Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

[FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17520
Page 1 of 1

Author:  dragonxp [ Fri Jan 08, 2010 1:31 am ]
Post subject:  [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

Granting Thor's request.
ProjektTHOR wrote:
I am sorry to necro the ♥♥♥♥ out of this topic, but I think this is a really good topic to have in the FAQ. If someone would be kind enough to write up a well-formatted solution to this request, I will see that it gets pasted into the FAQ.


Removing AI Spawn from Skirmish.

________________________________________________________________
Ever had to test a gun but had enemies come and screw up your attempts?
Ever just wanted a sandbox?

Ya, sometimes playing without the AI may seem Necessary.
________________________________________________________________

So heres how to do it:

First find the Skirmish Activities.ini file in the missions.rte
In here: c:/Program Files/Cortex Command/Missions.rte

After, copy Skirmish Activities.ini and paste it, rename it something else; such as Skirmish Activities_BackUp.ini

Then open the file in notepad.
You should see this:

Code:
AddActivity = GABaseDefense
   PresetName = Skirmish Defense
   SceneName = Grasslands
   TeamCount = 2
   PlayerCount = 1
   TeamOfPlayer1 = 0
   TeamOfPlayer2 = 1
   FundsOfTeam1 = 900000
   FundsOfTeam2 = 900000
   CPUTeam = 1
   Difficulty = 3
   SpawnIntervalEasiest = 20000
   SpawnIntervalHardest = 8000

   
//Ronin
   
   AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip
      CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Ronin/Sandra
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Ronin/Bazooka
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Ronin/Glock
         AddInventory = HeldDevice
            CopyOf = Ronin/Riot Shield
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Ronin/Medium Digger
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Ronin/Gordon
         AddInventory = HDFirearm etc..........


Then delete everything under the spawn intervals.

Code:
AddActivity = GABaseDefense
   PresetName = Skirmish Defense
   SceneName = Grasslands
   TeamCount = 2
   PlayerCount = 1
   TeamOfPlayer1 = 0
   TeamOfPlayer2 = 1
   FundsOfTeam1 = 900000
   FundsOfTeam2 = 900000
   CPUTeam = 1
   Difficulty = 3
   SpawnIntervalEasiest = 20000
   SpawnIntervalHardest = 8000
*snip*

________________________________________________________________
Alternative Way:

Add /* to behind the first add AttackSpawn and the last line.
Like this:

Thanks for 411570N3 for reminding me.
________________________________________________________________
Code:
AddActivity = GABaseDefense
   PresetName = Skirmish Defense
   SceneName = Grasslands
   TeamCount = 2
   PlayerCount = 1
   TeamOfPlayer1 = 0
   TeamOfPlayer2 = 1
   FundsOfTeam1 = 900000
   FundsOfTeam2 = 900000
   CPUTeam = 1
   Difficulty = 3
   SpawnIntervalEasiest = 20000
   SpawnIntervalHardest = 8000

   
//Ronin
   
/*   AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip
      CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Ronin/Sandra
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Ronin/Bazooka
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Ronin/Glock
         AddInventory = HeldDevice
            CopyOf = Ronin/Riot Shield
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = Ronin/Medium Digger
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Ronin/Gordon
         AddInventory = HDFirearm etc.......... etc...

 /*               [last line]

________________________________________________________________
Alternative Way 2
________________________________________________________________

You know the recently created mod manager and Activities manager? Well after opening the interface, you can go on to just delete all the spawns.
Steps:
1. Open Cortex Command Mod Manager
2. Click the Skirmish Waves tab
3. Right click a spawn to bring out the "Panel" menu.
4. Push delete
5. repeat process.

________________________________________________________________
Alternative Way 3
________________________________________________________________

MaximDude wrote:
The fastest and easiest way to do this is with SneakyMax's CC Mod Manager.

To disable enemy spawn open the manager, hit 'File', then check the 'Enable Enhanced Skirmish' box, hit 'OK' and close the manager.

To enable enemy spawn back, just uncheck the box.


Thnks to MaximDude for faster way to do Alternative way 2.
________________________________________________________________
Well, if you don't like killing your own soldiers you can also do this:
________________________________________________________________
Code:
AddActivity = GABaseDefense
   PresetName = Skirmish Defense
   SceneName = Grasslands
   TeamCount = 2
   PlayerCount = 1
   TeamOfPlayer1 = 0
   TeamOfPlayer2 = 1
   FundsOfTeam1 = 900000
   FundsOfTeam2 = 900000
   CPUTeam = 1
   Difficulty = 3
   SpawnIntervalEasiest = 20000
   SpawnIntervalHardest = 8000

   
//Ronin
   
   AddAttackerSpawn = ACDropShip
      CopyOf = Drop Ship MK1
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Ronin/Sandra


yeah this basically makes Drop Ships with unarmed Sandras in it, feel free to change it to anything else.

TROUBLESHOOTING

- Make sure you didn't delete ANYTHING over the Spawn Intervals.
- Make sure in the index.ini that its not commented out, in case the error is from a mod's Activities.ini
- Make sure if your using windows Vista, to have your Copy of Cortex Command installed onto the desktop. Files cannot be edited in the program files.
- If nothing works, delete the file and rename the backup in Skirmish Activities.ini
- When using the Mod Manager/ Activities manager, it will comment out Skirmish Activities.ini and Mission Activities.ini, A good idea is to remove the // in front of it.
- If worst comes to worst, Back up your mods and reinstall Cortex Command.
- IF NONE OF THESE WORK, THEN, AND ONLY THEN, MAKE A THREAD ABOUT IT [or post in this thread], otherwise ill rage about it.

Thanks for contributions:
-411570N3, alternative way.

Author:  411570N3 [ Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

Would block commenting work instead?
Try just putting a /* where you've put the snip and trying that. It's much more easily reversed.
You could then put the unarmed Sandra blocks above the /*.

Author:  dragonxp [ Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

Woops, forgot about that. Ok ill add.

Author:  411570N3 [ Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

You don't actually need the second thing (*/).
When it reaches the end of the .ini it will just move onto the next and automatically stop the comment.

Author:  Grif [ Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

You don't need it, but it's still better to have it syntactically. Relying on your parser to either A: automatically close comments or B: magically know to end comments is not the best way to approach any kind of programming, mild though CC's .ini files are.

Shortcuts are one thing, bad syntax that could end up more confusing for an end user with no practical difference is another thing entirely.

Author:  joost1120 [ Sat Jan 09, 2010 1:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

Could someone please upload the index and the activities? I have no idea what I did, but somehow, nothing spawns... I mean, It's not uncommented ( or something).

Author:  dragonxp [ Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

So I'm taking you want these files:
1. Missions.rte/Index.ini
2. Missions.rte/Skirmish Activities.ini

Conveniently Packaged in a rar:

Attachments:
File comment: Here ya go
Activities.rar [1.32 KiB]
Downloaded 481 times

Author:  joost1120 [ Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

hmm weird... It's still not working.

Author:  dragonxp [ Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

just reinstall :D.

Author:  MaximDude [ Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

The fastest and easiest way to do this is with SneakyMax's CC Mod Manager.

To disable enemy spawn open the manager, hit 'File', then check the 'Enable Enhanced Skirmish' box, hit 'OK' and close the manager.

To enable enemy spawn back, just uncheck the box.

Author:  TorrentHKU [ Sat Jan 09, 2010 9:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

Yes, but doing so also turns off all campaign missions, and it doesn't work on some mods such as Unitec. I think he's fixing that though.

Author:  Denwa [ Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

The easiest and simplest Way I've found is to check in all of your Vanilla (and some Mod) .rte folders and comment out the activities (via //) in the Index.ini's. Easy if you jsut want to test out your weapons. And just make a map of a simple bunker with an enemy actor already there means loading then placing. Simple and easy, plus it works too :grin:

@Hyperkultra - the problem with Uni-tec is that it automatically has the Vanilla activities activated so even if you remove the default ones it'll still have the original actors. You'll have to comment it out for it not to load.

Author:  411570N3 [ Fri Jan 15, 2010 4:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

Erm...
Not loading activities just causes a crash when you try to start skirmish.

Author:  dragonxp [ Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: [FAQ] No Enemy Spawn.

which is why i didn't add to FAQ, but maybe i should add it into the trouble shooting.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/