View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Dec 27, 2024 8:25 am



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 Freezing clone code 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:50 am
Posts: 1512
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Reply with quote
Post Freezing clone code
So, for some odd reason, this actor I made freezes CC on loadup. When it gets to reading line 190 of actors.ini, it just stops completely. No error or anything. I have to open up task manager to close CC.

I'm not sure what the deal is. The code in actors.ini is practically a carbon-copy of my other actor code. It just has somewhat different names, filenames, and an extra leg. (no, I don't mean I'm trying to give it three legs. your basic actors seem to just have two foreground legs, instead of a foreground and a background leg) The legs thing isn't a problem. Even if I completely copy one of my other actor codes and don't add the extra leg, it still freezes in the same place, so that isn't the issue.

For some reason its freezing when setting the Y joint offset for the BG arm. Its so weird...

Here's the actual lines around 190

188 JointOffset = Vector
189 X = -2
190 Y = -1
191 DrawAfterParent = 0
192 HeldDevice = None


Attachments:
File comment: Type IV Clone
TypeIVClone.zip [31.74 KiB]
Downloaded 162 times


Last edited by Darlos9D on Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:31 pm
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:30 pm
Posts: 1040
Location: England
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
Darlos9D wrote:
line 190 of actors.ini

For some reason its freezing when setting the Y joint offset for the BG arm. Its so weird...



is it something stupid on line 190 that is causing the problem?

"Y joint offset"... is there like point 5 ('0.5') of a pixel or something?


Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:59 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:50 am
Posts: 1512
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
robolee wrote:
Darlos9D wrote:
line 190 of actors.ini

For some reason its freezing when setting the Y joint offset for the BG arm. Its so weird...



is it something stupid on line 190 that is causing the problem?

"Y joint offset"... is there like point 5 ('0.5') of a pixel or something?

No.... it's -1


Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:16 am
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 1871
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
I expect there's something silly, like a missing space or a misspelling.


Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:20 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 4:30 pm
Posts: 1040
Location: England
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
robolee wrote:
line 190


so even after I say this you don't post it?... why?

(format-wordwrap [if there is a tick on turn it off by clicking on it]) CONTROL+G (or if you prefer edit - Go To)


Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:27 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 1871
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
Code:
      Y = -1


That's line 190.


Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:31 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:50 am
Posts: 1512
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
TrouserDemon wrote:
Code:
      Y = -1


That's line 190.

Thanks. Though I changed my first post to display those lines after he posted the first time, to make it more apparent. Maybe he missed that.

Anyway, I've made some progress. For some reason it seems to not like my sprites for my background arm. I have no clue why, but its making the game freeze, apparently when its setting the Y joint offset. I can set all of the other sprites fine.

I'll mess around a bit with the sprite and the offset and see what happens.


Last edited by Darlos9D on Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:42 am, edited 2 times in total.



Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:35 am
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 1871
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
Are your sprites 8 bit and in the CC palette?

If not, that pretty much explains things.


Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:50 am
Posts: 1512
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
TrouserDemon wrote:
Are your sprites 8 bit and in the CC palette?

If not, that pretty much explains things.

Check and check. I basically just copy the files from previous actors and weapons to make my sprites. I rename them, clear them in GraphicsGale, and draw my new thing. All of the settings, like the palette, always carries over.

Anyway, I think I fixed it. It wasn't the sprite it didn't like. It didn't seem to like the filename. I changed it from TypeIVArmB to TypeIVArmBG, and now it works. Strange, as just Type#ArmB worked fine for my other clones.

Well, problem solved, though I don't know why...


Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:43 am
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 1871
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
Maybe you saved it with an illegal character that CC didn't like?

Anyway, lock topic 'cos problem solved.


Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:46 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:04 pm
Posts: 2932
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
If this is what I think then its easy cake.

Add a few extra empty lines and save. See if that works, since it did for me.


EDIT: Oshi... didnt notice you already fixed it.

But yeah, this error usually happens very often for me. CC just stops reading at some line for no apperant reason and freezes. All you have to do is to add an extra empty line or remove one. Especially if youre positive that nothing is wrong.


Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:57 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 181
Location: I am the monkey. I can go ANYWHERE.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Freezing clone code
This may sound stupid, but are you using spaces or tabs to indent your code? For the longest time I used spaces and couldn't figure out why I couldn't get gibs to work. Errors were very similar.


Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:40 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.064s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]