Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

Removing brain drop zone restriction
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=25454
Page 1 of 1

Author:  NeoSeeker [ Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:58 am ]
Post subject:  Removing brain drop zone restriction

This is really annoying because back before it was implemented i could drop my peeps off behind enemy lines. now if i want to do that i have to make an elaborate underground tunnel system and use a brain bot, which in itself is so cumbersome it's not even worth it

Author:  yourebuying [ Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Removing brain drop zone restriction

Honestly I think the demo had the ideal arrangement.

Now we're seeing basically the opposite of what you're describing because you'll see AI dropships appear right above your newly placed brain and empty out a bunch of troops before you have a chance to do anything at all.

If the player is restricted in their drop zones, there should be some minimum distance away allowable for enemy dropships, especially in the beginning.

You're basically forced to play the game one way only when enemies constantly appear a short distance away, it basically eliminates any sort of strategic element at all.

Author:  Gotcha! [ Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Removing brain drop zone restriction

It's probably / hopefully something that will be fixed.
I don't mind an extra area around your brain where you can drop off stuff, but it shouldn't cancel out any other areas I designated for the player to land on. My mappack is a mess right now. -_-
And, yes, the AI should never land straight on top of the player's brain. It leads to a game over very quickly.

Hopefully this'll be addressed soon. :???:

Author:  akblabla [ Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Removing brain drop zone restriction

Quote:
And, yes, the AI should never land straight on top of the player's brain. It leads to a game over very quickly.

Hopefully this'll be addressed soon.


Good thing I made a fix to this. Look in the scene release. It is "alternative skirmish".

On topic

There are luckily fixes to this issue

You could make an activity using this script

Code:
    self:SetLZArea(Activity.TEAM_1, SceneMan.Scene:GetArea("LZ Team 1"));
    self:SetLZArea(Activity.TEAM_2, SceneMan.Scene:GetArea("LZ Team 2"));
    self:SetBrainLZWidth(Activity.PLAYER_1, 0);
    self:SetBrainLZWidth(Activity.PLAYER_2, 0);
    self:SetBrainLZWidth(Activity.PLAYER_3, 0);
    self:SetBrainLZWidth(Activity.PLAYER_4, 0);


This enables the old way of fixed landingzones (This I think would fix all your problems Gotcha :)). However we need a method of making areas with lua if we want to have landing zones covering the whole map without editing them. Hope this helps anyone.

Author:  NeoSeeker [ Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Removing brain drop zone restriction

okay now how do i do this with b26?

Author:  bioemerl [ Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Removing brain drop zone restriction

Id like the zone to be able to be separately chosen

and then the ai can drop anywhere but your zone and 100 pixels or so around it. So you get to chose your zone in a landing area on your base, and the Ai cant just drop a hundred units right there.

Author:  NeoSeeker [ Sun Sep 18, 2011 9:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Removing brain drop zone restriction

that's kind of how it is right now, on all my skirmish games with b26 so far they seem to only drop pretty far away from my base.

Author:  akblabla [ Sun Sep 18, 2011 11:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Removing brain drop zone restriction

bioemerl wrote:
Id like the zone to be able to be separately chosen

and then the ai can drop anywhere but your zone and 100 pixels or so around it. So you get to chose your zone in a landing area on your base, and the Ai cant just drop a hundred units right there.



Try out my mod. It will something like what you request. Just a bit more dynamic :)

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=25425&p=434736#p434736

I know it is a bit ass'y to advertise my own mod, but you should try it out.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/