If you saw my first post, you may have noticed that im making a mudkip, well, the spriting is almost complete, but, I'm wanting to know how to change the jetpack (emission) color. I would like it to be a nice water looking color, but, I dont know how. If you know how please explain, THX!
Last edited by TheDeadlyKoala on Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mon Oct 10, 2011 12:46 am
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Jetpack as in the jetpack sprite or the jetpack emissions?
Mon Oct 10, 2011 12:56 am
TheDeadlyKoala
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:39 pm Posts: 12
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Asklar wrote:
Jetpack as in the jetpack sprite or the jetpack emissions?
Emissions, Sorry for the confusion
Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:02 am
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Well, you just have to create your own particle, and define your own jetpack. Do you know how to do that?
Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:12 am
TheDeadlyKoala
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:39 pm Posts: 12
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Asklar wrote:
Well, you just have to create your own particle, and define your own jetpack. Do you know how to do that?
No, im pretty much a noob, i mean, i havn't done ,"that" Before. Mind helping me...?
Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:16 am
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Well, it's pretty easy. First, you have to define your own particles. (See Base.rte/Effects/Pyro/Pyro.ini for the vanilla particles to get a reference) Then, you define your own emitter. (Again, check Base.rte/Effects/Pyro/Pyro.ini for the vanilla particles to get a reference)
Here you have the code of the vanilla jetpacks:
Code:
AddEffect = MOPixel PresetName = Jetpack Blast 1 Mass = 1.25 LifeTime = 50 Sharpness = 0.3 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 Color = Color R = 255 G = 255 B = 187 Atom = Atom Material = Material CopyOf = Air TrailColor = Color R = 255 G = 255 B = 159 TrailLength = 5
AddEffect = MOPixel PresetName = Jetpack Blast 2 Mass = 1.25 LifeTime = 75 Sharpness = 0.3 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 Color = Color R = 255 G = 255 B = 0 Atom = Atom Material = Material CopyOf = Air TrailColor = Color R = 255 G = 255 B = 0 TrailLength = 4
Now, if you want to check the color, there is a good trick to get the one you want. Open the palette, and in the color selector (depending on the program you are using) double click the palette color you want to use. A screen should appear showing details of the color (R, G, B, Luminosity, Opacity, etc.), there you copy the R, G and B values and use it in your particles.
Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:45 am
TheDeadlyKoala
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:39 pm Posts: 12
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Okay, i get all of that, but, would i just copy that into my Mudkip.ini? or How would i reference my .ini to that jetpack...?(because i want my mudkips jetpack to be blue, but the others to stay the same)
Have anything to do with the jetpack? (thats from my actor's ini, but im sure you knew that already)
Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:51 am
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Well, just copy the wall of code I put into any part of your ini (preferably in the beggining) and edit it to your preferences (change the PresetNames of your custom things or you will have some reference issues).
Mon Oct 10, 2011 2:41 am
TheDeadlyKoala
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:39 pm Posts: 12
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Asklar wrote:
Well, just copy the wall of code I put into any part of your ini (preferably in the beggining) and edit it to your preferences (change the PresetNames of your custom things or you will have some reference issues).
I copied it to the very beginning and it said, error at line 12 then i took it out and it said error at line 13?
Mon Oct 10, 2011 2:50 am
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Did you copy what I placed in the post? It'll probably have tabbing issues.
You better go to Base.rte/Effects/Pyro/Pyro.ini and copy the particles and the emitter directly from there.
Mon Oct 10, 2011 4:55 am
TheDeadlyKoala
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:39 pm Posts: 12
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Asklar wrote:
Did you copy what I placed in the post? It'll probably have tabbing issues.
You better go to Base.rte/Effects/Pyro/Pyro.ini and copy the particles and the emitter directly from there.
I added this
AddEffect = MOPixel PresetName = Jetpack Blast 1 Mass = 1.25 LifeTime = 50 Sharpness = 0.3 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 Color = Color R = 125 G = 190 B = 246 Atom = Atom Material = Material CopyOf = Air TrailColor = Color R = 133 G = 198 B = 255 TrailLength = 5
AddEffect = MOPixel PresetName = Jetpack Blast 2 Mass = 1.25 LifeTime = 75 Sharpness = 0.3 HitsMOs = 1 GetsHitByMOs = 0 Color = Color R = 101 G = 165 B = 230 Atom = Atom Material = Material CopyOf = Air TrailColor = Color R = 101 G = 165 B = 230 TrailLength = 4
to the very beginning of the file, but it didnt effect the color of the jetpack, is there something else i need to add or edit other than what i put in the spoiler?
Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:58 pm
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Re: Jetpack color changing?
I suppose it's properly tabbed and the color you picked is some blue.
Well, as I said before, change the particles PresetNames and the AEmitter's PresetName too, and when you define the actor, in the Jetpack = AEmitter part you use the PresetName of your emitter.
Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:01 am
TheDeadlyKoala
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:39 pm Posts: 12
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Asklar wrote:
I suppose it's properly tabbed and the color you picked is some blue.
Well, as I said before, change the particles PresetNames and the AEmitter's PresetName too, and when you define the actor, in the Jetpack = AEmitter part you use the PresetName of your emitter.
So where it says
Jetpack = AEmitter CopyOf = Jetpack Robot ParentOffset = Vector X = -4 Y = 3
change the CopyOf = Jetpack Robot, to Jetpack Blast...? Im a noob, dont get mad xD
Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:14 am
Asklar
Data Realms Elite
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am Posts: 6211 Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Re: Jetpack color changing?
I've got a lot of patience.
Well, you've got to define three things: The two particles. Your own emitter (jetpack).
You have properly defined both particles (The Jetpack Blasts 1 and 2). You've got to define the emitter (jetpack).
In that, change the particles (For example, Jetpack Blast 1) to the particles you defined. And remember to change the AEmitter's PresetName! It's key to use your own PresetNames!
Then, in the bit you posted, the
Jetpack = AEmitter CopyOf = Jetpack Blast ParentOffset = Vector X = -4 Y = 3
In the CopyOf you put the name of your jetpack. See, it says Jetpack = AEmitter, which means that you HAVE to define an AEmitter. If you put CopyOf = Jetpack Blast it'll probably end up with an error, since Jetpack Blast is a MOPixel and not an AEmitter.
Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:27 am
TheDeadlyKoala
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:39 pm Posts: 12
Re: Jetpack color changing?
Well... Its not giving me an error anymore, (THANK THE LORD,) But its still not working, its still using the basic red/yellow flame for the jetpack! If you would like me to post my .ini i will post it for you!
EDIT- Never mind about ^^^ Post, i fixed the problem, turns out that i needed to put the AEmitter AFTER the MOPixel!
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum