View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 29, 2024 6:01 am



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Crippling Error in First Mod 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Crippling Error in First Mod
This is my first mod and I've been bug fixing and rewriting code for the last 3 hours. Nothing I do seems to work, I simply get a "Could not match property" error. The error always occurs in the first line of the code that the index calls. I even tried to route it through a useless Devices.ini file as well. I also split the round and the magazine into different files instead of simply declaring them earlier in the original rifles.ini. I have also reinstalled the game more than once with no effect. This is probably a simple error born out of lack of experience in coding in general so if someone could simply point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. This is a link to the entire mod directory in a RAR Archive.


Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:43 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Your tabbing is ♥♥♥♥ up.
Use the TAB key on your keyboard, it's much easier to use and it actually works compared to the spacebar.

So it would be like
Code:
DataModule
   ModuleName = Haloz!
   IconFile = ContentFile
      Path = Mod.rte/ModuleIcon.bmp
   IncludeFile = Mod.rte/Devices.ini


Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:16 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
I may not be a professional programmer but I've been coding long enough to know to use the tab key. Maybe the conversion from txt to ini or the switch from notepad to notepad++ f***ed up the spacing


Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:32 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
The spacing in the other ini's seems to be tabbed. Fixed the Index but it still throws the same error. Did you test it?


Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:40 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
I got it to work but at some point I must have accidentally reset all the values to AK. Dammit...


Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:46 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Hey
the edit button
it is your best friend.
Show it some love.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:04 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Yeaaa I is a forum noob :P I got past the initial wave of fail but now I'm getting an error that says something along the lines of "cannot load file: Mod.rte/Devices/Battle Rifle000" even though the file Im trying to call is Battle Rifle.bmp. Ive moved the snippet of code that calls it around. I've moved the file, renamed the file, and made a new file with the exact same image in it. Any help would be much appreciated (thanks for putting up with my noobiness). Here's the new one.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:29 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:35 pm
Posts: 675
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
The FrameCount is set at two. You have only one battle rifle sprite.
Find this area of code, then change "FrameCount" to 1.
Code:
AddDevice = HDFirearm
   PresetName = Battle Rifle
   AddToGroup = Weapons
   Mass = 12
   HitsMOs = 0
   GetsHitByMOs = 1
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = Mod.rte/Devices/Battle Rifle.bmp
   FrameCount = 2


Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:33 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Can't thank you enough. It's still running really poorly with tons of visual glitching, but I don't wanna take up anyone else's time. Thanks a ton guys :grin:


Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:39 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Is it in palette?


Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:02 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Ah, I saw a few references to that in the past. That's probably my issue.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:22 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Yeah, look into Base.rte.
There should be a file aptly named 'palette', you can only use colors from there when making sprites.
If you use GraphicsGale and open a sprite that has been made using the palette it will automatically swap the normal palette window with the CC palette, which is pretty kickass.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:26 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:27 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Kansas
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Thanks for the help. Just got sidetracked by getting an M2 rocket, filling it to the brim with incendiary grenades and instantly winning by crashing it into the enemy base. Almost as fun as dropping a drop crate with thousands of crabs in it. The shockwave kills everything on the map XD


Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:41 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:01 am
Posts: 6211
Location: In your office, earning your salary.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
It's not actually the shockwave, that bomb abuses the MOID limit, in other words, the max cuantity of movable objects in game. When it reaches the limit (255 MOs) it starts gibbing the oldest MOs in game.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:47 am
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:39 am
Posts: 4558
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crippling Error in First Mod
Which means that they blow up and die.


Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:49 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.031s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]