Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

How To Use: The Gib Editor + Stackable Shells: The Solution
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9103
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Electroclan [ Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:33 am ]
Post subject:  How To Use: The Gib Editor + Stackable Shells: The Solution

Gib Editor:

Basicly, a paste from my post in the Build 19 Testing forum. Here as a topic so all may see it.


Makeshift Gib Editor Tutorial
This tutorial assumes you know what 'define' means.

To begin using the Gib Editor on your mod, some preparation is needed:



Preparation!

First, open up the .rte of the mod you want to run through the Gib Editor. For example: I want to run my Super Duper Weapon through the Gib Editor, so I would open superduperweapon.rte

In the .rte, create a new folder and name it NewData.

Then, if you have any custom gibs you want to use in the Gib Editor, you need to copy the code of those gibs and put them in Base.rte/Effects/Gibs/Gibs.ini. Code goes in Gibs.ini. Be sure your custom gibs are assigned to a group (AddToGroup = Gib Legacy), otherwise you can't see them on the menu!

There, all set!



The Gib Editor


..is really easy to use.

Load up the object you wish to gib from the menu (i.e. superduberweapon), and it will appear partially transparent. You can then add gibs to it, including the custom ones you may or may not have added. You can remove gibs, test gibs, etc etc.. all in the pie menu.

When you are satisfied with the gibbing, save it using the pie menu. It should ask if you want it to save in yourmod.rte/NewData (((For example, saving superduberweapon would ask me if it wanted to save in superduberweapon.rte/NewData))).

Hit yes, then hit yes again.. etc etc.. it's all very easy.



Now what?

Pay attention, it gets a bit more difficult here and I am assuming you know where an object's gibbing is defined (Hint: bottom of the object's code)

Open up the NewData folder and you should see a new YOURMOD.ini in it. Open it up and you'll see some code. This is the gibbing code, nothing more nothing less. After you are done copying it, go back to the original .ini in which your object resides.

Copy the code (All of it, EXCEPT for the InstanceName and the line above it) and paste it over the original gibbing code in your object's code, don't paste over GibWoundLimit and such. Save.

And there! You're done, go gib stuff.


Where's the 'original' gibbing code that I have to paste over?

...

Code:
AddDevice = HDFirearm
   InstanceName = SUPER DUPER WEAPON LOLOL
   AddToGroup = Weapons
   Mass = 2554846534
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 1
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = Base.rte/Devices/Cannons/Long.bmp
   FrameCount = 2
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -18
      Y = -5
   EntryWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   ExitWound = AEmitter
      CopyOf = Dent Metal
   GoldValue = 730324234
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 4
      Depth = 0
   DeepGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 4
      Depth = 10
   DeepCheck = 1
   JointStrength = 75
   JointStiffness = 0.5
   JointOffset = Vector
      X = -8
      Y = 3
   DrawAfterParent = 0
   StanceOffset = Vector
      X = 6
      Y = 6
   SharpStanceOffset = Vector
      X = 9
      Y = 2
   SupportOffset = Vector
      X = 0
      Y = 5
   SharpLength = 400
   Magazine = Magazine
      CopyOf = Magazine Cannon
      ParentOffset = Vector
         X = -3
         Y = 4
   Flash = Attachable
      CopyOf = Muzzle Flash Shotgun
   FireSound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = Base.rte/Devices/Cannons/BlamWhoshClick.wav
         
   EmptySound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = Base.rte/Devices/EmptyClick3.wav
   ReloadStartSound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = Base.rte/Devices/ReloadStart.wav
   ReloadEndSound = Sound
      AddSample = ContentFile
         FilePath = Base.rte/Devices/ReloadEnd.wav
   RateOfFire = 5023432424
   ReloadTime = 1
   FullAuto = 1
   FireIgnoresThis = 1
   ShakeRange = 14
   SharpShakeRange = 1
   NoSupportFactor = 5
   ParticleSpreadRange = 3
   ShellSpreadRange = 8
   ShellAngVelRange = 0
   MuzzleOffset = Vector
      X = 19
      Y = 0
   EjectionOffset = Vector
      X = -1
      Y = -1

___---ORIGINAL GIB CODE BEGINS HERE, PASTE OVER THIS---___

   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Spark Yellow 1
      Count = 6
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 20
      MinVelocity = 8
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Spark Yellow 2
      Count = 9
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 20
      MinVelocity = 8
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOPixel
         CopyOf = Drop Oil
      Count = 5
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 10
      MinVelocity = 1
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSParticle
         CopyOf = Gib Metal Rust Micro A
      Count = 7
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 15
      MinVelocity = 5
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSParticle
         CopyOf = Gib Metal Grey Micro A
      Count = 6
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 15
      MinVelocity = 5
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSRotating
         CopyOf = Cannon Gib A
      Count = 1
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 10
      MinVelocity = 1
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSRotating
         CopyOf = Gib Device Big C
      Count = 1
      Spread = 2.25
      MaxVelocity = 10
      MinVelocity = 1

___---ORIGINAL GIB CODE ENDS HERE, STOP PASTING---___

   GibWoundLimit = 4





Why is my thing not gibbing?

You pasted over GibWoundLimit, which resides underneath the gib code. Put it back. >:(








Stacking Shells: The Solution

Hey all, I'm just posting this here as an FYI. Please read and use this information for your mods, mostly the ones that eject many shells.

So, what's the problem? The problem is that shells stack. For the hunter on the move, this means nothing. But for the defender, particulary in a bunker, this means swimming through mountains of shells that build up as the fighting drags on. While it is.. somewhat.. easy to move and and fire through the shells, it's mostly a serious cosmetic problem. Mountains of shells filling your base and burying your defenders doesn't exactly help you immerse yourself in the action of fighting to the last gold ounce.

The below gif was taken using my WIP mod, the EE-1 Tempest. The Tempest has a 125 clip and was emptied 8 times before filming, totaling 1,000 shells expended.

Image

Not very good. So how do we fix it?

One solution I found out, is to tweak the shells to be made of an extremely weak material, while being heavy enough to crush it's shell siblings, thus limited the shell stacking to about a 4-5 pixel-high pile.

The Tempest uses a mildly modified shell, mildly being a minor resprite. Otherwise it expels the exact same shell as all other shell spewing firearms do. Here's the code we have to modify.. it's a shell being defined, that's all:

Code:
AddAmmo = MOSParticle
   InstanceName = TempestShell
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = Tempest.rte/Shell.bmp
   FrameCount = 8
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -3
      Y = -3
   AngularVel = 5
   Atom = Atom
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Casing
      TrailLength = 0
   Framerate = 10


The procedure is simple, we add 'StructuralIntegrity = 0.00001' just below 'CopyOf = Bullet Casing' to weaken the current material; and we add 'Mass = 5.75' just below 'InstanceName = TempestShell' to make it much heavier.

The weight is enough to kill an actor, but "GetsHitByMOs = 0" insures that the shells won't even touch actors. Here is the finished code:

Code:
AddAmmo = MOSParticle
   InstanceName = TempestShell
   Mass = 5.75
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = Tempest.rte/Shell.bmp
   FrameCount = 8
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -3
      Y = -3
   AngularVel = 5
   Atom = Atom
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Bullet Casing
         StructuralIntegrity = 0.00001
      TrailLength = 0
   Framerate = 10


Now we fire 8 clips of 125 bullets, and let's see what 1,000 shells looks like now:

Image

Yes, those are 1,000 shells on the floor. Same exact amount as the previous example. Much better!

When are you releasing the Tempest?
The above tutorial is an old paste, the Tempest was already released. You can find it in mod packs or get it off someone in IRC.

Author:  kamakazibob [ Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

Very Nice tutorial. If I didn't know how to use the it already this would work nicely.

Author:  NeoSeeker [ Sat Dec 15, 2007 6:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

How could i make something gib an explosive that explodes right when the object gibs?

Author:  war_man333 [ Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

Can you set attachables with the gib editor too?

Author:  The Mushroom Man [ Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

You are awesome! Before I had no clue how to use the editor. This should be stickied!

Author:  NiMayne [ Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

I seem to be having a problem with gibbing the rocket dropship... I paste the code in , and the loader says it finishes loading the rockets.ini file, but then immediately freezes afterwards.

Author:  Grif [ Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

NeoSeeker wrote:
How could i make something gib an explosive that explodes right when the object gibs?


Make an AEmitter timer on an MOSRotating.

war_man333 wrote:
Can you set attachables with the gib editor too?


Nope.

Attachables are all old-school offsetting and positioning.

Author:  Electroclan [ Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

Hey, I remember this old thing.

[genericmemereply]

NiMayne wrote:
I seem to be having a problem with gibbing the rocket dropship... I paste the code in , and the loader says it finishes loading the rockets.ini file, but then immediately freezes afterwards.

When copying the gib code from NewData/YOURMOD.ini, be sure to exclude the class header and the InstanceName line below it.

Author:  bbbzzz234 [ Sun Mar 30, 2008 6:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor

Requesting this be stickied.

Author:  Electroclan [ Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor + Stackable Shells: The Solution

Pasted old shells tutorial into OP.

And no, there are enough stickies already.

Author:  numgun [ Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How To Use: The Gib Editor + Stackable Shells: The Solution

Wiki this, thats where this could belong to.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/