Multi Purpose Medium Tank [b25 update]
Author |
Message |
Jackal
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:23 am Posts: 213 Location: Somewhere over the rainbow of public acceptance.
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I love this thing. It's a blast to use (literally), and I think the sprites look fine. In fact, I rather enjoy the aesthetic feel of the "static-y mess". Very nice job!
|
Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:56 pm |
|
|
Poor mans sniper
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:40 am Posts: 208 Location: Hiding in a freezer at Wal-mart
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
Could you make a small map/mission with a wide, open area and a few bunker targets to practice with? EDIT: Also, EMP rounds.
|
Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:26 am |
|
|
jlac
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 4:18 am Posts: 12
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I went and looked at the older versions of this to see if they would work any better than this one. I don't know how much this will help, but prototypes I, II, and III all work great once I remove the space at the end of this line in the ACRockit, so whatever you did in prototype IV broke it. Code: ScriptPath = Tank.rte/Deployer.lua Prototype III was awesome though. It seemed kind of odd that the incendiary grenade launched straight up, especially since anyone who gets too close will be shredded by the engines anyway. It was a lot of fun trying to see what weapons would work well against it. I think the only ones I found were the Rotary Laser from Shadow Aspect and the Dummy Annihilator, although if you hit the tank just right with the Rocket Propelled Chainsaw(which ignores the shield) it kind of gets stuck in the tank for a few seconds and leaves an enormous number of dents, which was pretty funny to watch. I've also been able to fix the problem of the main gun basically being melee range by changing this line in shell.lua Code: if self.gun.GoldValue == 11013555 and math.sqrt(((self.Pos.X-self.gun.Pos.X)^2) + ((self.Pos.Y-self.gun.Pos.Y)^2))<200 then to Code: if self.gun.GoldValue == 11013555 and math.sqrt(((self.Pos.X-self.gun.Pos.X)^2) + ((self.Pos.Y-self.gun.Pos.Y)^2))<20 then or Code: if self.gun.GoldValue == 11013555 and math.sqrt(((self.Pos.X-self.gun.Pos.X)^2) + ((self.Pos.Y-self.gun.Pos.Y)^2))>200 then I was also able to record another lua error. Code: ERROR: the attribute 'TDExplosive.PresetName' is of type: (const string&) and does not match: (nil)
ERROR: no overload of 'UInputManager:KeyPressed' matched the arguments (UInputManager, nil) candidates are: UInputManager:KeyPressed(number) When I first buy a tank it throws the first error at least once every tick. I think when I started hitting number keys it stopped throwing the first error and started throwing the second one instead.
|
Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:12 am |
|
|
Xery
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am Posts: 163
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
So what make it crash(not mac compatible) is importing data from ini files using lua? download/file.php?id=37253please try this and tell if those hotkeys work fine or not.
|
Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:26 am |
|
|
Mehman
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:38 pm Posts: 909 Location: France
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
Based on your comments I tried to make it more mac compatible, please test this and tell me if it works. download/file.php?id=37260To customize the keys open Tank.lua and modify these lines: Code: self.FlamerKey = 38;
self.AmmoChangeKey = 40;
self.GrenadeKey = 37;
self.MGKey = 39;
self.MissileKey = 41;
self.MGAimKey = 42; You have a list of key numbers in keys.ini.
Last edited by Mehman on Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Mon Jun 06, 2011 11:20 am |
|
|
jlac
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 4:18 am Posts: 12
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
Mehman: Awesome, that seems to have fixed everything. I had to change the keys myself, but that's just because my Macbook doesn't have a numpad, not something you need to fix. The only possible problems I can find now are that the main gun has infinite ammo, while prototype III did not. I don't know if this is a bug or something you deliberately changed. Other than that, I would turn off the deepcheck on the tank, it's a little strange having it be able to dig through the ground or someone's bunker like that. Also, because you use the gold value to identify the tank I can order a drop ship, pick up the tank, and return it to the tradestar for lots of money. I'll let you decide if this is a good thing or not. Xery: Almost everything seems to work. I don't know what SuspendedMode and ReflectShield are supposed to do, but I didn't notice anything change when I hit the buttons for them. The Deadly Pulse and Instagib Pulse do send out a pulse of particles, but they don't have any effect on enemy actors. Also, you have an error in GShotX.lua, line 13. It looks like it should be a pretty easy fix though. If you want additional advice on the mod you should probably start a new topic.
|
Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:57 pm |
|
|
Xery
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am Posts: 163
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I'll release it soon, but not about to sell my mod here at all. Sorry for that though, if you do consider my behavior as it. As your reply, Mehman can use another way to import data from ini files, which I'd learned from Darkstorm mod and should work on mac. That's the point.
edit:Oh, forgot to say thank about the advices.
|
Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:25 pm |
|
|
killowatt
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:17 pm Posts: 20 Location: United States
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I love this tank, but it seems to make my FPS drop a lot. No, not when firing or anything, just it in general, floating around.
|
Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:19 am |
|
|
blargiefarg
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:04 am Posts: 149 Location: Under your bed
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I dunno about the rest, but Kettenkrad, I honestly love that sprite, but yes, that cylinder in the middle would look nice if it had a rotating animation.
|
Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:49 am |
|
|
Thriller
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 4:24 am Posts: 146 Location: Somewhere in Ohio
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I love this tank, but when are going to make a muli purpose Heavy Tank?
|
Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:56 pm |
|
|
Squeegy Mackpy
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:16 am Posts: 186 Location: Australia
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I just had an incredibly drawn out battle using only one tank against an endless swarm of my RETARDS. It goes without saying that for the most part it is ♥♥♥♥ incredible, but that doesn't stop me from having a few niggles about it aswell. Based soley on personal preference, I'd suggest that you;
1. Tone down the damage done by each round. They're crazily overpowered!
2. A Better distinction between HE and AP. AP should have a directed charge, not just obliterate a small (but still too large) circle. HE's explosion can be both larger and less powerful.
3. Add an ammo count for each ammo type. For example, a tank could start with 20AP, 20HE, 5 of some special type, 1 of an incredibly powerful type.
4. A reload time (and sound!) for the main gun.
5. But, above all, work on destructibility.
Personally I'd remove the healing ability. It's what makes the tank practically indestructible, as any work the AI manages to do while the sheild is down is removed within a few seconds. Even without healing it's ridiculously strong anyway. Panels, engines, guns, vulnerable looking components, that box on the back of the turret? could be individually damagable, with consequences for them getting destroyed. Most of all when the tank is finally brought down it should have a far better death than it does currently. Needs to leave a flaming corpse, throw some gibs, etc. I'm thinking it should gib into a flaming corpse which drops to the ground and explodes after a few seconds. - I could do that part if you want me to <3
|
Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:29 pm |
|
|
jlac
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 4:18 am Posts: 12
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
killowatt wrote: I love this tank, but it seems to make my FPS drop a lot. No, not when firing or anything, just it in general, floating around. I had the same thing happen the first time I used the flame thrower. Even after all of the fires had burned out, the game was running very slowly, although it claimed to be getting 70+ FPS when 50-60 FPS is usually the best I can get even on an empty scene. For some reason after I reset the mission the flame thrower didn't do this again.
|
Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:41 pm |
|
|
Miggles
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am Posts: 4558
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
It is an easy fix, but I noticed that a lot of your mods use numpad hotkeys. Seeing as almost all computers these days have either both a numpad and and number line, or just the latter, that it would be easier for everyone if the default keys were set for a numline. Just a thought.
|
Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:33 pm |
|
|
Mehman
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:38 pm Posts: 909 Location: France
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
I have a whole week of exams starting in 4 days, so I won't be working on my mods for a while, but I will come back to it later.
|
Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:37 am |
|
|
GuardianTempest
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:53 am Posts: 67 Location: Philippines
|
Re: Multi Purpose Medium Tank
Dang man!! This took out a Zombot in a single shot!!(HE)
Meanwhile I used this in ArmorAssault and it sliced through concrete like a snowplow. Great job really!!
Though the only thing that insta-gibbed this is a Rod-from-God Strike.
|
Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:37 pm |
|
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|