View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 26, 2024 5:11 pm



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Mod Loading Sprites Trouble [FIXED] 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:40 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Mod Loading Sprites Trouble [FIXED]
Haidere guys, 'tis my first Topic post. Yaay for me.

So, I'm working on a mod built out of sprites and such grabbed off of the old Sprite Dump thread. So far i have 2 guns; A rifle, (Which works) And a Pistol; (Which is what crashes it)

Upon loading, it says that it can't find the sprite file. I have no idea how to fix this at this moment; I have all the names and such right. Here's the error:
---------------------------
RTE Aborted! (x_x)
---------------------------
Failed to load datafile object with following path and name:

ArisTech.rte/Devices/Sprites/AL-4R000.bmp

The last frame has been dumped to 'abortscreen.bmp'

You can copy this message with Ctrl+C
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Even though in the gun's INI File, I have it set to:
SpriteFile = ContentFile
FilePath = ArisTech.rte/Devices/Sprites/AL-4R.bmp
FrameCount = 2

- If i add make it "FilePath = ArisTech.rte/Devices/Sprites/AL-4R000.bmp", then the error just says the same thing, but only with 6 0's. I hope somebody can help me with this! I've checked over it many times, and i've scoured the Rifle's file to make sure i have it right. It should all be the same. Thanks in advance to any kind soul who may be able to help~ Mod file is attached.

EDIT: Solved! Big Thanks to JayTasslehoff!! :D


Attachments:
ArisTech.rte.zip.zip [1.31 MiB]
Downloaded 305 times


Last edited by Ariskelis on Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:55 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:03 am
Posts: 48
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble
After some trouble shooting, I replaced said sprites with some of my own and realized that the format you saved your originals in is the problem. The bit depth is too great, it needs to be 8-bit.


Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:53 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:40 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble
Okay, thanks man! I'll get to it. Thanks again; I would've never figured that out myself. :D :D :grin:


Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:58 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:03 am
Posts: 48
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble
Ariskelis wrote:
Okay, thanks man! I'll get to it. Thanks again; I would've never figured that out myself. :D :D :grin:


Oh np, sadly I cannot figure out why or how you managed to change its bit compression type, but you probably saved it as a 32-bit to begin with as I could not convert it myself.


Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:16 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:40 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble [FIXED]
The funny thing is, I honestly have no idea either. :roll: :lol:

On another note, Do you know how to add glows to a bullet? I'm (attempting) to make a laser rifle for use in the pack, Any help with that would be awesome, if it's not too much to ask :P


Sun Oct 21, 2012 3:37 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:03 am
Posts: 48
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble [FIXED]
Ariskelis wrote:
The funny thing is, I honestly have no idea either. :roll: :lol:

On another note, Do you know how to add glows to a bullet? I'm (attempting) to make a laser rifle for use in the pack, Any help with that would be awesome, if it's not too much to ask :P


No Idea, but if I had to guess its either

A) A Lua script which attaches a glow sprite to bullets, or uses a custom glow sprite for the rounds.


B) An ini script which does the same thing.

I'd ask a professional.


Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:32 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:01 pm
Posts: 42
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble [FIXED]
Code:
   ScreenEffect = ContentFile
      FilePath = Base.rte/Effects/Glows/>>NameOfGlowFile<<.bmp


Add that in the Particle = MOPixel definition part of your round. Look in Base.rte to see what glows are available or make your own using an image manipulation program and put it in your mod.rte.


Sun Oct 21, 2012 6:06 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble [FIXED]
If you want a proper laser weapon, don't use boring old MOPixel bullets!

The updated W40K Compilation has some touched-up beam-style laser weapons scripted by CaveCricket. You're welcome to use the scripts and code as you see fit, most of it should be fairly easy to understand.

That said, if you want silly laser bolts rather than full-on beams then go right ahead with MOPixel bullets.


Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:41 am
Profile YIM

Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:40 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mod Loading Sprites Trouble [FIXED]
Lol, thanks for being so darn helpful guys! :-o

I'll try all the methods and see which i like best x3
(If i ever release the mod, you guys are going into the credits for being so dayum helpful :D)


Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:49 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.062s | 15 Queries | GZIP : Off ]