View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Dec 31, 2024 12:02 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Earth
Reply with quote
Post Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Hi everybody,
I'm planning to make my own skirmish defence mode, you know, survive against infinite amount of enemies? Mods containing factions on here also have this mode, for example R.E.T.A.R.D.S. have "RETARDS Onslaught" which is Skirmish Defence, but with RETARDS.

All I need help with is the enemy spawning. I looked at the Retards' file, called Activities.

Quote:
AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket
CopyOf = M Drop Cradle
AddInventory = AHuman
CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone
AddInventory = AHuman
CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone
AddInventory = AHuman
CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone
AddInventory = AHuman
CopyOf = Rogue Micro Drone


This means that those Rogue micro drones would be sent off by the RETARDS' Drop pod drone bundle.

I want to make a skirmish defence (for myself) involving S.A.W Units, but I have no clue how to place SAW soldiers? I don't know what is the "CopyOf" and "AddInventory" actually is.

Help on this would be appreciated. :)


Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:08 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Earth
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Thanks. After toying around a bit I couldn't find the IDs of his dudes. I used simple drop pod of Vanilla.

My Activities.ini file.

Quote:
//Made by Omeletter


AddActivity = GABaseDefense
InstanceName = SAW Defence
Description = Defend your brain against infinite waves of SAW Units!
TeamCount = 2
PlayerCount = 1
TeamOfPlayer1 = 0
FundsOfTeam1 = 20000
CPUTeam = 1
Difficulty = 3
SpawnIntervalEasiest = 24000
SpawnIntervalHardest = 3000



AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket
CopyOf = Drop Crate
AddInventory = AHuman
CopyOf = Light Soldier


The Drop Pod works very fine, but the "Light Soldier" I cannot find his exact ID anywhere! I don't know what name to use. I looked in his file, and there was another ID called "Light soldier base" or something, it didn't work either. Drop pod, works as its vanilla, and I easily found the "ID" of it.

Any help where to look for the dude's and the dropship's ID? I looked in their files, it gives me a loooong list of IDs and gibs' IDs.

Edit: If I leave only a drop pod there, it gives me an error "line one, blah, blah in SAW.rte/Sounds.ini Line 1" Nothing wrong in there, I checked. I will try to work that out, but the guy's ID and the DropShip ID is my main priority.


Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:56 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 4521
Location: Constant motion
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
This is all fine and dandy, but really we should be teaching people to use Lua activities now. Look in Base.rte/Scenes/Scripts/SkirmishDefence.lua, and use it to make your own more random skirmish. Tou will also need an .ini that reads:
Code:
AddActivity = GAScripted
PresetName = SAW Defence
Description = Defend your brain against infinite waves of SAW Units!
TeamCount = 2
PlayerCount = 1
CPUTeam = 1
ScriptPath = SAW.rte/SAW Defence.lua


Sun Jan 23, 2011 8:11 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:37 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Any chance someone would be willing to put together a template or tutorial on how to make .lua activities? Maybe something like Azukki's excellent modding templates?

Roast Veg's post makes it look like it should be easy and simple to make this work. But I've tried it, and I keep getting errors. I've got a file called Endless.ini that calls up a file called SkirmDef.lua. At the moment, SkirmDef is identical to the SkirmishDefense.lua in Base.rte/Scenes/Scripts/, I haven't even gotten to the step of modifying it yet. But when I try to run it like this, It crashes on the final line of Endless.ini. "Could not match property in CustomFight.rte/Endless.ini at line 7." Then it says "Reading of a preset instance failed". I'm not 100% certain either of those errors means, to be honest.

I've been over the tiny number of lines of code in Endless.ini, and they're identical to what's in Roast Veg's post, and can't figure out why it's not working. After a few failed attempts and some poking around I noticed that Control Chip Hunt and Exploration use ScriptFile instead of ScriptPath, so I tried that instead at one point, but it didn't fix it. Whatever the problem is, I'm just not seeing it.

Index.ini says this:
Quote:
DataModule
ModuleName = Custom Fights
IncludeFile = CustomFight.rte/Endless.ini


and Endless.ini says this:
Quote:
AddActivity = GAScripted
PresetName = Endless
Description = Skirmish Defense with different weapon drops
TeamCount = 2
PlayerCount = 1
CPUTeam = 1
ScriptPath = CustomFight.rte/Scripts/SkirmDef.lua


SkirmDef.lua is literally identical to the SkirmishDefense.lua in my Base.rte/Scenes/Scripts/

Any help, advice, or template you can provide to this total Noob would be very appreciated. I'm really puzzled as to why it's not working.


Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:14 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Earth
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Ok, all I wanted to know is what is their NAME to put in to the Activities.ini. Do I use "Preset Name" A file name or the name of them in game? It freaking gives me an error every time I pick a name, it says line blah blah cannot be copied from, because I DON'T KNOW the name. :x I've been trying to fix that for about 2 hours. :(

Any help on that? When you mod and make a skirmish mod what name do you put in a line that goes like.

AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket
CopyOf = This causes the problem
AddInventory = AHuman
CopyOf = this too
AddInventory = HDFirearm
CopyOf = And this

so what are the names you have to put in, or where to look for them?


Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:06 pm
Profile
Data Realms Elite
Data Realms Elite
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 4521
Location: Constant motion
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
It's just the PresetName, but it has to be completely correct, case and all.


Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:22 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Earth
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
I used preset name a lot, still doesn't work. I copied exact letter by letter. Is it just me or there is something wrong with the mod?

When I search I search for Ahuman and copy the preset name, in my case now it was Heavy soldier. Didn't work. I think that is a problem with mod.


Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:30 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 209
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Either "Light Soldier" or "Soldier base light" should work just fine, but you should probably stick with "Light Soldier"
Also make sure you are indenting properly, it is not:
Code:
AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket
CopyOf = Drop Crate
AddInventory = AHuman
CopyOf = Light Soldier
AddInventory = HDFirearm
CopyOf = RET-2
AddInventory = HeldDevice
CopyOf = KEDD Mk1

but rather:
Code:
   AddAttackerSpawn = ACRocket
      CopyOf = Drop Crate
      AddInventory = AHuman
         CopyOf = Light Soldier
         AddInventory = HDFirearm
            CopyOf = RET-2
         AddInventory = HeldDevice
            CopyOf = KEDD Mk1


Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:39 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Earth
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
Nonsequitorian wrote:
Just so you know, it ain't:
Code:
AddInventory = AHuman
   CopyOf = PresetName = <Name>


but:

Code:
AddInventory = AHuman
   CopyOf = <Name>


Just makin' sure.


Yeah, I'm doing it like you showed in this post. To find people's ID to actually put in to the activities.ini I go into the Light Soldier's files and then search for "Ahuman" and when I do find it, I search for something like "GoldCost" or whatever I searched for, so if the unit's name I copied is working in the shopping cart menu ingame, why doesn't it work in activities.ini?


Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:21 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 209
Reply with quote
Post Re: Making my own "Skirmish Defence" mode?
What does not working mean in your case?
Does the game crash loading the activities.ini, and if so, what is the error text?
Does the game load just fine but the "SAW Defence" does not show up in the Select Activities drop down menu?
Does the the map load but no drop crates filled with Light Soldiers ever fall from the sky?

In anycase, using your top block of text and the AddAttackerSpawn block of text I posted the skirmish works flawlessly for me.


Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:22 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.
[ Time : 0.043s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]