View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 28, 2024 5:50 pm



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Hi I'm Dennis, I'm new. I found out a way to map controllers 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:26 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Hi I'm Dennis, I'm new. I found out a way to map controllers
and by map, I mean, having a button for aming, and a button for crouching and a button for jetpacking just to awoid all that annoying stuff with trying to crawl up a ladder and ending with falling down by it. go to (if default location) C:\Program Files\Data realms\Cortex Commander\Base.rte\Settings.ini and when you open that you will see at line 27 that it says "P1Scheme = inputscheme" and under that you see some of your previous mapping, now i can tell you that the mapping for the Xbox controller is

Code:
JoyButtonMap = 0 // A
JoyButtonMap = 1 // B
JoyButtonMap = 2 // X
JoyButtonMap = 3 // Y
JoyButtonMap = 4 // LB
JoyButtonMap = 5 // RB
JoyButtonMap = 6 // Back
JoyButtonMap = 7 // Start
JoyButtonMap = 8 // left Analog-pad thing you press down and hear a 'click' sound witch is a button
JoyButtonMap = 9 // right version of above

AxisMap = 0 // X-axis
AxisMap = 1 // Y-axis
AxisMap = 2 // shoulder bumpers (LT n' RT)

StickMap = 0 //the left analog
StickMap = 2 //the right analog
StickMap = 3 // the '+' D-pad

DirectionMap = 0 // means left if at X axis down if Y axis and Left shoulder bumper if AxisMap = 2
DirectionMap = 1 // oposit of above


here is how I mapped mine.

Code:
P1Scheme = InputScheme
      // 0 = Keyboard only, 1 = Mouse + Keyboard, 2 = Joystick One, 3 = Joystick Two, , 4 = Joystick Three, 5 = Joystick Four
      Device = 2
      LeftUp = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 23
         StickMap = 0
         AxisMap = 1
         DirectionMap = 0
      LeftDown = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 19
         StickMap = 0
         AxisMap = 1
         DirectionMap = 1
      LeftLeft = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 1
         StickMap = 0
         AxisMap = 0
         DirectionMap = 0
      LeftRight = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 4
         StickMap = 0
         AxisMap = 0
         DirectionMap = 1
      RightUp = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 23
         StickMap = 2
         AxisMap = 0
         DirectionMap = 0
      RightDown = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 19
         StickMap = 2
         AxisMap = 0
         DirectionMap = 1
      RightLeft = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 1
         StickMap = 1
         AxisMap = 0
         DirectionMap = 0
      RightRight = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 4
         StickMap = 1
         AxisMap = 0
         DirectionMap = 1
      Fire = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
         MouseButtonMap = 0
         JoyButtonMap = 5
      Aim = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
         JoyButtonMap = 0
      AimUp = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
         StickMap = 3
         AxisMap = 1
         DirectionMap = 0
      AimDown = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
         StickMap = 3
         AxisMap = 1
         DirectionMap = 1
      AimLeft = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
      AimRight = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
      PieMenu = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
         MouseButtonMap = 1
         JoyButtonMap = 6
      Jump = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 23
         StickMap = 0
         AxisMap = 2
         DirectionMap = 1
      Crouch = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 19
         JoyButtonMap = 4
      Next = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 5
         JoyButtonMap = 9
      Prev = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 17
         JoyButtonMap = 8
      Start = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0
         JoyButtonMap = 7
      Back = InputMapping
         KeyMap = 0


so I hope this is enough to welcome myself onto the site, I saw some post mentioning the need of this ability(to map the controller better) and then i thought, why not do that.

I don't hope this has been done before, and I also hope I posted this in the right section (because it isn't really a mod...) if I failed at 1 or more of the above I am very sorry about that.

I will answer any questions you'd have :D


(I've also made a little faction, but more on that later)



oh and about that introduction, Hi I'm Dennis. I'm a programmer and have worked with animation and programming since i was 8 (so thats 11 years of working with programming). I got this game from the humble indie bundle, I had my eye at it for quiete some time, but I'm betweene jobs at the moment so i don't have the largest quanteties of money available.

Edit: so I fixed some things and here's an illustration of it.

Image


Last edited by DennisBo on Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:42 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:17 pm
Posts: 318
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hi I'm Dennis, I'm new. I found out a way to map controllers
Or you could just use the ingame options and do exactly the same, but much easier.


Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:06 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:26 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hi I'm Dennis, I'm new. I found out a way to map controllers
joost1120 wrote:
Or you could just use the ingame options and do exactly the same, but much easier.
nope, if you try to configure the controller you can't put up and crouch on their respective own buttons, many have been anoyed about the lack of precission as well, and this fixes that too.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:46 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:14 am
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hi I'm Dennis, I'm new. I found out a way to map controllers
nice, i hope this gets added to the available configs.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:29 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:17 pm
Posts: 318
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hi I'm Dennis, I'm new. I found out a way to map controllers
You can, but you just need to specify it as a NES controller.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:27 pm
Profile
DRL Developer
DRL Developer

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 10:29 am
Posts: 4107
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Hi I'm Dennis, I'm new. I found out a way to map controllers
Nope you can't use configs from the NES layout together with configs from the thumbstick one with ingame configs.

With this you can afaik.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:35 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.047s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]