Author |
Message |
1nfernal
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:06 am Posts: 163 Location: Sweden
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
rditto48801 wrote: *wall 'o' text* Things I have noticed if I have 2 or more AAM Cannons at the same time. 1: On occasion, only 1 will fire missiles, the others do not fire at all. 1A: Only 1 will fire missiles, but it fires more often, as if one or more of the others are still working, but all launching from a AAM Cannon. 2: On occasion, a missile deployed by the first stage will go after either another AAM Cannon, or the AAM Cannon that launched the first stage in the first place. 3: Relating to 1, 1A and 2, many/all of the AAM Cannons suddenly fire normally, but most of the missiles go after the AAM Cannon that launched them or adjacent AAM Cannons, usually taking out all but one of the launcers, with the one that was firing normally all along being the usual survivor.
The AAM Cannons were on the ground during these incidents, the hit AAM Cannons were the only things in the missile's path. At least one instance saw missiles making an active attemp to seek an AAM Cannon right next to the launching AAM Cannon, the missile had to make a sort of ? shaped path to hit, so it was obviously targeting the adjacent AAM Cannon. These 'friendly fire' instances seem to mainly occur when there are no enemy craft on the map, including 3. Another instance had a potential friendly fire incident, but an enemy craft appeared as a missile was halfway back down to an AAM Cannon, and it turned to go after the newly arrived enemy craft that was some 2 screens worth away. *wall 'o' text* Having two lua-using actors that are not programmed to work properly if you have more than one usually causes lot's of problems.
|
Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:41 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
Which is why people who don't know about locals shouldn't be releasing mods. Here's looking at you, whitty.
|
Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:43 pm |
|
|
DrLuke
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:01 pm Posts: 56
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
Yes, the lua-part of this mod is really wonky and hard to realize with CC-Lua. Problem is that I have to "transfer" the team-variable from first stage to the actual missile. I have to use a global variable being set to the team-number as the first stage explodes, then have second stage set self.team to this variable and then set the variable back to nil again, all within 2 lua-updates. It's something I really don't like, and why I decided to stop working on this mod for now.
Also thanks to rditto48801 for this REALLY detailed post! I am aware of ALL of these issues. I limited all AAMs to only have a maximum of 1 missiles in air for each team. (also it caused the whole thing to bug sometimes, creating a new missile every frame (i.e. hundreds of missiles at once))
So, yeah, it's all pretty badly coded, but CC-Lua has it's problems: Take an actor and have it "print(self.team)" in "Destroy(self)". You'll be surprised it'll always print you -1, no matter what team he was in before being killed/destroyed/atomized.
|
Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:40 pm |
|
|
p3lb0x
Forum Moderator
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:53 pm Posts: 1896 Location: in my little gay bunker
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
Alternatively you could just spawn the second stage with Lua rather than gibbing it
|
Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:15 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
DrLuke wrote: Yes, the lua-part of this mod is really wonky and hard to realize with CC-Lua. Problem is that I have to "transfer" the team-variable from first stage to the actual missile. I have to use a global variable being set to the team-number as the first stage explodes, then have second stage set self.team to this variable and then set the variable back to nil again, all within 2 lua-updates. It's something I really don't like, and why I decided to stop working on this mod for now.. parent object: local hmissile = CreateAEmitter("Missile Child","Your.rte"); hmissile.Pos = self.Pos MovableMan:AddParticle(hmissile); hmissile.PresetName = tostring(self.Team); self:GibThis() or self.ToDelete = true child object: self.team = tonum(self.PresetName); voila booyah etc
|
Thu Sep 24, 2009 7:29 am |
|
|
DrLuke
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:01 pm Posts: 56
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
Ka-ZING!
Will try that later!
Thanks!
|
Thu Sep 24, 2009 12:40 pm |
|
|
Grif
REAL AMERICAN HERO
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:25 pm Posts: 5655
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
It's a neat trick, since both GoldCost and PresetName can be used as variable storage space.
|
Thu Sep 24, 2009 2:46 pm |
|
|
ScifiSpirit
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:04 pm Posts: 42
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
It's probably best to stuff it all in Cannon.lua, because the launcher has to first find the target anyway before launching missile, so then the missile doesn't have to find it again. And the next stage depends on the previous stage, so it makes sense IMO. You also wouldn't need to worry about passing variables around.
|
Thu Sep 24, 2009 10:03 pm |
|
|
DrLuke
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:01 pm Posts: 56
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
I did what Grif said, and that's the result. That "Print:0" is a print(AAM.PresetName), so it's set to 0. The problem seems to be with the tonum, as it doesn't work! What shall I do? EDIT: Oh yeah, it's "tonumber", not "tonum" ScifiSpirit wrote: It's probably best to stuff it all in Cannon.lua, because the launcher has to first find the target anyway before launching missile, so then the missile doesn't have to find it again. And the next stage depends on the previous stage, so it makes sense IMO. You also wouldn't need to worry about passing variables around. Not quite correct: The Launcher only finds POSSIBLE targets in a set range!
|
Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:46 pm |
|
|
DrLuke
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:01 pm Posts: 56
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
Released Version 1.2
New features: More than 1 launcher at once is shooting missiles now!
Last edited by DrLuke on Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
|
Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:53 pm |
|
|
ZevN47
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 2:31 am Posts: 217 Location: Earth... I think
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
Um... where is it?... I can't seem to find version 1.3
|
Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:04 am |
|
|
411570N3
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 10:26 am Posts: 4074 Location: That quaint little British colony down south
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
The link at the top of the page is the new version; the OP just forgot to change the second digit.
|
Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:29 am |
|
|
DrLuke
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:01 pm Posts: 56
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
It was just a typo, 1.2 is the newest version. Sorry for that!
|
Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:59 pm |
|
|
10050
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 4:25 am Posts: 167 Location: Hopefully in front of a gaming platform of some kind
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
This is a really cool mod, an anti air launcher is now a staple to my bases. However, i do have one complaint. Is it necessary that the missiles self-destruct if the target they were going after is destroyed before it can get there? I'd rather that they just keep going until they hit something, or the the thrusters shut off, etc. Just blowing up in mid-air just seems weird to me.
|
Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:40 pm |
|
|
CrazyMLC
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:20 am Posts: 4772 Location: Good news everyone!
|
Re: Anti Air Missile
It is a safety measure so that they do not accidentally hit your own units.
|
Wed Sep 30, 2009 9:42 pm |
|
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|