View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Jan 11, 2025 10:06 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Why the particles do not hit actors? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am
Posts: 163
Reply with quote
Post Why the particles do not hit actors?
I've made a tool to dig holes effectively(not to dig gold, it use lua to erase Terrain), and it also "dig" actors' life when the particle gibs near them.
However, after some changes/versions, I found the particles only gib when they hit terrain.
Can anyone help me to find out the reason and fix it?
Thx in advance ^_^

here's the tool
Attachment:
X-CutTool.rte.rar [26.76 KiB]
Downloaded 199 times

============================================
Another question: Can I make gibs pass through the parent of parent(example:the gib of the bomb's explode won't hurt the thrower) using lua?


Last edited by Xery on Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.



Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:20 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am
Posts: 163
Reply with quote
Post Re: Why the particles do not hit actors?
Anyone?
I just compared it to other guns and changed most of its data, but still can't find the reason...


Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:15 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am
Posts: 163
Reply with quote
Post Re: Why the particles do not hit actors?
Nonsequitorian wrote:
HitsMOs = 1 will make it hit the actors, HitsMOs = 0 is what you have.
Is that what you mean?


Thx for your reply, but it'll be better if you can check the mod first^_^

Code:
AddAmmo = AEmitter
   PresetName = Particle CutTool
   Mass = .0001
   RestThreshold = 500
   AirResistance = .03
   GlobalAccScalar = 0
   LifeTime = 15
   Sharpness = 20
   HitsMOs = 1
   GetsHitByMOs = 0
   SpriteFile = ContentFile
      FilePath = X-Region.rte/Sprites/CutTiny.bmp
   SpriteOffset = Vector
      X = -2
      Y = -2
   AtomGroup = AtomGroup
      AutoGenerate = 1
      Material = Material
         CopyOf = Military Stuff
      Resolution = 2
      Depth = 0
   DeepCheck = 0
   AngularVel = 50
   GibImpulseLimit = 0
   AddGib = Gib
      GibParticle = MOSRotating
         CopyOf = Dig
      Count = 1
      Spread = 0
      MaxVelocity = 0
      MinVelocity = 0
      InheritsVel = 0


So...I think HitsMOs is not the problem. however, this particle only gib when it hit ground.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just realize I had asked a wrong question due to my poor English...sorry about that.


Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:21 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:29 am
Posts: 163
Reply with quote
Post Re: Why the particles do not hit actors?
Nonsequitorian wrote:
Oh, I checked the Ini, I just didn't know what part of the code you meant. The lua is a bit dodgy, as in, it didn't make sense to me. You mixed parts of the actor-check script with parts of the land-deleting stuff. Do you see errors in the console?

And, for future reference, AEmitters can't have sharpness.

I sometimes have this problem with sprite files that are really small. Like, lets say, a single pixel bmp. It hits the actor sometimes, but doesn't hit it other times, like it skips over it due to the way it's computed.


Ah, the problem is:
the particles "Particle CutTool" spawned by the gun should be able to hit both actor or terrain, then gib and spawn another particle "dig" to do something with lua.
②In this version, the "Particle CutTool" do hit terrain and spawn "dig".
③Seems that it can hit actor(when there's an actor between the muzzleoffset and terrain, the "Particle CutTool" won't hit the terrain anymore, it may blocked by the actor. Not very sure), but after that, particle "dig" doesn't appear. I can only "dig" actors' life when I successfully dig the terrain and there're actors close enough to the disappeared terrain.

Since that, there should be no problem with particle "dig" and its lua code. What about "Particle CutTool"? But its picture is not too small(8pixels of 5x5), it has a normal speed(70), its hitsMOs has been set to 1, its GibImpulseLimit = 0, Sharpness = 20...I just couldn't get to the bottom of the problem.


Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:15 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.043s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]