Data Realms Fan Forums
http://45.55.195.193/

How do I make an actor gib into a different actor
http://45.55.195.193/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=21983
Page 1 of 2

Author:  David Rodrigov [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Hey guys, I have two pre-made ACrabs. I want the first one to gib into the other one. How can I do this?

Author:  Roast Veg [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

AddGib = ACrab

Then follow the normal format for gibs.

Author:  David Rodrigov [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 7:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

I did that, but now I get an error.
This is the code I added to the gibs.
Code:
   AddGib = ACrab
      GibParticle = ACrab
         CopyOf = iGod
   Count = 1


And this is the error.
"Wrong type in Reader when passed to Serializable::Create() in BattleCrab.rte/Crab/Crab.ini at line 266!".

Author:  Roast Veg [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 7:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Derp. AddGib = Gib, GibParticle = ACrab.

Author:  dragonxp [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 7:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Also iGod has to be defined before you define it as a Gib.

Author:  David Rodrigov [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

It works now, but the gibbed ACrab is on the neutral team. How can I make it on red team?

Author:  Coops [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Lua is what your looking for then.

A simple script that sets the ACrabs team to the closest actors team should do the trick.

Author:  David Rodrigov [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Can anyone provide me a script?

Author:  Coops [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Code:
function Create(self)

[tab]for parent in MovableMan.Actors do
[tab][tab]if SceneMan:ShortestDistance(self.Pos,parent.Pos,true).Magnitude < 15 and parent.PresetName == "<actor name>" then
[tab][tab][tab]self.parent = ToACrab(parent)
[tab][tab][tab]self.Team = self.parent.Team
[tab][tab]end
[tab]end
end



Just replace the <actor name> with the actor that Gibs the second one


EDIT: Huuuuurrrrrrrr. It wont get the actor's Team if the actor isnt there...

Code:
function Destroy(self)

self.gib = CreateACrab("iGod")
self.gib.Pos = self.Pos
self.gib.Team = self.Team
MovableMan:AddParticle(self.gib)

end


Attach that to the actor that gibs the second actor and get rid of the GibParticle in the .ini.

Author:  David Rodrigov [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

That script makes iGod a actor on the right team, but for some reason it is not controllable.
What is wrong?

Author:  Coops [ Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Todays not my day...

Sorry, Replace
Code:
MovableMan:AddParticle

with
Code:
MovableMan:AddActor

Author:  David Rodrigov [ Fri Mar 18, 2011 4:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

That one works, thanks!

Author:  Grif [ Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Or, uh, pass it Team = 1 in the .ini gib code.

Seriously.

AddGib = Gib
GibParticle = ACrab
CopyOf = iGod
Team = 1

Author:  Coops [ Fri Mar 18, 2011 6:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

Not entirely Multiplayer friendly though.

Id hate to see my actor gib to find out it was a trojan horse.

Author:  Grif [ Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How do I make an actor gib into a different actor

man who the hell actually plays multiplayer or selects a different team

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/