program (VirtualDub) - I've only opened it for the purposes of recording the crash. Otherwise, I leave it off.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:46 am |
|
|
le-mec
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:29 am Posts: 21
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Okay, tried a new user account... Still crashes.
Tried SAFE MODE -- oh, now this was different. Cortex command shows a black screen and stays that way forever. It can't even be closed.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:34 am |
|
|
TrouserDemon
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm Posts: 1871 Location: UK
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Ok, we've established that it's not something you've done then, if default settings still crash it.
Must be some obscure hardware error.
I don't imagine a fix will be forthcoming, unless other cases emerge.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:49 am |
|
|
le-mec
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:29 am Posts: 21
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Oh well...
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:42 am |
|
|
venn177
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:35 am Posts: 3778 Location: Largo, Florida
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Oh my God le-mec please don't leave.
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:41 pm |
|
|
undertech
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:26 am Posts: 202 Location: Near Aloha
|
Re: Crashing when starting a new Campaign
Ha ha! For a while I thought those grenades were mangos
|
Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:24 pm |
|
|
|